We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay-ish..”
Review of Johnnie Fox's Pub

Johnnie Fox's Pub
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Glencullen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$181
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Johnnie Fox's Pub is situated in the heart of the Dublin Mountains and it is a pub that simply "has it all"! A living museum of Irish tradition, live entertainment nightly, food served daily from their a la carte menu which starts at 12:30 through until 9:30pm. The full range of menus are available to view online.Situated only 40 mins from Dublin centre, 10 minutes from Enniskerry or Dundrum, there is even a shuttle bus service which runs daily from the city to the pub and back down again, for full details contact EXPRESS BUS and these are also great for full coach and mini bus hire - only €10 return per person (10+). For a real treat - one must experienced the world famous "HOOLEY NIGHT" 4 course dinner and live traditional ballad music and dance show, for only €52.50 per person - a great night no matter the occasion or number of people in your group, book from one person to 130. Traditional Irish Peat Fireplaces, Live Entertainment, Great Food, Own Bakery, Ample Parking, Friendly Service and so much more.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Myself and my husband had heard some great stories about this place, so on our trip to Ireland we had to visit. We had asked our hotel to make us a booking, and they managed to get one for 7pm which was perfect for us. We arrived 15 minutes before hand, and ended up having to wait 50 minutes for our table. We were starving by the time we were seated, so we skipped starters and went straight for mains, which was nearly a 40 minute wait. Food was okay, I had a lamb shank and my husband fish and chips, and neither dishes were anything about average. However, a fantastic atmosphere in this place. I would never dine here again but a great spot for drinks.

Thank MelDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieFoxsPub, Public Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Mel,

We are sorry to hear we fell below your expectations on this occasion!

I am also curious to know more about why you had to wait despite having a reservation, would you mind emailing info@jfp.ie, with some extra details for example a description of your server? Just so I can investigate this further to prevent it from happening to guests who make a reservation in the future!

Its not every day our food is described as average so again we apologize for this!

We can only put it down to an off day and we do sincerely hope that you might give the food another chance in the future?

On the bright side, it is lovely to hear you enjoyed the famous Johnnie Fox's Pub atmosphere!

We do appreciate you sharing your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 82 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

What an amazing pub. You could lose yourself in the incredible memorabilia on every inch of every door, wall and ceiling. Warming yourself by the turf (peat) fuelled fire and devouring an incredible seafood chowder or any other tasty menu item of which there are many attractive items, the pub is just so filled with atmosphere. It just goes on and on. Good food, good drink, atmosphere plus and attentive wait staff ..... a great recipe for an enjoyable time in the ‘highest pub in Ireland ‘.

Thank jamescL8698OG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieFoxsPub, Public Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Wow James! What a great review, we are delighted to say the least! The seafood chowder has been a long time visitor favourite so its great to see this is continuing on! And what kind words about our staff! Don't be a stranger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Not many words needed, its a MUST see and BE. We went for the show(Irish dancing and music) and 3 course dinner.

Its an amazing experience, booking essential!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FreeSpiritDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieFoxsPub, Public Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi there,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of the pub!

We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the pub again in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Will NEVER return to this place again, 30 minute wait to be called to a table for dinner, finally got seated at a table and ask asked before ordering could we get a seprate bill as we were all paying seprate .. we were told thats no problem so we proceeded to place our order , i ordered lamb shank my partner ordered the fish, i also ordered chicken chunks for the kids and the rest ordered a starter of soup and 2 bacon and ham. after waiting an hour the food finally arrived, my mash was freezing cold and lamb over cooked, the fish was absolutely disgusting no flavor what so ever, chips also cold, the childs chicken chunks had an absolutely disgusting lump of hard grisel/fat/bone whatever it was.. (the child spat it out and refused to eat the rest then). The bacon was all fat absolutely un eddible (also not eatting) veg was not cooked like a brick.. Then to top off everyting one of the meals never came out and when we asked for the meal the waiter said oh i didnt think you wanted the meal so someone was left with no dinner... The staff and service was a disgrace aswel we complained to the waiter and he basicly said ah well, He took the chunk of crap that was found in the chicken to the chef supposably he said it was just some skin , The standard of food was just so poor im disgusted we should have refused to pay i wouldnt of fed that food to a dog.. Finally paying for the bill it was not seprate like we had asked for before ordering.. never again such a let down

1  Thank Celine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieFoxsPub, Public Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Celine,

So sorry to hear! I believe I was chatting to you regarding this on our Facebook page?

As discussed, the manager who would usually take care of this is on annual leave until Wednesday.

I have take your details and will be sure to pass it on to him to investigate on his return.

We appreciate your patience & understanding on this matter.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I had dinner in the bar recently with a group. The decor is very cluttered and a bit dirty looking but there are some very interesting pits to look at and read around the place. The items outside look very worn out and neglected in particular the old back car is just rotting and looks dreadful.
The waiting staff are excellent, very efficient, helpful and pleasant.
The food is average nothing wrong but, I won’t remember it as being very good.
I think overseas tourists will find it interesting and would enjoy a visit to sample the music and atmosphere. But for Food I wouldn’t bother there are much better offerings to be had.

Thank Johncrossbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieFoxsPub, Public Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi John,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

We are delighted to hear such kind words about our staff.

Sorry to hear that's how you feel. We can assure you that the pub is cleaned thoroughly multiple times a day. Some of our antique's have been passed down through generations! We have a dedicated team of cleaners, gardening and maintenance staff working every day on site so to hear to pub looks neglected is a tough one as that is not the case, but we appreciate everyone has their own opinion!

Sorry the food did not live up to your expectations, our kitchen prides itself on using only the best freshest produce!

We would love to welcome you back to the pub some day in the future and hopefully we can change your opinion as we beleive the pub is the furthest from average! :)

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnnie Fox's Pub also viewed

Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 

Been to Johnnie Fox's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing