We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you’re worried about ordering a takeaway service then don’t be, it’s just as good as the restaurant food.”

The George and Dragon Graveley
Ranked #13 of 178 Restaurants in Hitchin
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In the heart of the picturesque village of Graveley, the George and Dragon invites you to get away from it all. Enjoy high quality delicious locally sourced and freshly made dishes in a cozy country pub setting. With family and dog friendly dining indoors or out in the relaxing garden, the pub has something for everyone. Whether it's to compliment the fine food or a night out, the well rounded wine list, seasonal ales and fully stocked bar that boasts 22 different gin flavours will not disappoint. Able to accommodate larger groups, the pub is a popular venue for birthday parties, wakes and wedding receptions.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Could not be happier with the food tonight. Arrived still piping hot and tasted unreal. Would highly recommend over any other takeaway this lockdown.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Z3969WCjamesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2020

Our experience wasn’t as great, the staff were young and doing there best without guidance. Tables of loud lads swearing in the restaurant area not asked to keep noise down. There was no track and trace offered, and many mixed households tables inside. Food was average beer not so good.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank BoardingPass420397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

Delicious food, service not great. We visited as a group of 4 on 25/10 for Sunday roast. Waiter took our drinks order and then food fairly quickly after. We sat down at 2, starters didn’t come until about 2:40 which was a bit of a long wait but they were big portions so wasn’t the end of the world. Was a bit of a wait after we had finished before plates were cleared. A waitress came over and asked if we were all okay after starters had been cleared, we were still waiting for mains. Mains didn’t come until another half an hour 40 mins later. Extra potatoes and gravy were requested but not received. Again took a while for plates to be cleared from the table. By the time we had paid the bill and left it was about 4pm. Like I said, the food was really nice but the service let it down slightly. Would be happy to return though as hoping the slower service is a one off

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank GoPlaces620458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

Service was really friendly, absolutely lovely staff. Sunday roast's were delicious, the beef was cooked perfectly and potatoes nice and crispy. Apple crumble was great as well. We highly recommend!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katiejune73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020

Do not be put off by the food van as they cook great food.
I will miss not eating in the very nice garden during the winter.
good staff and management.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank alanstrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George and Dragon Graveley also viewed

Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The George and Dragon Graveley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.