We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveller rating
554
232
114
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
554
232
114
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gallery restaurant afternoon tea garden room scones chatsworth estate four poster bed coach house fresh milk in the fridge the kitchen this lovely hotel superior room glass of champagne peak district underfloor heating visit chatsworth evening meal relaxing break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2022

After reading some reviews of the hotel, I booked with a little bit of trepidation. I was nervous that the property would feel dated and not worth the cost. However, we really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be well-maintained. The one suggestion I would give is that the hotel improve their mattresses. They are hard as a rock and uncomfortable. Fundamentally a hotel is a place to sleep and get rest and improving their mattresses would make a world of difference. (We were in room 18).

The view is fantastic and the grounds are fun to explore. We stayed on county fair weekend and really enjoyed it.

The other way they could distinguish themselves is by improving their breakfast. It was good but it was short-staffed and the food could've been higher quality. A stand out breakfast goes a long way in a hotel like this. We very much enjoyed dinner in the garden room.

While there isn't air conditioning, we left the windows open and were comfortable with a fan to circulate the air.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank LLMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 September 2022

Had a lovely room. Beds comfy and good linen.
Had 2 dinners in the garden room.
Food and service excellent.
Our waitress was exceptional and looked after us very well.
The only snag was the garden room itself.
Tired and a very strange room indeed.
Fans all over. Flimsy drapes, ill fitting windows.
The beautiful outlook is now obliterated by various tents etc.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2022

Beautiful place nice ambience

went a few weeks back.... absolutely sublime

BUT OH !!!!!!! today was SUMMAT NOT RITE
had pre booked , ladies on reception wonderful.... shown to our seat in the TOTALLY EMPTY restaurant

Waiter appeared attentive... ordered drinks .... NO draught beer....NO lemonade ... so out went the Shandy white wine spritzer

ordered same as last time.... starters came, disappointed with presentation, no garnish on one, the other chopped up as you would for a child.... waiter told... will tell Chef.... NOTHING

Wife had the FISH dish for main , me the Roast Pork

HMMMM !!! Roast pork served with Horseradish Gravy
The roasties done hours previously...... why the change in a short space of time

SUMMAT NOT RITE

Room tip: would like to afford to stay here
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianmJ6392FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 August 2022

My partner treated me to a night here for my birthday and it felt very special.

Immaculate throughout, the hotel exudes a sense of quality and class in a wonderful location.

We enjoyed views over open countryside towards Chatsworth House from our room, which can be walked to from the hotel.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was very good and was served in a light and airy room making the most of the views.

Aside from its proximity to Chatsworth House, the hotel is ideally located for long country walks and has more than one pub within easy walking distance.

A lovely hotel for discerning guests.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z3842EEadrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

The service is exceptional here. They say they want to look after you and they do. Your every need is anticipated without intrusion. The bedroom was perfectly appointed with generosity and attention to detail, e.g. a personal letter of welcome, fresh milk, reed diffuser.
Tasteful, comfortable, high quality. Air conditioning needed as the room was hot but everything else was faultless. Well done Steve and team - your hard work was appreciated and we would certainly visit again. Thank you.

Room tip: Chatsworth is very near and you can get tickets at hotel reception.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ClaireP104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews