We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian At the Best”
Review of Masala Mantra

Masala Mantra
Reserve with
Masala Mantra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Boliqueime
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Description: We do INDIAN cuisine in the truest sense,Recipes well researched and Authentic. Professionally trained Chefs. We offer a huge vegetarian offerings, vegan options.
Restaurant details
Description: We do INDIAN cuisine in the truest sense,Recipes well researched and Authentic. Professionally trained Chefs. We offer a huge vegetarian offerings, vegan options.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don’t be intimidated by the entrance or the area! Go in an experience one of the best Indian food in Portugal.

Amazing the bread that turns into...looks spaghetti.
The lamb, the chicken and curry all fantastic.

And don’t miss the beer from India, it’s a very good choice.

Thank JMA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2018

The decoration was basic Portuguese, cold and unwelcoming. Small portions at high prices. I usually order a vegetable side dish but these were all 7 euros. We will not return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrudula R, Public Relations Manager at Masala Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind visit and for reviewing us on trip advisor. We have noted that you found us expensive and that the portions were small.
We are very competively priced for the quality that we serve as we ensure that we use top quality ingredients and do not compromise on standards.Our kitchen is run by professional chefs and please note the international standard for a main course is 220 gms and out of which 180 gms is the main ingredient and the rest 40 gms consists of the sauce depending on the dish.We assure you the we work around that,
We are definitely work on the ambience, we are a start up and you will soon see us improve the ambience.

We would like you to come back and experience indian hospitality and the quality that we are known for.
Looking forward to seeing you.
warm regards
Mrudula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

It’s very rare to find authentic Indian food outside India. Masala Mantra has great Indian food. The chef Narayan has been head chef at the Oberoi and Aman hotels in India and is making high quality food. To find Dosas and puri in Portugal is a 1st.
Don’t be put off by the simplistic decor, it’s a fabulous place!

Thank LuceCannon108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrudula R, Guest Relations Manager at Masala Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor,We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal experience with us,
we will look forward to hearing from you.
warm regards
Mrudula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Visited this fantastic restaurant once again on a return trip to the Algarve recently taking my son and his girlfriend for the first time. The hospitality, service and of course the food was absolutely spot on. It was wonderful to meet the owners, Chef Narayan and his lovely wife Mrudula who took such good care of us and greeted us like old friends. My son declared the food was first class with his girlfriend saying it was the best Indian food she had ever eaten.
This is not a 'cheap eats' establishment, nor should it be for the quality of the food being served. That said I have no problem paying the price for the high standard of what is being presented. House wine very good at 10 euros a bottle.
Can't wait to return and do it all again. Keep up the good work. You deserve all the success your hard work and dedication delivers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theclarkes3inspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrudula R, Public Relations Manager at Masala Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor,We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed your meal experience with us, Your support and review are a great source of encouragement. we will look forward to hearing from you.
warm regards Mrudula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We have visited this restaurant several times and we live here.The food is excellent and the owner is a lovely bloke who is very talented and knowledgeable.The portions are not huge but the quality is there. It’s not as cheap as most Indians but well worth the visit. You must try their version of Nan bread as it is amazing.

Thank andrews05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrudula R, Public Relations Manager at Masala Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for reviewing us on trip advisor. Your review means a lot to us and a great source of encouragement in our quest to serve authentic Indian cusine as cooked back in India. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal experience with us.

warm regards
Narayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Mantra also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Boliqueime, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Masala Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing