We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Living room Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Living room
Dining room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen
View at dawn from west bedroom
Master bath
West bedroom (double)
Single bedroom
Patio
Terrace in summer
Ready for dinner
Grape arbor
View from terrace
Walled garden
View of Duomo from garden
16th century staircase
12th century convent in Vicolo compound
View of Barga from countryside
Main entrance to compound
Second (garden) entrance from piazza
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott W
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Spot”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great place to stay - difficult to pull yourself away from the terrace and the view, but when you do you are rewarded with a vibrant town with plenty of places to eat & lots to see. Barga is within striking distance of Lucca and Pisa and surrounded by beautiful countryside.
The house is well appointed and comfortable and it was great to be able to tap Frank's encyclopaedic knowledge of the area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdposei...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracious villa in the heart of beautiful Barga, Tuscany”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This lovely house close to Barga's beautiful and historically significant duomo is the perfect place from which to explore Barga and surrounds. Just a few minutes walk to the main piazzas where there are many fine restaurants, galleries, an antique shop, an outstanding gelato bar and a very chic boutique, the house also boasts stunning views of the Tuscan countryside from inside and from the large terrace.
Frank's in-depth knowledge of the area's history and culture make him the perfect host for those who like to learn as they travel. His command of the practicalities like transport and shopping makes everything easy.
My one regret is that I won't be there in summer to see the garden in full bloom.



Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Hartsel...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experience lovely accommodations, authentic Italian life, and breathtaking views at Vicolo del Duomo!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We (my sister and I) enjoyed every moment of our stay in this personable home. Frank, a fascinating historian and our host, is warm, welcoming, and so very helpful. He has wonderful suggestions of where to shop, eat and explore, and made our stay here even more meaningful than we could've ever hoped for.

The house is lovely, exuding Italian warmth and charm. The rooms are comfortable, private and spacious, and the kitchen is stocked with all the pots, pans, dishes, utensils, etc. we needed (excluding food of course.)

The views from the grapevine-canopied terrazza are spectacular, the townsfolk are interesting, and the atmosphere of this hillside town is like nowhere else we visited. You can walk anywhere in town, so transportation isn't an issue, and the short bus trips to Lucca (where the train station is) run regularly if you wish to explore other parts of Italy.

If you're looking for a touristy spot, with crowds, excitement, and noise, then go to Rome. But if you long to embrace the authentic Italian life, and stay in a home overlooking a breathtaking medieval town, then Vicolo del Duomo is the perfect location to do so.

I plan to return to Barga with my husband, and won't even consider staying anywhere else. Vicolo del Duomo is like my Italian home away from home, and Frank feels like family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the house and the friendliness of our host.
Liked least: That I couldn't stay forever.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoopyM69
Williamston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Why Barga? Why Vicolo del Duomo?”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

First, why Barga? Barga is a charming and wonderful city tucked away in the mountains of northwestern Tuscany. It is a place to get away, relax, sightsee, soak in beautiful vistas, dine, enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the locals, and take in the rich history of the city and the region. The older part of the city rests on a hill, surrounded by walls. Barga's history spans from the Celts, to the Romans, to World War II. From Barga, one can take easy day trips to Lucca and the Carrara marble quarries.

Why Vicolo del Duomo? Postcards of Barga focus on the Duomo, perched at the top of the hill, overlooking the old city. Vicolo del Duomo is conveniently situated just below the Duomo. While the property is several hundred years old, the quarters are up to date, very well appointed, comfortable, clean and safe. The views from the patio are spectacular. The owner is a retired journalist, fluent in several languages, including but not limited to Italian, English, French and Mandarin. He provides a wealth of knowledge on Barga and the surrounding region. He also proved to be invaluably helpful to us in retrieving the last piece of our luggage lost by the team of Delta and Alitalia Airlines.

From Vicolo del Duomo, you can easily walk to many fine small restaurants and cafes. If you choose to dine in, the property is also an easy walk to the local shops where you can pick up fruits, vegetables, meats, cheeses and pastries - all fresh.

Plan on parking outside the walls of the old city. There is some free parking just outside the main gate. More free parking is a few blocks away. From the main gate, there is a modest uphill walk, on a narrow cobblestone street, to Vicolo del Duomo.

We have highly recommended Vicolo del Duom to our friends and relatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property and how well equipped it was.
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRP100
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Second time, and again I'm charmed by Barga”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013

This was my second stay at Vicolo del Duomo and it was as enjoyable and entertaining as my first visit four years ago. Frank is a gracious host and knowledgeable about the local area and activities. Barga is a town where you can kick back and relax if that is what you are into or hike and enjoy the local piazzas. I'm looking into going back as soon as I can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is best in Barga, view of town and country side is breathtaking.
Liked least: No faults...really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing