We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Lastminute "mystery room".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broadbeach Savannah Resort
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Usually the Lastminute mystery rooms are really good but this one was a dud (and an expensive one at that). The room was really badly maintained with mould evident, holes in the curtain, gouges carved into the bedside furniture and a "musty" smell. It was a dingy, dirty and dark with no view and not really poolside either (as promised). Thankfully I only booked one night as I was trying to book the Meriton next door but they had nothing on the first night of our Gold Coast stay. I felt ripped off to be honest as this was the mystery 4star booking with a "fabulous" private balcony. This could not be further from the truth - it was not fabulous (tiny , dirty) and in no way private (2nd floor, exposed to all and sundry including people walking past in the street and the pub next door). Also it was meant to be a spa room but you wouldn't use the spa if they paid you. It was a small bath with jets really and lots of mould around.
Also - the toilet had NOT been cleaned probably and one of the towels was dirty.
Not happy with this one!
Only good point - the lady at reception was nice and Lastminute are trying to arrange compensation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

This place looks nothing like the pictures on the website. It is old and rundown and in desperate need of a make over! The service was extremely poor. The phone in our room didn't work and the receptionist said she would get someone to have a look at it yet never did, even after numerous reminders. We also hired a DVD player two nights and both nights it failed to work. The second night we called an after hours number and they said the manager would bring another one up. After an hour of waiting we called again only to have them say they couldn't find one - clearly they had no intention of letting us know! I agree with everyone else about the terrible parking! The first in best dressed policy is rediculous! There should be an allocated park per unit! I would not recommend this place at all nor would I stay here again! Vent over!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The room was not that large, smaller than expected with no real view. Bed in the main room was very large and comfortable. Self-contained with all of the essentials. I was a little disappointed in the view, i.e. could not see any of the ocean I was hoping to see as we were on the 3rd floor and dont believe the room was anywhere near what we paid for it, though we did stay for only one night which happened to be New Years Eve so not sure what usual prices are. The halls are very dark and the lifs and the halls could do with a bit of a make-over. Parking is not great at all with very limited spaces with no area to turn around.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors would undoubtedly have a much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Wanted to spend a little time in Broadbeach without rushing back to our base. This place fitted the bill nicely. very handy for The beach, The Restaurants and the Shopping Mall. Although ours was just an overnight stay, we found it comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Nice room with kitchen and lounge area . Bedroom can be shut off with mobile shutters, nice pool area, buffet breakfast with plenty to choose on, however no real coffe availiable, just instant coffe. room and complex very clean. Room was ready well before stated time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing east away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schrodters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.1 km away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#7 of 7 in Broadbeach
214 reviews
0.1 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
3.3 km away
The Island Boutique Hotel
The Island Boutique Hotel
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.3 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,349 reviews
1.4 km away
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadbeach Savannah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadbeach Savannah Resort

Address: Goonamurra 46 Surf Pde, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Savannah)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range: RM 267 - RM 1,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadbeach Savannah Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Resort is located at the heart of Broadbeach, the cosmopolitan hub of Queensland's fabled Gold Coast. It is perfectly positioned, and within a short walk are the casino, two big shopping centres, the restaurants and cafes of Broadbeach, and not forgetting one of the Gold Coasts most superb stretches of beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Broadbeach Savannah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadbeach Savannah Hotel Broadbeach
Savannah Hotel Broadbeach
Savannah Resort Broadbeach
Broadbeach Savannah Resort Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing