We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you want to switch off your brain, that is the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Port Stanley, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Danielle...
1 review
“If you want to switch off your brain, that is the place!”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If you want to get away of it all, to sit back with a good book or just do nothing but relaxing this is the place. A little corner of paradise, walking distance of little beach. But you want to take a walk in Port Stanley there's is a few boutiques, bars and restaurants to please everybody. Thank you Franny, my new friend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you Norm, I am delighted you and Danielle enjoyed your stay at The Suite Retreat in Port Stanley. It was a pleasure to share the tranquility and charm of this little fishing village with you... "a little corner of paradise" indeed! Doing nothing but relaxing is getting harder to do but "there is such a thing as sacred idleness." Thanks again for sharing your experience. Y'all come back now!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarefootO...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We spent over a week at Suite Retreat in late spring. It is a self catered accommodation that is part of the lower level of a house set on a slope with views overlooking Lake Erie. The upper level is occupied by the owner. The house is situated at the end of the street in a quiet neighbourhood. There is parking for two cars on the drive, however one space is used by the owner. You gain access to the guest accommodation by walking along the upper deck at the side of the house, then down four steep steps to stairs cut out of the slope formed of pea gravel, concrete slabs and moss covered wood beams. It is not good for anyone with mobility issues and it is extremely hazardous when wet as there is no hand rail on the sloped steps. One of us had a bad fall on the sloped steps injuring their head.
The accommodation itself was nice and met our needs. It consisted of a very small sitting area at the entrance, a full kitchen, bedroom area, bathroom with walk in shower and walk in closet. It was clean and cozy. The bed though king sized was actually two beds of different heights pushed together with a foam topper, this was a somewhat bothersome. There were no drawers to unpack to, however there was limited shelf space in the closet with plenty of hanging space. There is no door to the toilet with only a curtain for privacy. The walk in shower was very spacious enclosed on one side with a glass block wall. There was no hair dryer or iron available. However, we were supplied with soap, shampoo, conditioner and mesh bath balls in place of wash cloths.
There was noise from the upper level which was very disruptive. Quite loud telephone conversations, television, footsteps and personal noises were heard daily, sometimes into the early hours. Frequently, there were cooking smells that we did not find pleasant. This did effect the overall enjoyment of our stay.
The outside amenities were very nice with a hot tub, cozy sitting area, good sized deck with table and chairs, bbq, propane fuelled fire pit and stairs down to the access road leading to Little Beach. There was a lovely water fountain that made the outside space an oasis of calm.
We booked our stay some months in advance, a few weeks before arrival we discovered that the final day was not included in our booking. We had emails proving the correct dates, however when we challenged this were told not to worry we could move to the other available accommodation in the upper level as the lower accommodation had been booked to other guests. Though not ideal we had no choice. Unfortunately, a few days after arrival we were told there would be an extra cost for the last day. We did not feel this was appropriate as it was not our error and chose to find accommodation elsewhere for our last night. Again another element of unpleasantness.
All in all we enjoyed most of our stay, it was private and we were pretty much left to ourselves. However, due to the issues we did have, particularly the issue over our booking we would probably not be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevwoodwa...
Fonthill, Canada
1 review
“Everything we wanted in a get away and more.”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

From the moment we arrived on the property, we knew this was what we were looking for.
Fran greeted us at the door with a warm smile, full of information on the property and the village of Port Stanley only steps away.
We entered the suite to find a homemade eggs strata, fresh fruit in the fridge and coffee and cream, waiting for our first breakfast. The fully stocked kitchen, had all the essentials from spices to oils and vinegars, to use during our stay.
All linens and towels were freshly laundered and the entire suite was neat and clean.
The three tiered patio/deck provided shade and sun during the day, and the private hot tub overlooked the lake, made for romantic soaks throughout the day.
Although there were many excellent restaurants minutes away, we decided to purchase local produce and bar b q each evening on the patio with a glass of wine. There was internet access and television,avaialble, and an out door gas firepit to enjoy during the cooler evenings.
All in all, it was a fabulous getaway, a great way to end the summer, and one we will remember for many years.
Than you Fran for sharing "your little piece of heaven".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, private atmosphere.
Liked least: The stairs to the beach can be a bit of a challenge, but there are other accesses if you prefer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Hello Bev, I'm delighted you and Doug enjoyed your getaway to Port Stanley! Thank you for sharing such a thorough and glowing review... a "little piece of heaven" indeed. Very much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent, Romantic suite”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was really a good rest, great hot tub, nice little kitchen, we got prepared food from the grocery store, opened a bottle of wine and ate every night on the deck with candles. The restaurants didn't have the same ambiance. All the little things inside the suite made it unique, candles, binoculars, nice wine glasses, great conditioner, nice bbq and all the lights that came on at night (twinkly lights) made it very romantic. The moon shimmering on the lake was spectacular at night with all of our lighted candles. The bed was very comfortable, linens, and towels, pillows of very good quality. I have never had quite that romantic of a stay anywhere with all of the little extras.
Will definitely be back! (I almost forgot, really nice beach)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a perfect stay at the Suite Retreat.
Could not fault the property, everything you could possibly want, including binoculars (who knew we would use these!).
Peace, quiet, beautiful weather, perfect setting.
Steps from the garden to road below lead to steps to Little Beach and then short walk to Port Stanley restaurants and shops.
Highly recommend and will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing