We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bumble Bee Cottage

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Bumblebee Cottage
Bedroom
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carole E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were over to see relatives as we now live in Canada.
We know the area well and really enjoyed the village which was quiet apart from the sheep in the field next door . it was really nice to see them with their little lambs.
Cottage was lovely but be warned the staircase is very steep and you need to watch your head on the low beams.Only negative we found the sofa a little uncomfortable but wouldn't stop us staying again
Welcome package was nice ,kitchen is well equipped and we even invited the family over for dinner .visit the village shop in Barrowden it is a community shop and tearoom great friendly staff.Pub was shut for renovations that was dissapointing but reopening 2nd of May

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevandKer...
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in September 2015

This pretty cottage is so romantic and perfect for 2 people. We also took our two little dogs which were very secure in the garden. The walks near by are lovely. The view from the back is fields and hills. The finish is also a very high standard, the kitchen is lovely. The slipper bath on the landing is a surprise and very pretty. Don't worry about taking anything but your clothes! We took our bikes and the dog's trolley. The ride around Rutland is level and car free for nervous cyclists. The towns and villages around are the best kept secret ever. Will definitely come back sometime soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Parking a bit tricky but not a real worry
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thank you for sending us such a nice review. We are so pleased that you were able to maximise your enjoyment at Bumble Bee cottage. We look forward to seeing you again.

Liz, Simon & Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
47112015
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“breathtaking - we want to keep it a secret”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

what a wonderful Christmas week - 2 adults plus an old dog. Waking up to sheep at the window every day - the bells of the Barrowden church; christingle at the church (what fun); fabulous villages that take your breath away and what food in wonderful country inns. The cottage was lovely - underfloor heating a boom in damp weather - it was the warmest of cottages - no negatives whatsoever. We sorted the offroad parking easily by parking on the very large unused path - in no-one's way - outside the cottage. We can't wait to book again for 2016. Thanks to Simon for his easy instructions and good advice. Happy 2016. ps no maconalds/kfc/burger king in the whole of Rutland - joy!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that all our efforts have given you such a wonderful Christmas.
Happy New Year 2016 to you all.
Liz, Mel & Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H
Nyaung U, Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming thatched cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A lovely secluded dog friendly garden looking onto open fields even though it was October the weather was very mild and we got to sit outside in the garden.
The village of Wakerley is a pretty place with a lovely pub (Exeter arms ) we walked to the nearby village and visited the village shop and had a coffee and sat in there lovely flowered garden and the people that came to the shop stopped and had a chat with us everyone was very friendly.
The roll too bath ladies I took my oils and I relaxed every night it was bril with the under floor heating my feet were lovely and warm.
We will returns to bumble bee

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very quiet and pleasant cottage”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage is small but for two people who like peace and tranquility it's very pleasant. The kitchen is rather restrictive in size but then so many cottages are similar and anyway we managed to cook many different meals successfully.
There's no parking place although one can place a car about 20m away, parked half on the pavement. Luckily the road is fairly quiet.
The "facilities" state that there's Sky TV and a TV recorder - there isn't. This didn't worry us though.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$178
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing