We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Baia Resort & SPA
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in San Teodoro
Reviewed 1 July 2017

The Location is Amazing. The Hotel and Resort like a 5 stars luxury Hotel. This is the second time we came. This year even better. The Food Quality improved a lot. The Beach is just few minutes walking distance from your room and it's a unique walk with an amazing landscape and nature envirement. Also the Beach is offering the possibility to get boat excursion to visit Tavolare Island just in front of the Beach.

Room Tip: all the Room has a perfect location. Comfort and Relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MaxMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017

First impressions upon arriving were very good. The check-in by efficient, friendly reception staff, who gave lots of useful advice; the transport to our bungalow on the buggy, the size of the rooms and standard of the furnishings, not to mention the spacious grounds and views. The grass everywhere was about a foot high and in need of a cut, but the weather was great and so everything looked good, especially compared to the cold miserable Manchester we had left that morning.
We were half-board, so cannot offer any views on self-catering accommodation.
After unpacking we walked the short distance up to the pool area where the bar was open for snacks. Again, very spacious and impressive. The menu was a bit limited and somewhat pricey, and it took a little time to communicate our needs to the bar staff. Panini, toasted sandwich, Aperol Spritza and a small local beer, which was charged to our room. No bill printout, but the Spritza was 8.5 Euros and the beer 4 Euros. Live and learn. It all took a while to arrive but we were in no great hurry and when it turned up it was nicely presented. This was the only time in our week that we used the pool bar.
The pool bar closes at 5pm and the main (Molara Lounge) bar opens at 6pm, so, as we enjoy a couple of drinks before our evening meal we made down for 6:15. Only one other couple were in there. It was 5 Euros for a pint of cloudy, German-type beer, and also 5 Euros for the wife's small glass of sparkling wine. 4 Euros for a small 330cl bottle of Sardinian beer and 4 Euros for a normal white wine.
The resort had literally just opened and from what we had seen since our arrival we thought we and about another 10 Brits were the only ones there. As restaurant opening time neared we learned that this was certainly not the case. 7:25 heralded the dawdling throng of Germans who must have been lurking somewhere all afternoon anticipating this moment. As it was Grande opening day we were offered non-alcoholic cocktails, gratis, as we entered the restaurant, which on this occasion opened a fashionable 10 minutes late. A further 10 minutes or so later there were no available tables free for the unfortunate few (mainly Brits, it seemed) who had not clamoured for the opening of the doors. This was the case every evening. Equally consistent was the variety and quality of the buffet. A fair choice of salad, which mainly centred around crabsticks, and mussels liberally coated in something of indeterminable taste and sand-like consistency. There was always pasta, usually seafood. Quite tasty, but a lot of shells and not much meat (never prawns) and always lukewarm. The section which attracted the most attention - and therefore queues - had limp fish, meat, veg and chips or potatoes. This choice was variable from evening to evening, but was consistent in the luke-ness of its warmth. The restaurant had a poor ambiance generally, unlike the one outside, where you pay. From what I saw it was the same buffet as the indoor one. A litre of water per couple came complimentary, to our initial surprise and pleasure. A barrel each of red and white wine sits mid-floor for you to go up and fill your own glass, similar to some all-inclusive places, but here you will be asked your room number and to sign for the wine. 4 Euros per glass. It's not the decent wine you get in the bars. The wife couldn't finish her white, and my red was little better. We noticed some people ordering bottles of their choice, but we never went down that route as we had decided already not to purchase drinks onsite any more.
There is one shop on the grounds, but it doesn't sell any of the basic holiday necessities such as water, bread, milk, booze; especially as the nearest village is some distance away. It is a boutique. An expensive one.
Now for some useful advice: (unless you hire a car) you can take the shuttle (arrange a day in advance, 5 Euros per person each way) into San Teodoro which has quite a few decent eating places and, more crucially, a couple of supermarkets. Aperol Spritza 3 x 17.5cl bottles for just over 4 Euros. Peroni 3 x 330cl bottles for 2.75 Euros. Sardinian Birra Ichnusa (a decent lager-type beer, 4 Euros onsite) 6 x 330cl bottles for 4.27 Euros. Enough said. Load up, throw them in your fridge and enjoy on your patio!!
It's worth the 15 - 20 minute journey. You can get dropped off at the beach, then walk into town later and get picked up outside the supermarket. Your driver will be Paolo. Always friendly, helpful and punctual when he comes back for you. But he drives like there's no 'domani', on those narrow, winding roads. Buckle up and lean into those blind bends!
We attended the Tui welcome meeting, hoping - like everyone else there - to book one of the island trips. There was no info available on that first meeting so we all reconvened the next day - to learn that they weren't available so early in the season. A couple of wasted hours there.
WiFi Hotspot is the reception area, which has only 9 seats. Directly above is Molara Skybar, where the seats are plentiful and comfortable, the views are brilliant and the WiFi signal probably half decent, but it wasn't manned for the duration of our stay. Another disappointment.
But we soldiered on!
A free shuttle will deliver you to the beach, but we enjoyed the 10 - 15 minute walk from our bungalow. Not much in the way of 'beach' but it's nice to check out the clear blue sea.
Overall we enjoyed much that Grande Baia had to offer. It could have been so much better. Had bar prices been more reasonable we would have done what we normally do abroad and drank there most nights. Management needs to revamp the restaurant to make the dining experience pleasurable. Staff throughout are very nice. The place has a 4 or even 5 star vibe about it. It just falls short in a few respects.
Oh, and that grass got cut on our 4th day. It looked 100% better!

Room Tip: Take pot luck. If it's not to your liking ask to change. Some locations better than others, depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank MarlonMarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

First things first: the San Teodoro region, with the Tavolara protected marine area is one of the most beautiful sea locations I have ever seen. Endless sandy beaches, pristine blue-emerald waters, abundant sea-life, it's a sea lover's paradise.
The Resort is 20' (by car) from everything: the village of San Teodoro (cute, crowded at night), the beaches, the restaurants...
And it is sprawling: plan on walking a lot (10' to the restaurant or pool, 20' to the private beach, 20' to the kid's club and laundry...)
My idea of a resort is that everything is easily accessible: it was not so. You leave the kids at the club, and it takes you so long to reach the beach that by the time you get there it's already pickup time!
The accommodation was basic but very nice: quiet, in the middle of the countryside, no acoustic nor light pollution, fairly good beds (had to have one replaced because it was broken...), functional kitchen... NO wifi in the rooms, only around the pool.
the private beach, besides being far from the rooms, is not so nice (a far cry from the tropical wonders just 20' away by car!), and has no bar / service, only sunbeds and umbrellas
the restaurant... well. You need to make a reservation a loong time in advance, it's full, it's noisy, service is painfully slow, it's expensive (compared to alternatives in the vicinity) and frankly, the food is not so good. just avoid it.
In conclusion, I thought that this resort did not provide the level of service/comfort that one may be looking for when choosing this more expensive option vs a rental or a cheaper hotel

Room Tip: as the Resort is very big, ask for a room near the restaurant, OR the pool, OR the beach (you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Robivon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Located in peaceful area of Sardinia, not far from the airport. They have small private beach some 300m away and offer regular shuttle service to the beach and back. Very good food, variety of sea food.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tsvetelina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

regardless of how much you can read on the internet, when you arrive here you get you wow factor. The property is few KM away from the main street, you drive through beautiful fields and then you arrive to this paradise. Great design and spaces. We stayed in the residence and the apartment was fantastic, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Great quality of materials and you get everything you need, including microwave and dishwasher. in 2 minutes walk through a nice pedestrian path you arrive to a nice cozy and reserved beach only for hotel guests. you get everything you need in one place, and very close to other attractions and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Francesco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Teodoro hotels
9.7 km away
Hotel San Teodoro
Hotel San Teodoro
#14 of 27 in San Teodoro
600 reviews
3.7 km away
Due Lune Resort Golf & Spa
Due Lune Resort Golf & Spa
#16 of 27 in San Teodoro
102 reviews
8.5 km away
Hotel L'Esagono
Hotel L'Esagono
#8 of 27 in San Teodoro
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Club Baja Bianca
Hotel Club Baja Bianca
#10 of 27 in San Teodoro
1,235 reviews
1.7 km away
Residence Baia Salinedda
Residence Baia Salinedda
#18 of 27 in San Teodoro
153 reviews
10.1 km away
Hotel Costa Caddu
Hotel Costa Caddu
#2 of 27 in San Teodoro
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Baia Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Baia Resort & SPA

Address: Localita Monte Pedrosu ss125 | Località Monte Petrosu, snc, 08020, San Teodoro, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Teodoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Teodoro
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Teodoro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Teodoro
Price Range: RM444 - RM951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Baia Resort & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grande Baia Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Baia Resort & SPA San Teodoro, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing