We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing weeks stay”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Domfront, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ShortVegg...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing weeks stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is the first time me and my boyfriend Dan have been to france. I think it has gone better than we expected with the beautiful surrounding towns, friendly local people and with wonderful hosts! The Gite we stayed in was "Jaune", it is so comfortable with everything you need. We definitely recommend Le Tertre Gites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Thanks for your lovely review - many thanks, it's much appreciated.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back soon!
Regards, Pete & Alyson. Le Tertre Gites
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david p
1 review
“Perfect Gite.”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We wanted a Gite in a quiet,beautiful rural location and this Gite was perfect.We arrived very late in the evening and Peter the owner was there to greet us.The Gite had everything we needed and was absolutely spotless and nicely decorated. The only sounds we heard were animals and birds and bees! If we could have stolen Lola the cat we would have! We would definitely recommend the Gite and cannot fault the hosts Peter,Alyson,Trevor and Jo who were very welcoming and helpful.The welcome pack was very thoughtful too and much appreciated after a long journey .
Tina and Dave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Thanks very much for your great review, it's much appreciated.
You are of course very welcome back anytime, but we hope your house hunt concludes successfully and you'll be joining the expat community soon!
Thanks again.... Pete and Aly.
P.S. We haven't seen Lola for a day or two!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin_di...
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely inspiring week's stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived after a day travelling, we found a lovely in a gite converted barn, which gave us a warm feeling of welcome. Crashing with a fresh baguette and a bottle of wine to recover from traveling was not very hard to do.
This gite has everything you need for a chord stay like ours as we only used it as base for our house-hunting trip. So relaxing when you wake up in the silent environment just hearing the birds in the middle of the country side. This gives you so much energy.

We loved the passion and dedication of the family to make your visit complete. Thanks a lot Jo, Trevor, Peter and Alyson. We certainly will come back again and advise your place to our friends.

Martin and Elly

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Many thanks Martin and Elly, your kind words are appreciated. You are very welcome back any time!
Regards, Pete & Alyson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesrobe...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I had the most amazing stay at this Gite. Trevor, Jo, Peter and Alyson were very hospitable. Tertre Jaune is equipped with just about everything you could need for a comfortable stay. I visited in January and the weather was cold but the gite has heating and a wonderful log burner. The quirky character of the gite includes a wooden staircase that takes you up to and through the old beams to a double bedroom and en suite bathroom, downstairs is a fully equipped kitchen, and sitting room with a wood burner and double doors into a private garden area.

You can tell that the family have put lots of love and hard work in to restoring the building. If you ask they will show you the photos of the building before they converted it, very interesting.

The area is peaceful and quiet with beautiful scenery all around. Alyson and Peter keep dogs, chickens, ducks and geese and you really feel part of the surrounding countryside. The sense of calm and relaxation kicks in as soon as you arrive.

If you want more than 2 beds there are a total of 3 gites so you could have 6 or more if you were willing to share.

I enjoyed a relaxing trip and hope to return very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
Many thanks for your very kind words and comprehensive review, it means so much to us that our guests are happy and enjoy their stay at Le Tertre.
Much appreciated, you are welcome back anytime!
Best regards.... Pete and Aly, Jo and Trevor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gite beautifully presented - very comfortable and full of character.
Host family were very friendly and helpful. They were anxious to ensure that stay was as enjoyable as possible.
Set in a lovely rural / farming setting, the peace and quiet was a revelation.
The local village was a short drive away and there were plenty of interesting attractions i.e. Medieval towns/ chateaux etc within an easy day's drive.
Would love to return sometime in future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
Thanks very much for your excellent review of our new gite, it is much appreciated!
You are both welcome back anytime and we look forward to seeing you again.
Pete & Aly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing