We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$143
View deal
Booking.comUS$144
Hotels.comUS$143
eDreamsUS$144
PricelineUS$144
Orbitz.comUS$143
TravelocityUS$143
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
33
16
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
16
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the ground floor free coffee and tea rooms are small old town reception beds breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2020

The old town of Fredrikstad is quite unique in Norway. To stay over night here is just the right thing to do. The modern center is just a short and free ferry trip away. The rooms are small, but very nice decorated. This time we got a very good breakfast. Just around the corner is also the very atmospheric pub, Tamburen.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne Hansen, Eier at Gamlebyen Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad that you had a nice stay here in Gamlebyen and that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast. I am glad that you had the opportunity to visit Tamburen as well. The pub has been there for a long time and most of the guests know all about the Old town and have some good stories to tell:)
Thank you for your visit, I hope to see you again!

Best Regards

Marianne Hansen
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2020

We stayed one night at this hotel during Pentecost 2020 and were very pleased. The place oozes of the really old days with carefylly selected interiors, from the small details with crocheted tablecloths to fresh flowers in the vases, small flowered wallpaper on the walls and renovated furniture. The beds are super good! Nice breakfast in lovely atmosphere in a building near by, free coffee and tea in the reception area and owners who do a phenomenal job of making guests feel at home. This place is a must!

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ragge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2020 via mobile

I had the great pleasure of staying at Gamlebyen Hotell mid may. The hotel is located right in the middle of the unique Gamlebyen in Fredrikstad, and is only a short ferry-trip (2min) from the city center of Fredrikstad.

What strikes you the second you set your foot inside is that the service and staff at the hotel is of absolute world class. Truly kind, genuine and make you feel utmost welcome and appreciated as a guest. The standard and cleaning at the hotel is of the kind you would expect from top ranked hotels around the world.

Even with some imposed restrictions due to Covid-19, the breakfast was absolutely stellar. Brought to the table with everything one could wish for, and served with the biggest smiles which is everywhere to be seen to at Gamlebyen. This is a hotel I could strongly recommend and I would love to stay again, and suits for smaller groups, when in town for business or not least for a getaway with your closest one.

The warmest recommendations.

Date of stay: May 2020
1  Thank kce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

We had a night stay in this old fashioned but cute small hotel located in the old part of the city.
The rooms are small and there is not even space to put one luggage open on the floor. Noises from the other rooms can be heared clearly and the bathroom is also tiny. But what can i say, it is still a lovely and friendly hotel with a welcoming spirit. The decoration is a bit girly in my opinion but somehow cute.

The breakfast is good and the room where it is served impressive.

The staff was helpful and friendly.

Next time in Fredrikstad - i might stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank pphherrmann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamlebyenhotell, Eier at Gamlebyen Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2019

Hi.

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you find the hotel lovely and friendly. Some room are smaller than other, but every room have different decorations. So next time you will have a bigger room :-)

I´m also glad that you find our staff helpful end friendly and that you enjoyed the breakfast in our neighbor, Gamlebyen Gjestgiveri. We wish all of our guests to have av special stay here in Gamlebyen.

Hope to see you next time you are visiting Fredrikstad.

Best regards
Marianne Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019

This hotel is a true gem.

I really enjoyed this stay. The bed was super soft and I slept like a baby.

The resepsjonist was very nice, even though we were quite late checking in.

The breakfast was very nice. A big thumbs up for this adorable hotel

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamlebyenhotell, Eier at Gamlebyen Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019

Dear Jane.

Thank you for your very kind review. I´m glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Gamlebyen and that you slept like a baby. I´m also glad that the receptionist took good care of you when check in and that that you enjoyed the breakfast. Hope to see you next time when you visit Fredrikstad.

Best Regards

Marianne Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews