We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$213
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Sol by Diamond Resorts(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ona Las Casitas(Playa Blanca)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort(Playa Blanca)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ona Las Brisas(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Coloradamar(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$256
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,241)
Filter reviews
4,241 results
Traveller rating
2,370
1,287
430
105
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,370
1,287
430
105
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub volcanclub areafree barfun pubrubicon marinaevening buffetbalinese bedsstar hotellovely hotelbed and breakfasthalf boardbloody marypillow menumarina areablue notesitting areareception area
Filter
Updating list...
1,056 - 1,061 of 4,241 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

I have recently returned from a short trip to the Hotel Volcan in Playa Blanca and let me assure you, it's fabulous. Well maintained, scrupulously clean, excellent food, doesn't feel crowded though it was fully booked. In a wonderful location on the marina, it's close to good restaurants and shops. My room was one of the most spacious I have enjoyed on holiday, with a separate wc and bathroom, bedroom and living room with a terrace balcony. Worthy of its 5 star rating.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MCD1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for rating your stay as excellent.

We are very pleased to knwo that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward t seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Selected the club rooms for a family Christmas break, but doesn't live up to it's promise and potential.
Completely lacking in Christmas spirit and atmosphere, absolutely no effort made.

The good things:

*Rooms are large and comfortable, 7th floor overlooking pool and islands excellent
*Breakfast selection good, with waiter service
*Free self service bar in evening, with excellent range of drinks
*Good afternoon tea
*Hotel general location near marina and coastal path, with 15 minute walk to Playa Blanca
*Adult only

But the bad things:

*Virtually no staff or service available
*No bar after 9.00 pm even if you want to pay, in fact you're almost thrown out!
*No bar at any time with service
*No service at pool bar, you had to dress and go and find someone downstairs.
*No dedicated reception, always unmanned, you had to go to manic main reception. To obtain any info this is where you had to go. If you book club these are some of the things you hope to avoid.
*Very much locked away from main hotel, which was a nightmare to navigate, but without some of the comfort and service you expect
*No direct access to coastal path or marina, you had to go through main hotel, navigate lifts and stairs to escape
*Water supplied once in room, 5*?
*No courtesy water at pool
*Only left luggage for late departures and spa changing rooms, if you pressure them

The general feeling is being somewhat isolated but not in a good way, many of theses issues are easily improved, but consider whether extra cost worthwhile as things are.
Would not return in its current format.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Myanmardreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for your comments about your stay.

Please rest assured we will try to adress every point mentioned in your review.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

It's very, very big, granted, with big bedrooms.
There is a poor quality of decor materials, and poor quality beds, which is why it should not be a 5* star hotel.
The bedrooms walls were paper thin and I was woken by footsteps overhead every night and couldn't get back to sleep.
There's also no wifi in the rooms! You had to go to reception which was annoying.
The food, breakfast lunch and dinner was bland, all the bread and croissants were from the freezer.
The swimming pool was freezing, to a temperature that would have been very difficult to swim in even at the height of summer.
We went there specifically to swim, and hardly did any because it was so cold it didn't feel safe.
The manager was in denial and not willing to admit it; we spoke to about 5 different members of staff about it, and when we went to the manager, he said that no one had said anything to him. So they'd all said they'd told the manager about it, but they hadn't.

We did have a relaxing stay apart from that, but it is not a 5* star hotel. It could be 4* at a stretch.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize not being able to meet your expectations. We are very sorry for your comments about your stay.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We travelled to the hotel for christmas lovely hotel very clean excellent staff i must agree that one of the pools would have been better if it had been heated as my 10 year old would have loved that.The restaurant was lovely beautiful food with lots of choices the fish and pasta dishes were lovely breakfast was excellent . Room lovely and we only had a standard but cleaned and beds made every day . lovely location what more could you ask for .We would definitely stay here again and jet2u brilliantxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: wifi is really good in reception so doesn't matter if its not in you room as reception is lovely x
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you very much or rating your stay as excellent.

We look forward to see you back again in the Hotel.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We had a fabulous 10 days at The Volcan over Christmas. Our room was large and comfortable and the view from the spacious balcony over the marina was amazing. The breakfast had everything you could possible imagine. On our first morning we couldn't believe the selection, the presentation and the service. It was available from 7 - 10 am, and we tried to get there relatively early to have a quiet experience.

The location was probably the best thing about the holiday. A minute or two from the hotel and you're in the Rubicon Marina. The marina has lots of bars, cafes and restaurants to cater for all tastes and pockets and it was our preferred end of Playa Blanca. All the establishments were open on Christmas Day, just like any other day and you did see turkey and trimmings advertised in some places (not that we had it).

We found all the reception and domestic staff charming at The Volcan. Our room was cleaned daily with the towels and sheets changed each day. We can't understand how some people report their rooms weren't regularly cleaned.

We went to the Japanese restaurant one evening. We over-ordered so ended up over-eating and leaving quite a lot but it was a lovely experience. We also ordered room service on a couple of occasions when we just wanted a quiet night in the room. The standard of that food was excellent, although a little pricey. We had a large TV in the room with BBC1, BBC2, ITV1, C4 and other news channels so we could catch our favourite programmes and keep up with UK and international news. We didn't go to any of the other onsite restaurants but they weren't very well advertised to be honest, otherwise we'd have probably given them a try.

To give a little bit of advice.... we feel the rooms should have been signposted better. The hotel is a bit of a maze and it took us a while to confidently find our room, the breakfast buffet restaurant etc.

The weather we had was fantastic but the swimming pools were freezing, so a heated pool would have been a great addition. The service around the main pool was a little sporadic, with stressed waitresses on some occasions.

It would've been good to have fresh water in the rooms each day, or water fountains around the hotel where we could have filled our bottles for free.

The WiFi service was fast in the reception area but not available in the rooms or pool areas. The vast majority of the bars/restaurants in the marina had free WiFi so you could regularly pick it up when you were out and about. It would've been nice to have WiFi in the rooms but maybe it wasn't a bad thing that we didn't!

Overall, we had a great holiday. We loved every minute of it and plan to save up and return next Christmas. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheltenhamLee_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for mentioning that you plan to return next Christmas.

We sincerely appreciate the information you have provided us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews