We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly relaxing place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Baslow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Truly relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location was perfect for getting away from it all, with glorious views of the Baslow countryside. The cottage was beautifully decorated and equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We hope to be back sometime in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at the lodge for our 10 year wedding anniversary, and Sarah could not have been more helpful. We received a lot of info prior to arrival, such as directions, where to eat, taxi companies etc.. So no welcome lack needed. There was fresh milk on our arrival, as well as a bottle of prosecco to celebrate our anniversary, which considering we were only staying one night was an amazing touch!
She even offered to drop us off for a meal in the nearest town if we had a problem with a taxi, which we didn't.
The views are absolutely wonderful, and the lodge is so tastefully done up, it was a real treat. And the bed and linen was solo comfortable!
We ate at Charlie's Bistro, as the nearest pub The Robin Hood stops serving food at 8.30pm, and the food was out of this world.
All in all, a perfect night away! Thank you!
We'll be back...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
many thanks for your kind reveiw.
Charlie's Bistro is also one of my favourites!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2014JSP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location. Cute place. Did a lovely walk on the moors to the nearest pub which offers an amazing range of food.

Sarah was brilliant. Very personable. Even though she was away she still attended to all our queries very professionally & looked after us.

First time we've stayed anywhere without a Welcome / info pack & complimentary arrival milk ...... But place was fully equiped & Sarah provided a lot of info in advance plus it is nice to discover things ourselves & explore.

Would recommend and would stay again.

Neighbours dogs friendly and well behaved & added a homely feel although they did not come inside.

Thank you Sarah. We enjoyed our stay. :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I did have a full info pack at the Lodge but one of my previous guests decided it was so good they had to take it home with them! I will get on with making a new one.
I do put in welcome packs for stays of a week or more, but for shorter stays I provide tea, coffee, powdered milk, sugar, olive oil and other basics.
I really appreciate your feedback and will look at implementing the improvements suggested.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H
Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This converted barn is very well furnished and a lovely place to stay in. When we were there, swifts and housemartins flew all around the property, I really enjoyed watching them. The owner's dogs are very friendly and got on well with my greyhound. It was nice being able to walk my dog in the grounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open location and the high quality of the furnishings
Liked least: My dog had a slight problem with the un-carpeted stairs, he found them rather slippery. We used the stone stairs on the outside of the barn.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you very much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBH0369
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aptly named little gem!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a beauty! Absolutely spotless, fantastic conversion of an old barn to the very highest standard. In the heat of summer with the bedroom windows open, expect to hear some traffic overnight but the upside certainly outweighs this. I think the negative comment left previously is rather harsh as the owner has clearly prepared the property to an exceptionally high and stylish standard but any sympathetic conversion of an old building will be determined by the original structure of the building - a small price to pay for character. However, I would agree that an additional hand towel per person would be ideal!
We will definitely return, especially as our lab enjoyed it as much as we did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing