We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and nasty staff”
Review of Hostal Nicolau

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Nicolau
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

The room was over priced, sub par and with a lack of storage. Sheets not changed regularly enough. Had a really bad experience with some of the staff, denying us of services despite the booking clearly advertising it and talking to us with a complete lack of manners. Charging over the price for simple things like ice and water. Would not stay again and would never suggest anyone to stay here.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank elliemaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2014

This place is beyond basic. Just a basic bed and bathroom. The shower was so weak it may had well not worked. The cleaning products smelt awful and made me feel ill. To top it off the staff had no basic manors what so ever. You can definitely get a better stay for cheaper else where.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Didn't expect too much as it was quite a last minute booking, and one of the cheapest places I could find (out of choice not budget) but it did everything I needed. In a reasonable location it is not too quiet and not too noisy (you know what i mean), room was cleaned every day with fresh towels provided. Working air con and tv in the room. If this place installed WIFI it would be perfect. Would happily go back. Do not expect anything too flash from this and you will come away happy. Some where clean and comfortable to put your head down in a place where class is hard to come by

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I booked this hostal last minute and got a spacious clean bright room at the back overlooking the garden area. There was no lovely view or balcony but I didn't expect one for the very reasonable price I paid for a twin room for single use. There are other rooms with balcony. I found the room perfect for what I was looking for, I felt safe there and the staff were very helpful. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels daily too and it also has air-conditioning which I didn't use and it doesn't agree with me. The location is ideal being a 10/15 minutes walk from the west end, mambo and the beautiful beach of cala grassio. I wouldn't recommend it if you are intending to be wild and noisy with music - it was an oasis of calm in this party place. It's an easy walk from the bus station too and there are lots of good places to eat nearby. The bar at the Nicolau is very reasonably priced for drinks before you hit the hotspots. I would definitely choose to stay here again. I am a regular to Ibiza and have stayed many places ranging from fabulous villas to hostals (haven't tried the camping YET!). This hostal does not have a pool but I have found it is ok to use any hotel pool so long as you are respectful and buy your drinks and food there. On Calle Soletat, just round the corner, there are some good cheap places to eat. I would highly recommend Bar Urban - the food is delicious with a good selection of traditional Spanish tapas plus a great English breakfast at very reasonable prices. The drinks are cheap too, their fabulous mojitos being only 4.50 euros!

Room Tip: Some rooms have no balcony but would probably be quieter as they are at the back of the hotel. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.2 km away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#20 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
322 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#9 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
809 reviews
1.2 km away
Palladium Hotel Palmyra
Palladium Hotel Palmyra
#3 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hostal Adelino
Hostal Adelino
#4 of 20 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
135 reviews
1.5 km away
Alua Hawaii Ibiza
Alua Hawaii Ibiza
#5 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
2,135 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Nicolau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Nicolau

Address: Calle Valencia 9, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: RM182 - RM574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Nicolau 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Nicolau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolau Ibiza/Sant Antoni De Portmany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing