We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Firs Hotel(Hitchin)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun Hotel(Hitchin)
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Needham House Hotel(Little Wymondley)
US$60
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benslow Music(Hitchin)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
151
65
24
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
65
24
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teawedding venuewonderful weddingtop floorwedding breakfastmemorable stayfood was fantasticluton airportspecial occasiondaughter's weddingstaff were amazingfour poster bedlounge areanext morningsandwichesbeautiful groundsran like clockwork
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Seven friends visited to celebrate a 60th birthday this afternoon - the staff were lovely and attentive and we all agreed the tea was the best we’ve ever had! Thank you for making it a very special day for our birthday girl.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 999JillyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

An afternoon champagne tea to celebrate a 60th birthday, what a perfect place, perfect location and superb tea!! The staff were very attentive and around when you needed them. Lovely country house in beautiful surroundings. The whole afternoon ran like clockwork and we all agreed the best tea any of us had had. Can't recommend enough!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank StotfoldLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamid S, Owner at Offley Place Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear StotfoldLin,

Thank you for sharing your experience of having an Afternoon tea at Offley Place.
We are glad that you and family loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise.
They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing.
Thank you, once again, for your kind words.
We look forward to seeing you again on another occasion.

Kind Regards,

Maria Kopilcova
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend, Offley Place has lots of character and the decor complements the character. The staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The room we had is clean. The food was lovely

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamid S, Owner at Offley Place Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Samanta I,
Thank you for taking the time to share your view on Offley Place.We take pride in giving outstanding service every customer and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation.
We hope to see here again and please bring all your friends and family.
We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.

Kind Regards,

Maria Kopilcova
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on a B&B basis. Pretty cheap rates, less than £100 per night for the two of us. Great building. Decorated to maintain the country house feel. Huge room with 4 poster bed. Bathroom will need updating soon. Staff friendly and helpful. Reasonably priced bar ( for a hotel) but there are two pubs a short walk away. Breakfast pretty decent, plenty to fill up on.
It's a period building and the windows in our room rattled in the wind resulting in some disturbed sleep, but other than that nothing to complain about.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

That’s how this place felt...luxurious! A real retreat! Stayed one night in room 14 ( superior )
Room was massive... gorgeous lovely wooden sleigh bed. Beautiful old window looking it on the front lawn. Bathroom was modern, large and what I personally enjoy in a bathroom. Huge deep and wide bath perfect for 2, and a large powerful shower. All staff we encountered were very friendly and cheerful.
They’ve maintained the age of the house in its decor throughout, its very beautiful inside as you’ll se in my many pics!
Our bed was sooooo soft it was like laying into a cloud!...not that I’ve ever tried that ha ha but i literally just sunk into the bed....however not what my back needs!...so a little achy next morning. Ample pillows and covers. Ample towels and large ones too which are great for the larger person!
Old wardrobe has ample space and hangers. Trestle table in front of window...don’t lean on it!
Found a couple of surprises in the dresser drawers! ( baby oil and unopened box of condoms ) Guess they weren’t checked before our arrival! Ha ha
not hugely impressed with the hospitality “tray” one pack of biscuits....and broken into bits too!...lacking there! Especially in a superior room.
Bar was nice we sat in there for a while and ordered puddings which were divine and with a personal touch...I asked how they knew it was my partners birthday and the lady said she overheard us! Wow! Very impressed.
Breakfast next day was lovely. Generous continental table and then we had a full English. Very very nice! Wasn’t impressed with my teeny tiny poached egg so requested a fried one which was no bother at all. Service with a smile throughout here and we just had the best time! And really will be returning and trying the spencer restaurant next time too as them puddings were lush!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BandJforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews