We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aupic Paradise(Vieux Fort)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hewanorra Gardens(Vieux Fort)
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charlerys Inn(Vieux Fort)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Pomme Gardens(Vieux Fort)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Tet Rouge Resort(La Pointe)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serenity at Coconut Bay(Vieux Fort)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Palm Villa(Vieux Fort)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Runway Inn(Vieux Fort)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (6,535)
Filter reviews
6,535 results
Traveller rating
3,650
2,035
546
178
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,650
2,035
546
178
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverkids clubswim up barwater slidescoconut baythe grillst luciaadult poolatlantic sidebuffet restauranta la carte restaurantssomething for everyonefamily vacationsea grassentertainment staffall agesmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
4,669 - 4,674 of 6,535 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

we were two mid 50's couples,stayed April 8th-15th, rooms 343 & 336 Harmony side, with the lay out of the resort, you could do whatever pleased your needs, quiet spots at the splash side beach , adult pool & bar, even in the lobby. plenty of activities to partipate in for the energetic, we found the staff friendly and very helpful, but then I complain with a smile ,works better than a snarl.

we took two trips off the resort, firstly the land & sea tour booked through the hotels adventure tours, nice bus tour to Castries( be warned very hilly roads ), catamarn to the Pitons,stopped at Soufriere for botanical garden tour, opted for mud bath, instead of drive in volcano (took two days to get the mud stain from under fingernails),then off to a nice restaurant over looking the town ,a very nice meal was served buffet style, back on board we were taken to a small bay for snorkling, mask &snorkel was provided but no fins, this made snorkeling hard for my wife who is not a strong swimmer so we gave up went back on board and went out the front for a walk on the beach,once everybody was back on board the bar opened for beer or rum punch drinks ,we then set sail back to Castries with a nice party on route.Bus trip back to hotel has some stunning roads ,climbed up and down twisty hills and valleys.

For the second off resort trip we went to Paradice ATV tours, I had made my own reservations on the internet, the owner and tour operator Kurt was very safety conscious with novice riders, being the dry season the trail itself was easy enough (been riding bikes 40 odd yrs), Kurt told us when its wet, its a lot more fun, transport to and from the tour was disappointing late both to and back ,as he deals with only one taxi service, this could be resolved now as the hotel were looking to include this on their Adventure Tours with the hotel transport being used.

For money wise my wife and I walked into Vieux Fort to the Scotia Bank atm,for 300 ec dollars a fee of 8 ec dollars was charged, felt very safe in town, plenty of taxi offers but decided to walk back, stopping at The Reef Bar for a nice cold one.
On the Saturday the four of us went with the hotel activity walk to the local market in the town, not much to see as its mainly locals selling fruit and vegetables produce, the souvenir venders were set up at the hotel, (good luck trying to get a bargain), we left the group and got a taxi to take us up to the lighthouse, a must do for the fantastic views, we then got the taxi to drop us off at the Reef Bar, watch what you agree on the fare as he said 20EC up and back to Coconut Bay,at the Reef Bar (which is way before Coconut Bay) he said it was 40EC,we claimed otherwise and he was happy when I gave him 30 EC.
note to management
Room 343.......... our kettle had to stay on the floor as new furniture was too high for it to be plugged in.(we like coffee first thing)
no plug in near a mirror, wife had fun using hair straightner,
I reported the incident of the porn suddenly appearing while we were watching a movie around 9:30 at night ,it had the format of a computer screen ,Wi Fi problem ?
The only problem with the food was it was too good to resist, (ate too much on a few occasions).

these are very minor things and did not spoil our time at the Coconut Bay,
They actually gave us a lot to talk and laugh about.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipmonk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just returned from an excellent 6-night family vacation at Coconut Bay. First off, to all of the negative reviewers, you must have stayed at a different place, or had a completely different experience, because the 4 of us (myself, my wife, and my 2 kids, ages 6 and 10) had an incredible experience there. From the moment we arrived (which was only 5 minutes after we cleared customs) to the moment we left, we were treated with a level of courtesy, respect, and caring that we have not experienced at any other resort. The staff was nothing short of amazing, the room large and clean, and the food was excellent. We have been to many other all-inclusive places in the Caribbean, but this one surpassed all of our expectations.

The kids loved the pools, even liked the beach, which was a bit rough at times (I am an avid ocean lover, so for me, it was relatively calm, actually), and especially loved the Coco Kids Club. A HUGE thanks to the whole staff, especially Mia, Alice, Sarah, Eulia, Nerville, Nasha, Francesca, and Samantha, for making our kids feel special !!!! They are still talking about how much fun they had (Skylar and Hunter say Hi !!!)

Terry, who served drinks by the pool, was awesome, he always had a smile and a nice thing to say, and Natasha, who ran the grill, was polite, courteous, and smiled through each and every day, no matter how hot it seemed back there ! Thad, Kevwin (Sp?), and Small J made dining in the buffet a great experience, and who could forget Jason, from the entertainment department...Jason, you helped put on one of the best Caribbean Night Shows that we have experienced, better than our trip to Jamaica, Nassau, or Paradise Island....thank you !!!!!

We found the food to be excellent, different for every meal, and delicious!

A big thanks to all of the staff at Coconut Bay, your bosses should be proud of the job that you do !!!

Myles Blechner - New York

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Myles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a wonderful holiday staying on the harmony side of the resort the only thing that could be slightly improved is some of the food but the staff were friendly and entertaining especially Maclee and Fatta from the adult bar, their 4 o clock "happy hour" is a must and turns the bar from the adult bar into the most childish place in the resort for an hour with silly games and plenty of alcohol. The bug man Trevor was always friendly and welcoming and one of the first to congratulate my wife and I on our wedding, the experience of getting married on this fantastic island was made complete and hassle free by the resort and its staff and i would reccomend a wedding here to anyone.

Room Tip: due to the hotel being at the south of the island meant you could stay longer at the poolside its worth paying extra for a good room on the top floors
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for a week (April 8 - 17th) and had a wonderful time at this resort. My kids are asking to return already. My rating for this hotel is 4.5 stars and the only reason it is not a 5 star all around is that the facility could use some updating here and there (which the resort seems to be undertaking) and the beach has some sea grass but that in no way diminished our experience.

5 star: view from the 4th floor of the well maintained and beautiful grounds

5 star: food, I do not understand the complaints from others on this site. Fresh warm danish for my 6:30am beach walk, BBQ chicken and fish for lunch, a grill open all hours with great hamburgers, chicken fingers etc and cotton candy/popcorn for the kids along with their own wide selection of non alcoholic drinks at the bar; they were in heaven. We enjoyed the buffet and outdoor theme nights were great.

5 star: staff. Friendliest staff I have ever encountered anywhere.

5 star: activities for kids. Water slides, lazy river, pools, fuze ball table, ping pong. Our kids did not go to the kids club on their own, but we did participate in some of their activities such as tug of war on the beach, 3-legged race and T-shirt tye dye. The resort photographer took some wonderful pictures of us and we love the CD we purchased. The zip line trip to Dennery is a must do; we have a fabulous time and we also loved the sun set cruise to see the Pitons.

Even though the resort was full, it never felt crowded and our kids quickly were comfortable with the lay out and where everything was located and we felt confident letting them go off on their own now and then. No annoying all inclusive wrist band to wear and I liked the fact that there were no other resorts right next to us. I toured the adult side and it was lovely with what appeared to be newly built sun decks and wooden loungers, with many pointed toward the Maria islands for a beautiful view between the palm trees. We did take our own mini excursion; a 10 minute walk past the adult side to a private beach which was a bit nicer than the resort beach; water was bluer and less sea grass. you can walk another km down this beach and eat at a restaurant there if you wish, but we returned to the resort. I enjoyed my facial and Indian head massage at the spa too.

Bonus: resort is literally 3 minutes from the hotel!

Send us back now please!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytrails040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Don't want to repeat what other's wrote so instead I will add a couple of tips:

If you want strong coffee go up to John's Lounge (opens at 6 p.m.) and get an espresso or cappuccino. (really wish I could have had one with my breakfast, hope management agrees to put a machine downstairs.)

In the buffet each morning (located midway down the buffet) they offer a herbal tissane that I wish more people would try. The ginger was fantastic & so was the bay leaf. Cocoa one was thick and foamy, I did mention to Mr Leitao that I think they should remove this one and try something else.

Our only mistake was not checking the activity schedule for the next day so we missed the 8:30 a.m. departure to walk in to Vieux Fort.

I bought a $2.00 kite (at a Dollar type store) to bring on vacation as I had never flown a kite. It was a breeze to get it airborne. Afterwards I gave it to another guest to use.

If you finish a paperback you can donate it to the library shelf. If you run of of books and really can't find one a guest told me he walked to Vieux Fort and bought a couple at a used book store.


If you need an electronic charged the front desk will do it for you. (they put a sticker with your room number onto your equipment)

It is not necessary to print out your boarding pass at the resort.

If one of you stays out late make sure you don't lock the door as you will have to be woken up to let the other one in.

The sun is extremely hot being so close to the equator. Make sure you bring an ample supply of sunscreen. Besides being expensive to buy in the gift shop they don't have any higher than 30SPF. (Ladies, lower your bathing suit straps when you put on sunscreen. One of my straps shifted and I got burned so for the next 6 days I had to use a facecloth to cover that area during the day.)

Keep track of employees names so that when you fill in the survey upon your return you can help those employees as the resort has some type of reward system. (I forgot to mention Jamara, and couldn't remember the names of some others who were very helpful).

I would agree that if you want a couples vacation with late night life & fancy dress up a la cartes go to Sandals, but I warn you that their is a 2 class set up there and unless you have butler service you are treated as second class. We wanted a fun place that was more laid back and all guests were treated the same.

There was a steady stream of guests going to the spa and everyone we talked to enjoyed their treatment. As for us we used our room credit for the Land & Sea tour and we both thought it was excellent value. We saw the main highlights of St. Lucia & got to go snorkeling.

We also went zip lining and Mark our driver supplied information and pointed out the sights along the way. He was very informative, and on the way back he will stop at Dennery so you can take photos.

Management is very approachable which is a big plus, and they are open to suggestions.

(Mr. Leitao, when I completed the survey in the comment section last night I forgot to mention that room 454 did not have a table on the balcony, and that umbrellas for the platforms seating areas would have been greatly appreciated. Many of us are fair skinned so while we want to enjoy the view we do need more shade than a palm tree supplies without having to go seek shade in the lobby.)

Lastly I'd like to say that Coconut Bay really does grow on you, all the staff offered wonderful hospitality and we truly had a fun vacation.

Room Tip: If you are watching your funds don't upgrade to premium, I say this because you can still have a good view on a lower floor. Only difference we could see is if you are on the 4th floor you get a couple of can of Piton in your mini fridge. We saw guests bringing cups of beer up to their room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews