We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay but will return :)”
Review of Hotel Elba Carlota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elba Carlota
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We have just enjoyed our first stay at this hotel & will return with the grandchildren! :)

Arrival at reception & we were greeted with a friendly smile, upgrade & a glass of bubbly. Our room was not quite ready so enjoyed another glass of bubbly on the terrace over looking the pool with glorius sunshine. The bar staff were friendly although at times more were needed.
We collected our key & found our room.....the key card did not work, but no problem a quick walk to reception & all sorted. Our room was plenty big enough with hanging space & drawers, tv, fridge & also kettle, cups & tea & coffee. Bathroom had large mirror & small magnified mirror(very useful).
The buffet restaurant was busy most evenings but we always found a seat. Food was good, we ate something different every night with speciality nights too.

Cannot really comment on evening entertainment as worn out from all the laying around in the sun.

Only problem was flies outside, not sure if anything can be done maybe spray like other places??

We travelled as a couple but also good for families

Fab holiday, would i return....... yes :)

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank 1066country1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear 1066country11963,

We would like to thank you for taking some minutes of your time to share your comments with others users of this website for travellers.

We are glad to read that on your first stay you had a good time with us and that you will return with your grandchildren, we are sure that they will have a lovely time while here.

As you mention, the staff of the hotel is very helpful and is the main asset the hotel could have to have our guests happy.
Hope you come back soon!
Best Regards,
Miguel Angel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 4,172 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Went for a week in mid August with the family for our holiday. Arrived quite late (just before 22:00) however the check in told us to go and get some food from the restaurant before it closed and they would look after the bags whilst we eat to make sure we weren't left hungry after travelling which was nice.

The room was what you'd expect, the bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom clean and tidy, although the shower guard didn't fit the bath properly so water did spill out onto the floor.

The pool area was great, as were the activities by Alex and the team who were very good at getting people involved. As other people have said, parasols around the pool were reserved from daft o clock in the morning, however sun loungers were readily available all day there wasn't a shortage of getting a lounger.

Great location for visiting the beach, which is very sandy and the kids could play without a problem. The waves were also great fun and the loungers on the beach were 3.50 Euros which is cheaper than I've found in the rest of Europe.

Little'un went to mini club when he felt like it and really enjoyed his time there, usually asking could he go back in the afternoon when he found out which activities they had planned.

All in all, enjoyed our time there and would have stayed longer if we could.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Baggy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Baggy88,

Thank you for all your comments and score.

It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay among us as we work in order to guarantee the best holidays as possible.

Looking forward to seeing you soon here with us to show you all the improvements in the Hotel and facilities, receive my best regards.

Miguel Angel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Booked very last minute (two days before) and stayed for 10 days. All of the hotel staff including the cleaners are amazingly friendly & helpful. The all-inclusive buffet restaurant, the food was so tasty and such a variety and unbelievable choice. Very clean hotel throughout. The lovely sandy beach is literally 5 metres from the back of the hotel doors. All in all would happily recommend this hotel to couples or families. Even the late check out option of keeping the room until 6pm for just €30 was a plus! If you like a gamble there is even a cheeky casino attached to front of hotel building!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Chris S,

Thank you very much for your comments and score.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us as it is always our main aim to ensure a nice time to all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Receive meanwhile our best regards.

Miguel Angel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived late due to delay at EMA and there was no-one to meet us for our transfer - beware of A2B transfers! It took us nearly 30 mins to find their little kiosk in the airport and we shared 52 seater with only one other family to Caleta....

On arrival at the Elba Carlota nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were swiftly checked in, our baggage stowed and then directed to the restaurant downstairs (22:00ish). Lovely warm welcome at the door and still plenty of good food and drink to choose from after our long day. Back at reception we were given very detailed instructions for our stay, a complimentary bottle of Cava and off we went to our room. Reception explained that we had a top floor room as requested and a pretty good sea view.

The room was easily found via the corridor and lift to the 5th floor (this was actually the 3rd floor as no 1st or 2nd are indicated!) Room 357 was spacious with a large double bed, well appointed bathroom and a little balcony with not a bad side view. The Atlantico Centre was right opposite. Plenty of storage space in the room so no clutter and we had the air con on for good measure!

Shower was really good but we had to wash the bath out first as it was very dirty around the plug hole area (like a dried puddle of dirty water). Decor looking a bit tired (broken bathroom tiles, missing fixtures, paint/paper peeled from walls) but a really comfortable room all said. The room card had a nasty habit of deactivating though even after being nowhere near a mobile!

Superb meal choices throughout our stay and always plenty and (much more!) to choose from. Everything was always so well presented, superbly cooked and the staff (with only a couple of exceptions) were excellent! Outside tables were difficult to get at any session but there was always options for inside seating. The Italian restaurant (Alicante) was tremendous and we had two excellent meals there - the young lady waiting on us was so warm and friendly that you felt you had known her for years! So efficient too as was her male colleague. Both went that extra mile to ensure you had a great experience.

Poolside was quite relaxing unless you got too near the pool between the baby one and the fountain pool - very busy and noisy! The large jacuzzi was great! Beds with parasols were always "booked" by the "hardcore, never go outside the hotel grounds" crew but we managed ok with an "if you can't beat them, join them" attitude! Quite funny watching some of them especially the fat Mo off eastenders lookalike who was "booking" two or three at a time for her group - every morning! Not sure if she even left the poolside all day as she seemed to be grazing all day from supplies brought out by the family!! Poolside bar and restaurant were excellent too and the BBQs were a lovely change. Alcoholic drinks (shorts and liquors) tasted a bit "watery" from the bars but otherwise ok.

The only real downside during our stay was the external entertainment that got shipped in - not a very high standard I'm afraid. We went elsewhere (Elba Sara, Sheriton and down town) for decent acts. Look out for Justin Matthews, a superb solo artist doing Motown, 70/80s and more! On the flip side the hotel entertainment staff worked their socks off day and night and put on some great shows.

Thanks to everyone at the Elba Carlota for a really relaxing, refreshing and lazy two weeks! Special mention for Youbi behind the lobby bar (most of the time!) - hates football but loves athletics so I named him Ronaldo or Mo Farra. We had real good banter and a fond farewell on the last night. Top bloke!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dongriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Dongriff,

Thank you very much for your comments and score.

We are pleased and proud to read your opinions about our hotel, the services and facilities and specially those about our staff as we try to give the best of us to ensure all our friends and guests the best stay as possible.

We have noted all your suggestions and comments and we will use them to improve our service and facilities.

Looking forward to seeing you again among us, receive my best regards.

Miguel Angel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I was there for 2 weeks all inclusive and I can assure you that the food was very disappointing, absolutely tasteless, how can that be for a 4 star hotel???
I even found a piece of broken glass in my salad, I know now that I should have taken a photo but the waitress just said she was sorry and took it away, I even complained to the manager and I all I had was sorry, sorry that should not happen!!!
It all looks amazing until you taste it, even the sweets were awful !!!!!!
Moving on to the pool area you need to be up before 07.00 a.m. if you want to have sun loungers and a parasol by the pool but it as it got so crowded I preferred the
beach, even paying 3,50 Euros per item was worth is as it was much more relaxing.
The entertainment was very dated so that was also disappointing as it tends to be more indoors than outdoors! The staff at the hotel are all very pleasant so that is the only good thing. I will not be going back there that's for sure!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Flavia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Flavia Z,

We would like to thank you for taking some minutes of your time to share your comments with others users of this website.

We are sorry to read your comments after the talk we had during your stay at the hotel. I do apologize once again for the issue with the salad as mentioned before at the hotel. We are sorry to hear about your point of view about the sweets through here as you didn't mention during your stay.

We are sorry that you won't come back to the hotel.
Best Regards,
Miguel Angel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigua
0.4 km away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,929 reviews
1.2 km away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.7 km away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.7 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
58.5 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
37.9 km away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elba Carlota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Carlota

Address: Carretera Jandia Km. 11 | Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#6 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: RM448 - RM1,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Carlota 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elba Carlota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Carlota Hotel
Elba Carlota Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing