We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, but price doesn't reflect what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Embajador
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 20 March 2015

my wife and I stayed here for a week in March 2015. We booked last minute at short notice, as my Mother had recently passed away after a long illness, and we really needed the break. This hotel is small and unique, but for what it cost, we were expecting a lot more, as it's very expensive. It's in a really lovely location, and centrally located, with stunning views across the sea to fuertaventura. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the buffet breakfast is good. However, the rooms are small and so are the ensuites. The rooms need a refit, and could do with private balconies being built outside, as there is room in the grounds. Also, the ensuite bathrooms need to be redesigned, as there's not much room to dry yourself without the towel keep swiping the toilet, which isn't very hygienic. If they were to take out the clumpy wash basin, and the surrounding marble, and replace it with a smaller wash basin, it would make more room. They could also take out the bath, and replace with a shower cubicle. That too would create more room. The TV in the room is very old and of the CRT type, so this sits on the dressing unit and takes up a lot of space. If they were to replace the TV with the flatscreen type, and mount it on the wall, this would also create a lot of space. I don't quite understand why they haven't done the above suggestions already, bearing in mind how much they charge for a room! Finally, we didn't manage to get much sleep, as guests in neighbouring rooms could be heard easily through the walls, banging and so on throughout the night. So, in summary, a very nice unique hotel, but insufficient facilities and services to justify the price.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Oakesy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2015

This hotel is set above the maritime walkway between Marina Rubicon and Playa Blanca Beach. It has some private steps down to a door to the walkway and just around the corner are shops, restaurant and the beach. Yet it is incredibly quite and from your room you can hear the sound the waves on the rocks below. Average sized rooms with sea views and very comfortable. Spacious bathroom with twin sinks (our room 11). Fruit available in the room and in the hotel corridor. Breakfasts are adequate. There is an honesty bar and lounge to relax is. All the rooms have sunbeds outside on the terrace as well as chairs in the shade. Car parking behind the hotel (secure) The only downside is the Wi Fi which has a tendency to keep dropping out although better reception is available on the terrace. Do go if you want a hotel that's a bit different, peaceful and not your average package hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw had a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel for 8 nights in January. It was centrally located and near all the shops, restaurants and beaches in Playa Blanca. Even though it was in the central of town it was really peaceful and quiet. Had lovely views of the town and across to Fuerteventura. The terrace area got the sun all day. The rooms where slightly small but very clean. Massive fruit basket when we arrived in the room and could help yourself to fruit in the corridor. Breakfast was fine. Would return to this hotel. Suited to couples but not really families or people with children.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviess48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Very relaxing and tasteful small family run hotel in stunning location - right in centre of resort but tucked away on private cliff area with steps down to promenade - total oasis.
An old old diplomats house with many period features and retaining comfortable living room and beautiful verandas to relax.
Rooms overlook the sea and lovely bed linen and all comforts required. The breakfasts (included) are really tasty - fresh juice, coffee, cheeses, meat and fruit, plus large baskets of fruit around the hotel. The rest of the day there is a wide selection of drinks and snacks laid out and a tab to jot down what you have - which we loved. All the staff are very helpful and friendly but provide lots of privacy.
We thought this hotel was really special - thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the sea and seem similar aside the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

This hotel was all that we wanted, beautiful location, immaculately clean, friendly helpful staff. it was private and exclusive but with everything you needed nearby. if I was to name some improvements, constructive criticism, then I would ask for English TV channels, and ask for some information, in English, to be available at reception. This would help travellers find their way around. A big thank you to the very nice couple that left us their mugs with instructions to pass them on to someone when we leave; we will.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.6 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,980 reviews
0.6 km away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,884 reviews
11.5 km away
La Casona de Yaiza
La Casona de Yaiza
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.5 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
27.1 km away
Hotel Villa Vik
Hotel Villa Vik
#5 of 9 in Arrecife
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Embajador

Address: C/ La Tegala, 56 | Playa Blanca, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: RM1,053 - RM1,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa del Embajador 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Del Embajador Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing