We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for Oosters!”
Review of Pollo De Koog

Pollo De Koog
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in De Koog
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

The Kip with Ras el Hanout was definitely the best I have ever eaten. Also very uncomplicated Take-Away-Service. All the best, guys!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 400katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2021

We had a great time at Pollo. Food was delicious. The owner is a hoot and had us laughing. The place has a nice vibe! We love to be back one day.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank thadinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

On our last night in Texel we decided to try out this restarant after reading the reviews on trip advider we thought we were in for a good meal.
We left hungry.
When we arrived at the restuarant, we stood at the door unsure if you can seat yourself, after a while we walked up to the waiter who then waved his arm at a table.
We sat down. waited around 5 minutes for a table setting, and for our drinks order to be taken. We then noticed customers had empty tables consisting of no food. But we thought ok, give it a try.
15 minutes later waiter came back with drinks and took our order.
38 minutes later we had no starter, our drinks were empty, and the tables around us also had no food.
We decided as it was 8.20, we were starving so we wanted to leave. My partner went up to the bar and had to wait again for the waiter, we just wanted to pay and leave and cause no hassle. The waiter told us that 38 minutes wasn't a long time to wait.
In our opinion it is, we had nothing on the table, no snacks to nibble on. A bit of a scene was caused, wouldn't take the money for the drinks so off we went. We went to another restaurant where we had a meal, then went back to our hotel to change and then went for ice cream where we saw a couple who were staring at us while the scene was being caused just walk out of the restaurant.
In the future the waiter should tell people its going to be say 40 minutes for food, and stop accepting tables of people if they are having problems. It ruined our last evening in Texel,
The waiter / manager has contacted us since ( as i left a google Review) and told us to come back and try the restaurant again. But it was our last night, and as its the first time we have ever walked out of a restaurant. We don't want to go back.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Heather19890
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollodekoog, Eigenaar at Pollo De Koog, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2021

Hello Heather ..
I see and read that you did put all of your frustration again in this review..
And you know … you are right again, it wasn’t our best service last Wednesday…
Although we tried to make the best of it ( we were just the 2 of us ) we couldn’t give the service we stand for …!!
I know we could do better .. so we invited you on our behalf to try again … so you could experience the good service and nice food we usually have …

I hope you read this and contact us .. but you didn’t instead you wrote the story again on this platform …
If you had called us .. I would have offered you some other options …
We are really sorry for ruining your last evening ..
Greetz Vincent .. the guy in charge ( also the owner ) …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

We decided to have our family dinner tonight at Pollo De Koog after the reviews on TripAdvisor.
We were pleasantly surprised, the food was very tasty, served quickly and we met some friendly people. We were happy that we could enjoy the delicious dinner together with our dog.
Thank you Pollo De Koog.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank AliPoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2021 via mobile

We bought the kipbelling and the kip special dinner menu. It was simoly amazing. We enjoyed it a lot. It comes with special. Mayoneise at the side. The verse frites was also super good our little one loves it so much

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Lizaswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Pollo De Koog also viewed

 

Been to Pollo De Koog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.