We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs a bit of work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Reviewed 5 September 2017

As everyone states, this is the closest hotel to the airport - its right around the corner and the shuttle to and from the airport is good.
We reserved the Harmony concierge package. We were greeted right away by the concierge who was then going away on vacation the next day, We never had contact with her replacement. Restaurant reservations were already made for you - a bit strange considering you have no idea if you want the ones they have chosen for you. There were two nights of everyone together outside with entertainment and multiple food stations. It was a bit strange to have U.S. country music as entertainment - not really what one wants in St. Lucia. The second night was better with a local band. Harmony concierge gets you a private dinner by the adult pool. This was a very nice evening with good food, entertainment and dancing - probably the best perk.
The rooms are good although there were a number of problems, toilet broke three times, refrigerator didn't work but these were addressed quickly. Fourth floor rooms just barely give you an ocean view - the palms are so high but it's nice to be there on the top floor.
Our housekeeper, Seraphine, was excellent and very friendly - every day a new towel decoration and a very clean room.
The food is decent here with Calabash and Silk the best choices. Capri is outside next to the game area, not a quiet or cool place to dine. Harmony also has a special breakfast area with table service and a great view. Service here is surly, every day...we waited 20 minutes one day for a table to be cleared and set for us. I honestly found that service every where, except for the bartenders left much to be desired. There were exceptions but overall not too friendly.
There is a long stretch of beach here and at the end of the property, Paradise Beach. Do go there. It's quiet, with a bar, bathrooms and lounge chairs. Yes, there is a sea grass problem here - they try to keep on top of it but it's constant.
We visited Serenity across the street - if you can get upgraded or are able to go there, do so! It's exceptional. There's no ocean view but you are able to use all facilities at Coconut.
The gym is good - it has what you need. I did not use the spa so I cannot rate that. There are a lot of pools here and a lot of families. It is a good choice for them. You will meet a lot of friendly guests staying in the Harmony side and the adult pools are great for socializing. Dylan is an excellent bartender at the adult pool bar - he will take care of you.
Overall, it was good but the hotel does needs to be modernized.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank protravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 6,088 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

The pick up for the hotel was good and a short trip to resort. Me and my husband stayed on the adult side and was offered to move across the street to their new resort but I wanted a ocean view. The room was nice but you really could t see the ocean so after a couple of days we decided to try out the new resort Serenity. Holy cow the rooms are awesome. And you get a butler that gets you anything you want. The plunge pool was nice too. The food and both resorts were pretty good. Calabash was my favorite. The steak is awesome. The beach wasn't that big right at the resort but it was nice. Overall we enjoyed ourselves and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ttweety75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience with us. The entire team is thrilled that you had such an enjoyable vacation and got the opportunity to check out our new Serenity Suites. We eagerly await your next visit.
Cheers, Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Just amazing - the shortest transfer we have ever had - approx 3 mins from airport and you arrive at the wonderful Coconut Bay Resort!

On arrival you are greeted with a cold towel and cocktail. Rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean - ample wardrobe space and good sized bathrooms.

We stayed on the Harmony side for 1 week and loved every minute!

The complex comprises 85 acres of well kept gardens and pools. There is a lazy river and slides for both kids and the young at heart. Food is great and lots of variety. We ate and Coconut Walk (buffet), Silk (Chinese) and Calabash (Caribbean). All exceptionally good.

There is an on site gift shop (good choice) and spa. My husband and I had a fantastic couples massage on a beach side cabana for our anniversary. There is also a small market x2 weekly where local people come and sell their wares. There are a couple of beach side vendors but they are not allowed onto the hotel grounds and do not give you the "hard sell".

What makes Coconut Bay special is its unique location, both short transfer and the fact that it is very secluded and therefore private without being in close proximity to shops and restaurants etc.

However, the most special thing of all is the people who work here. Always smiling, nothing too much trouble and they genuinely seem to want to do their best to make your stay unforgettable.

Entertainment is good and varied - some nights it may be a singer to one of the best nights we have here had which was the Caribbean carnival - great steel band, fire eaters and hot buffet. Just exceptional!

It was good to meet Zachary (manager) at the cocktail evening and was really touched to see as we left he had given a young boy who was leaving the same time (and also called Zachary) a Coconut Bay name badge like him! How sweet and kind- definitely somebody who goes the "extra mile" for his guests!

We normally like to go somewhere different every year but would definitely return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary F, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Alison
I am very happy to know you made it home safe with the family. As the General Manager it is easy to agree with everything you listed, and to your point the Staff truly makes the resort. Their personality and charm is contagious for sure.

Growing up with the name Zachary was always special. I was the only person with that name 50+ years ago. And so you can imagine when all the other children had name plates for their bikes and rooms, I could never find one. The name has had a resurgence, and now everyone can find that name plate. But I think it is special and will always celebrate a young man with that name. I know that name tag will have such meaning for him and the family. The goal is always to help create memories, and that was my gift to that goal.

Safe Travels

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The main hotel is spilt into two - Harmony for adults only and Splash for families, then there is a completely separate section called Serenity which looks beautiful.
We stayed in the splash side of the hotel on level 4 which was a concierge room. These give you the best views and a few extras - services of the concierge, beers and soft drinks in the mini bar, a late afternoon snack and a bottle of spirit (e.g. Jack Daniels) per room.
The room are very spacious and bright. We had 2 rooms, one had a king size bed and a sofa / bed / pullout under-bed, the other had 2 double beds. There is plenty of storage space - 2 wardrobes, with a decent amount of hangers, shelves and drawers, plus there is a small safe, which is free to use.
The amenities in the bathrooms are good quality, we had Crabtree & Evelyn - shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion, topped up as required.
There is a laundry room which has 3 large washing machines and a couple of dryers, we had read about this so took a handful of 2in1 washing/softner pods. It does say to buy tokens at the shop, but they are no longer required, the facility is free. It was wonderful to come home with lots of clean washing for a change!
The kids club was fantastic. Lots of different activities. Our 10 year old wanted to go virtually every day and some nights too.
Obviously there is the slides and lazy river, but there are are also 2 other family pools, the splash pool, which has the swim up bar (kids get there own bar too), the pool has one side which its graduated so you can walk in. The second pool is the activity pool where they do the water aerobics and volleyball. There are plenty of sunbeds, although you did have to be up early if you wanted a bed near an umbrella around the splash pool, which was a shame - CBay, please get more umbrellas, as most people need some shade at some point during the day. If you're lucky enough to be able to use the adult side as we were, there are two pools and a bar. There are a number of 'sun seeker' sunbeams which are on a plinth which can be rotated to face the sun.
Obviously, there are also sunbeds and a bar on the beach. The beach does have seaweed, but the hotel are continually clearing it away.
The buffet restaurant offered fresh eggs, omelettes, french toast, crepes, waffles, smoothies etc for breakfast, plus the usual cereals, fruit, bacon, sausage, beans, breads, pancakes & pastries. At lunchtime, the counters offered freshly cooked stir fry and pasta, plus salad, hot dishes and a kids corner. Evenings saw the counters usually with freshly cooked meats & fish, plus the salads, hot dishes & kids corner. The number of hot dishes was less than we've experience previously, so there were occasions where one or more of us were not too satisfied with what was on offer.
There are three a la carte restaurants, two of which have a dress code (long pants and closed shoes for men). Silk is Asian style, quite nice, but we had quite poor service the second time. Capri is Italian, delicious and the service in there was particularly good from M
This area also provides fast food throughout the day and turns into a late night snack bar.
The most impressive in my opinion was Calabash, which served delicious steaks and seafood. The beef tenderloin was divine and the creme brûlée was the best I've ever had.
I have to shout out Natasha at the lounge bar, who had our order by the second day and always made sure we got our favourite tipple.
The entertainment was better than we've experienced for many, many years. Singers, musicians & theme nights, my absolute favourite being Cowboy Sealy, followed by the steel drum band.
There is so much to do if you want to, but equally the entertainment team don't push you if you just want to do your own thing. Make sure you get a weekly activity sheet so you don't miss anything.
We experienced a coupe of issues, but when the hotel were aware of them, the did what they could to rectify, so overall really pleased with the hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank mamacoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary F, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Mama,
Good afternoon and thank you for the kind words. I do understand at times the umbrella usage can be limited. I will see what we can do to help in that request. I also was disappointed to hear the the send night at Silk had some service issues. We do work towards 100% Guest Satisfaction which we seemed to have stumbled on that night, and I do apologize for that.

I will share with you that I agree, Cowboy Seal is amazing, and I so happy to have heard you enjoyed the resort and all areas that are offered.

Safe Travels always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Remarkable experience. We loved the Majestic view of the ocean. Always a refreshing Ocean Breeze makes it feel like a South Pacific island. Many places on this beautiful resort to rejuvenate, enjoy a fresh perspective, and have fun or relax. We liked the many nice restaurants, lounges, tiki bars, pools, and places to get away. Very Romantic. Staff is very attentive and kind. We will return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary F, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Jeff,
with 85 acres you truly can find space to relax. I will tell you that as the island goes, you do appreciate the Breeze. i am very happy to have read your experience, and that you enjoyed the time spent at the resort. Will see you again soon.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
20.1 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
35.5 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
33.5 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
26.5 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
20.3 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range: RM1,119 - RM3,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, complimentary WIFI, 8 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing