We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,587)
Filter reviews
1,587 results
Traveller rating
492
768
233
67
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
768
233
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very nice hotel spacious room swimming pool happy hour breakfast offers breakfast buffet plenty of space tapas very reasonable price the hospitality business stayed here for one night cosy bar street level lobby quality dogs ter
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,587 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We stayed here in February 2018 and were impressed by the looks of the premises and its location. But once we got to our spacious room it appeared that quite a few things were not really in order (one of the reading lights of the bed was dangling just on the electric wire, one of the fixtures was not functioning). And as the hotel advertises with its wellness center we went to the sauna, which appeared to be very small and the steam cabin was out of order as well, apparently already for more than 3 weeks as we were told by one of the staff. Service at the reception and in the restaurant was good, professional and friendly. A beautiful location, a beautiful spacious place, worth 4 stars, but on the inside it doesn't live up to that promise.

Room Tip: Check your room upon arrival!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoepC_de_Jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas V, General Manager at Grand Hotel Ter Duin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Mr. De Jong,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review and sharing your experience with us! We value all feedback, especially if it can help us grow and improve ourselves. I´m sorry to hear that we didn´t meet your expectations. We will discuss the indicated points with the appropriate department.

We are hoping to welcoming you and your family back at our property in the near future. Wishing you a great day!

With kind regards from the entire team,

Bas Veenstra
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

I used to like TripAdvisor better. Unfortunately during the last years, it became more an advertisement booking channel, than reviews of travelers, useful when searching for a vacation. When you open the page, you see advertisements for booking with dates you do not want to travel. It very difficult to get rid of the dates and when you search for a hotel, instead of rating of the hotels you get available hotels. I sincerely hope TripAdvisor will get rid of all these advertisements, or at least give people the choice making a next step to booking page.
Anyway, about Hotel Ter Duin. I have stayed several times in this hotel. The hotel improved a lot during the last year. The staff is kind and professional, the dinners are very good and the breakfast is good enough. The rooms are clean, good quality beds, large bathrooms. The light system in the rooms can do with some improvement. The hotel bar is very nice. It’s a pity that the only outdoor area of the Hotel is a courtyard. Altogether a very nice hotel that not will disappoint you. Burgh Haamstede is a great village and has beautiful nature, with beautiful beaches. Great place for a romantic weekend and for a family holiday.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank JansenPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas V, General Manager at Grand Hotel Ter Duin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear JansenPraha,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us this great review! We are very happy that we were able to give you an pleasant stay in our hotel. It makes me really proud of our team because they were able to fullfill your expectations. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back at our property in the near future!

Wishing you a great day!

Kind regards,

Bas Veenstra
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

If it would be possible to give zero stars for a review, I would, but if you want to write a review you obviously have to give at least one star. Unfortunately we did not check the hotel on Trip Advisir before booking (which we normally do) as this was by far the dirtiest and most run down Hotel we have ever been to. We arrived late Friday night, and the first room given to us (Luxury Double Room - as booked) had spiderwebs covered in dust hanging from the ceilings and doorframes and I counted at least 5 spiders. The carpet was dirty, covered with spots of - fortunately - unrecognisable origin... The appliances in the bathroom were covered in lime and the toilet brush was disgusting. One of the lamps at the bed was broken, hanging down by the cable. We went down to registration desk and got a new room after showing them the pics we took and describing the state of the room. The second room was a bit smaller but slightly less dirty. However the carpet was equally spotted and behind the glass of one of the pictures dried up silverfish could be seen. If we hadn‘t been so tired we would have left immediately. One of the sinks in the bathroom didn’t work properly and the toilet brush was also really dirty. We went to have a drink at the bar and the stuffed chairs in the lobby all had a rather run down look and dirty spots and the flowers on the tables were all dried up, the carpets dirty. The next morning as we went down to the lobby the first thing I saw on the carpet near a table and sofa was old dried up cheese crust lying on the floor. We had a very quick breakfast and went to the reception to check out. The lady had problems finding our room at first, after we told her that we changed rooms, she said it was booked for two nights and upon our reply that we would nevertheless prefer to check out now, she did not even ask why but told us that we had an open invoice of 27€ for drinks and parking. Which was when I had enough and asked her if she was serious?! We intened to leave early because the first room was so dirty we had to change rooms and the second was not much better and no one bothered to tell the morning staff so they could make sure we felt comfortable now? She only said she didn’t know that and offered free parking (16€) and added that she was sorry.
What really got me though was that when I looked up the hotel here on Trip Advisor when we got home, I found exactly the same pictures of broken and dirty things as we took, some of them over a year old!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Silke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas V, Manager at Grand Hotel Ter Duin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Silke,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sharing your experience with us!

We will discuss the indicated points with the appropriate department. Please be informed we are continuously focusing on improving our services and we really appreciate your feedback.

Thank you again for staying with us and should you wish to visit us again please know that you are always welcome.

Kinds regards from the entire team,

B. Veenstra
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We had a great time, enjoyed our time in the swimming pool and Hammam. Dinner was great and breakfast buffet over the top. We couldn't have a better experience! The staff was answering all our questions, WIFI was efficient too!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BrianP4046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas V, General Manager at Grand Hotel Ter Duin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Brian,

first of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel Ter Duin!

Thank you again for staying with us and we're looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards from the entire team,
B. Veenstra - Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Your staff was friendly and helpful a good asset. However both luggage trolleys were badly maintained flat tires, ohne Even a Safety hazzard , Not repaired although mentioned. The cleanliness pulls the rating down. Main issue the floors ans especially the carpet, when changing consider hard floor and improve cleaning. Gym below average for 4 stars. Pool good. Size of room good. Consider fresh omelets for breakfast and higher quality muesli and cheese.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hans-Joachim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas V, General Manager at Grand Hotel Ter Duin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Hans-Joachim W,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experiences with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please be informed we are continuously focusing on improving our services and we really appreciate your feedback. We will discuss the indicated points with the appropriate department.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are hoping to welcoming you back at our property in the near future. Wishing you a great day!

Kind regards,
B. Veenstra - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews