We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Bella Vita(Hitchin)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Firs Hotel(Hitchin)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Lodge(Hitchin)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Needham House Hotel(Little Wymondley)
US$62
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
111
136
109
42
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
136
109
42
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching inncar parkold buildingcentral locationlate at nightlots of charactertown centreincluding breakfaststayed for one nightcooked breakfastpleasant hotelcooked to perfectionthe pubwedding breakfastattending a weddingsunday lunchbar area
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016

The team go out their way to make you feel very welcome and have a flexible approach which is very appreciated. With a great range of rooms, lovely refreshments and meeting space they have all you need. If you are considering a stay in North Herts this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Thank you for your review, we do have several meeting rooms as well as the Courtyard being a great space to meet. Your comments are appreciated and will be shared with the Team.
Sharon and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had the worst stay of anywhere we have ever been. The room was dated, and filthy. The bathroom had patches of damp and mould around the drainage pipes, the toilet tilted to one side when it was sat on, the shower head had so much limescale around it I couldn't tell you when it was last cleaned, even if we were still willing to shower that idea went with the mould around the grouting of the tiles and only having one set of towels and an open bottle of body wash which was a 5th full. Around the sink the shelf had toothpaste smeared over it and glasses that were filthy, it was also so hot in there even if it was clean someone showering would certainly run the risk of passing out. The bedroom had very dated furniture, the wardrobe was positioned in a way that it looked like it would fall over and when opened it had an ironing board yet no iron, the high ceiling had cobwebs at the top, the walls had scuff marks, tea stains, hand prints, chipped paint everywhere. We wanted to go home but only didn't for feeling guilty on the couple that had booked the room for us and as the bed sheets seemed clean we settled in for the night. We had an wide option of tv channels yet only a small few actually worked due to poor antenna, the bed was comfy enough but very small(when I turned over in the night I pushed my wife out of bed). I slept well but my wife was woken up around 5am to the night staff dragging a cage of bedding across the cobbles in the courtyard. We booked an alarm call for 9am which we didn't receive therefore we awoke 20 mins later than we expected. We went to do a cup of tea for the pair of us but the spoons had grease marks smeared on both sides(bang went that idea). We were greeted for breakfast by staff staring at us until one waitress offered to show us to our table. She was very polite and helpful but unfortunately the breakfast was spoilt by the oil slick breakfast served. The lady on reception was very nice and helpful and gave this slum a redeeming quality.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyhaigh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Thank you for your review. This has now been dealt with by myself and our Guest Relations Team, I hope you are satisfied with the outcome.
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

It's true that the rooms could do with a bit of a refurb but the room we had was clean, had everything we needed, a comfy bed and a decent size. The breakfast was good and the cost was cheap. It's not a luxury stay but there's not much to complain about if you want to explore Hitchin, a beautiful market town.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lecw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Hitchin is indeed a lovely place to visit. Thank you for taking the time to post feedback for us.
Sharon and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Went to a wedding here lovely venue food was lovely and the service was good would highly recommend and the rooms didn't look to bad either .the courtyard garden was a lovely setting nice for a drink or a meal especially when the sun is shining couldn't fault one little bit of it .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Thank you for your review, it was a beautiful day, we're so glad you enjoyed the service and food.
Sharon and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

I stay at the hotel regularly and the food is excellent, plenty of choice. The staff are brilliant, very friendly and very polite, looking after every need.
The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment as they are the only negative about the stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service, food and Team.
Sharon and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews