We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food & Fabulous View!”
Review of Il Frantoio

Il Frantoio
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Roccastrada
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

This is a really fantastic location for a restaurant. Even if the road to arrive here is for expert drivers the trip is very well worth. The Staff is very kind and friendly. They do a very good pizza and also an exquisite cousine.... Really. If you ever have the chance to spend a holiday in Maremma, this is a place to visit for sure.....

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

This is a friendly rustic restaurant perched on the top of a hill with fabulous views and lovely cool air to enjoy in the sticky hot summer months.
We came late and chose an antipasto platter and pizza. The menu features typical Maremman dishes which are perhaps better eaten in cooler weather (wild boar, porcini mushrooms etc). So, we think we will come back in September or October and try these.
The antipasto was good, excellent quality cold cuts, cheeses and mini flans. And the pizzas were delicious. The tables are set up outside on a terrace and are very simple. The staff were friendly and very polite. Recommended for a casual meal outdoors.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tuscan-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Great restaurant with amazing views for miles and miles. Went twice without a reservation, no problem. Great pizza and beer!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank aysandseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We come here for more than 12 years now. Our summer vacation in the Maremma is not complete without a visit (or 2,3 ...) to this restaurant. It is about time I write a review:)

Our family loves the Pizze here and they have become the reference against which every other restaurant is measured. They are thin, crisp and have tasty toppings. This type of crust lends itself quite well for Pizze Bianchi (without tomato) My personal favorites are the Valdostana (a Bianchi) and Tramonto.

The primi and secundi are nice as well. Some of my favourites are the Strozapretti and the Galetta alla Sticcianese.

The staff is friendly and this year there is a new waitress who speaks some English.
Prices are moderately low (€5-€9 for Pizze and most primi/secundi below €10), house wine is good and the view is amazing. On Wednesday there is live music during the summer season.

Highly recommended, a must for anyone staying in this area.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Middachten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Go to this restaurant for the view and stay for the yummy pizza. The road itself up to this restaurant itself is an adventure in itself. Once at the top, the view of the valley is breathtaking. The pizzas have a super-thin crust and there are a huge number of toppings available. All the pizzas are yummy. The prices are really low. I would love to return.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Frantoio also viewed

Roccastrada, Province of Grosseto
Sticciano Scalo, Province of Grosseto
 
Roccastrada, Province of Grosseto
Roccastrada, Province of Grosseto
 
Roccatederighi, Province of Grosseto
Sticciano Scalo, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Il Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing