We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza”
Review of Alla Risacca

Alla Risacca
Reserve with
Alla Risacca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 154 Restaurants in Otranto
Price range: US$18 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An elegant and refined atmosphere located in the charming Otranto. Essential decorations, a minimal style and Mediterranean, no n case in line with the cuisine of studied in detail and extremely balanced in taste and combinations. Osteria Alla Undertow is experience. An experience that leads the visitor into a sensory journey combining tradition, ethics and aesthetics with a touch of innovation through study, knowledge and a lot of passion. The menu is changed every two months with a particular attention to the products of the season and the region. For wine card simple and affordable for everyone with regional labels and beyond. The hotel has an indoor and an outdoor terrace, home to fifty people in a perfect location for any type of event. We will let you know a sincere kitchen, rude, and especially traditional "Funky", a kitchen evolving, never losing sight of the products and colors of our land. A must for lovers of true flavors and quality products.
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We had been in Italy a week and not had a pizza so went here for lunch based on the reviews.The waiter was very welcoming and spoke good English. He told us he was the lunchtime pizza maker as well. We ordered two pizzas and both were superb. We could tell that they had been carefully made with all ingredients proportioned neatly over the pizza. We marveled that the thin crust NEVER got soggy despite the nice amount of tomato sauce and three or four toppings. The waiter explained that the dinnertime pizza maker made his own dough, which was used at lunch as well, and that he allowed it to rise and mature a day or two. Apparently that helps avoid sogginess. It was wonderfully crispy and tasty. This is a nice casual restaurant and I think they take pride in their food. Only one block outside the castle walls and away from the touristy restaurants inside. It's worth a little extra walking and searching to find Alla Risacca. We're so glad we did.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kona4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public_relations1979, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Risacca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Kona, it is a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for your compliments and praise words. We are glad you enjoyed dinner and that the pizza was of your full satisfaction. Thank you for choosing our restaurant. Goodbye
Ristorante Alla Risacca, Otranto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner at this restaurant. Our waiter, Rosario, was very friendly and helpful.

We ordered three dishes, which we shared. Our antipasto was fresh anchovies, which were fried and accompanied by a mayo- based sauce. Delicious. It was followed by what would have been a great square spaghetti with tomato sauce and mussels, but for the dish being overly salty. It was disappointing, particularly because we could tell that it would have been wonderful if only it were not so oversalted.

Finally the highlight of the meal appeared-a whole fresh Dorado cooked in a paper bag with potatoes, tomatoes and zucchini. It was simply sublime.

We finished with a cannolo which was made while we waited, with a filling that included Marsala wine. Perfect way to end a meal.

2  Thank stephenddiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public_relations1979, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Risacca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Stephen and Diamond, We are happy to read this wonderful review. We are glad that everything has been of your own liking. Sorry for the dish too salty. You would have done better to say it right away, we would have replaced it.
Anyway, thanks for the good evaluation and goodbye soon.
Ristorante Alla Risacca, Otranto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Alla Risacca was a wonderful place to have lunch and wait for the rain to pass. The restaurant is located right in front of the fortress, and has lots of seafood, pizza, and pasta options (all reasonably priced). The waiter was very attentive, and he made sure we had everything we needed for a good meal.

The pizza was delicious! Free street parking right next to the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Vivian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is just outside the city center, but worth the walk. The waiters are very friendly and happy to give you some information about the ingredients and drinks. There is a real Italian atmosphere in this restaurant. We had prawns for starter, they were just terrific! So fresh and served with a lovely sauce. For main course we had pizzas, we could see the 'pizza chef' making them from scratch. It was delicious. We would definitely recommend this!

2  Thank LieseB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped by on first day in Otranro and enjoyed a lovely pizza - so much we went back again the next day. Good value: right beside castle and port - and parking!

Thank DandAStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public_relations1979, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Risacca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear customer thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed our pizza and that you came back the next day. Great satisfaction for us. Go back to see us if you go back to Otranto.
Ristorante Alla Risacca, Otranto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alla Risacca also viewed

Otranto, Province of Lecce
Otranto, Province of Lecce
 
Otranto, Province of Lecce
Otranto, Province of Lecce
 

Been to Alla Risacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing