We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers and awesome service”
Review of Soul Burger

Soul Burger
Ranked #3 of 4 Quick Bites in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Soulburger is a casual and relaxing gourmet burger bar with tons of different burger options for you to choose from. We cater for gluten free needs, lil people burgers and vegan eaters too. We hand make all our patties including our vegan patties and create most of our sauces from scratch, in-house. Even our super yummy chippies are seasoned with our secret spices. We're a small restaurant and work hard to maintain an extra high level of quality, high standard of service and work fast to get you your burgers as quick as we can grill them. We offer cold beers, wines and liquor drinks if you like to wash your burgers and fries down with a frosty beverage. Afterwards you can walk off your yummy meal by seeing the sights. Whangamata is a famous surf beach and is an easy stroll to the sandy shores to see the action in the water, or to just get your toes sandy. Come visit us at Soulburger where our friendly staff will whip you up something to feed your soul.
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Now under new ownership, Soul Burger delivers classic Kiwi burgers with a twist. Our family of four loved their burgers, fries and milkshakes. All served in a timely fashion with a smile. The food is outstanding and the owners are kind and accommodating. If you are in the area definitely visit Soul Burger.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at Soul Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thanks so much guys! What an epic journey you guys are on. Safe travels, enjoy NZ and soak it all up out there!
Until next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

After a day of hiking this was a top spot to fill our hungry stomachs!
Greeted by a very friendly welcome from the staff, there is a huge blackboard of burgers to choose from which range from beef, steak and free range chicken.
We went for the satay spice which was delicious, with a side of sweet potato fries. A great size burger, plentiful chips and lovely service.
They sell a great range of soft drinks, not your usual coke and sprite, as well as bottled cider, beer and wine by the glass.
It’s easy on the wallet too.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank dfect24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at Soul Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi there! Thanks so much for taking a moment to tell the world about a great experience! Much appreciated and we’re stoked you had a good time hiking around here and hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I popped in here the other day as my girlfriend and I had a huge burger craving. I went for the Whanga Burger & my girlfriend went for the Goin Tropo (to takeaway). They were both absolutely fantastic. We are both big burger fans and these were 2 of the best we've ever had.
The burger meat was good, the choice of bun was perfect and the toppings were all fresh and tasty.
The staff were friendly, prices were good, and the food was great. Definitely worth a visit if you're passing through.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank foodguru010390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at Soul Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hey there, thanks so much for taking the time to shoot us a review. Super stoked you found us and got to satisfy your burger cravings with us! Hope to you see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Had a good here and they have a license so can also serve beer. No toilets or wash hand basins for customers though.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at Soul Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Hi Amy, thanks for stopping in for a burger and a beer and for taking the time to write a review.
I hope we see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Great burgers, very satisfying meal for budget numbers. Plenty of places do burgers but these guys are among the best in NZ. Very good wedges too. Good range of options, including for the gluten-intolerant and vegetarians.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Balladeer1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 April 2017

Huge compliment thanks!! Pleased you stopped in and look forward to feeding you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soul Burger also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Soul Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing