We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy little hotel”
Review of Hotel Makarios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Makarios
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Quite small hotel far from everything, expensive. We had a good time here last summer, and the food was really good with the unlimited wine from tap being my favorite part
When we arrived we got a very small room that wasn't like the photos at all. We had paid for all inclusive but regretted, as the breakfast was unsatisfactory, whilst the dinner and lunch was more interesting. One of the waitresses always greeted my boyfriend very kindly, introducing the dishes to him one by one, but gave me a horrible look and did not want to serve me.
The door to the room we were originally given didn't lock, and there was barely a mattress or covers. And for $150 per night! Luckily we were "upgraded" after presenting our confusion to the kind manager. He helped us with atv rental, sightseeing, and such, but was very suggestive and opinionated on when we should do things and how. Still appreciated his help and I recommend the hotel for its dinner and manager.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Makarios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Had read some mix reviews about this place before booking, so was a little unsure what to expect. Thankfully those were completely wrong, as I have found the place to be great. The staff are so helpful and the gentleman who runs the desk can answer any questions you have. The bar staff are very friendly and are constantly cleaning. The buffet is good and better than I expected for a 3 star. Overall I am glad i have stayed and would recommend again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Creevy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Our second year visiting Santorini and Hotel Makarios. Pedros the manager and all the staff are very friendly.
Pedros goes out of his way to help you with advice from hiring a car/quadbike to arranging and booking excursions for you.

We found the food to be great. Mikoulees the chef (hope its spelled right) served up some great food and catered well for my vegetarian status.
The bar staff Nassos, Constantina and Calig were awesome and very friendly.
The only criticism I would have is the seating area could have been better ventilated.

The rooms are very clean and well maintained.

The pool area was very clean and well presented with a Jacuzzi, small pool for infants I guess and the main pool.

The hotel is quite close to the runway but this does not alter the fact that surrounding scenery is simply put, quite stunning. Kamari main strip is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel which offers an abundance of taverna's and lovely beach should you decide to go walk about. The Island is volcanic so glorious white sand is not what you will get
The sunbeds are linked to the taverna's and free, obviously, if you order drinks and food with them.
I would recommend hiring a vehicle as the Island is nice and small and a visit to the beautifully picturesque Fira and Oia pronounced Eeea to overlook the Caldera while supping an ice cold Alfa (Greek Beer) or a Greek coffee is simply one of those cathartic moments in life. Photographs do not do the view justice.

You will not be disappointed. Hope this has helped.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank Jamstev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Do not believe any of the reviews that say the food is good. IT IS INEDIBLE!! We are not picky eaters atall but what they served up at the hotel was absolutely disgusting.

We went all inclusive for a week which was really expensive, but we only ate at the hotel on the evening we arrived ( we just arrived in the country after a 10 hour journey). I cannot describe to you just how disgusting the "food" was. The waiter had to actually explain what some of the food was because it was impossible to work it out, as in, it doesn't look like anything you would want to put in your mouth.

We ate out every day (for a week) for lunch and dinner and sometimes breakfast if we were up early enough as the standard of food was so bad.
I've been to Greece before( kos) and the food was delicious and fresh. I've also eaten out in the UK in Greek restaurants where the food is also lovely, so it's not a case of we just didn't like the food, it's a case of the chef not knowing how to cook or use fresh ingredients or be bothered to think of a decent menu to serve the guests.
day!


The " all inclusive" only runs from 10-10 and only drinks included are, cold red wine,white wine, 1 type of beer which is on tap and tastes like shandy,ouzo and raki. Anything else like local spirits ect you have to pay for. I have had plenty of experience when it come to all inclusive and was really surprised that no other spirits were included as normally,local spirits and fruit juices are included.

The only snacks they do is a cheese/ham toasty and ice cream that you can only have at specific times. THAT IS IT!

The breakfast is the only meal that we ate there really other than a couple of days when we ate out for breakfast too. It's very very basic so not a proper continental that you expect. The only edible thing was the cheese slices and the bread( which was dry) which you toasted yourself. On the rare occasion which they had mini croissants they were tasty but only did them twice in the whole 7 days we were there.

The "orange juice" is from a machine and is a mix of water and orange concentrate which when the machine has finished,tastes like watered down still orange Fanta with extra chemicals.
The pool is a good size,but absolutely freezing as it wasn't heated atall, even though the weather was warm 28-32 degrees whilst we were there, trying to get into an ice cold pool is not pleasant.

We spent our first day by the pool at the hotel but after that, we went down to the beach everyday. The sun beds around the pool are really uncomfortable and have no pads to go on the top of them,both myself and my partner had such bad backs after just 1 day!

The hotel itself is less than 10 minutes transfer from the airport so you have planes flying low over the hotel from 06:45am until after 10/11pm at night which doesn't make for a relaxing stay atall.

The room was basic with hard and uncomfortable beds but bathroom was newly renovated with big shower and always had hot water. Our towels were changed every day and bed was straightened but sheets weren't changed atall during our week long stay.

The owner was friendly and helpful but it says a lot when even the owner doesn't eat at the hotel,He told us about a restaurant he eats at every day which we went too on his recommendation. The food was better than the hotel but nothing special or tasty.

All in all a very disappointing stay in Santorini and the hotel was just depressing. Kamari is not the area you should go to in santorini if you want a Romantic and memorable holiday. Try akatori or oia which are over the other side of the island.

We paid such a lot of money and expected a really lovely and relaxing holiday before our baby arrived but it just wasn't as it was sold to us so feel very cheated which is a shame.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beckylac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Stay away from this so called 'all inclusive' hotel. This term must have a different meaning in Greece from what I'm used to: at Makarios it means you are allowed to come get you buffet style meal 3 times a day but there is no food available outside the serving hours and you are not allowed to take ANY fountain drinks away with you to the room - I was yelled at when I tried to fill my bottle with a soda water. To add the insult to the injury, during the lunch time when I wanted to put my bread in a readily available toaster sitting on the counter, the busboy approached me and I was told the toaster is only for breakfast than proceeded to turn off the toaster that I just turned on! I've never experienced anything so rude!!! The attitude of some staff (I'd like to give them the benefit of doubt that not all) is that the tourist are pests merely tolerated and need to be subjected to arbitrary rules that are miles away from anything resembling hospitality. Not to mention they don't go out of their way for you...due to couple of all day trips we missed several meals. Our guide told us that its common for all 'all inclusive' hotels here to pack a simple lunch (sandwich etc) for the guests on day trips. Not Makarios. Speaking of food: it's a bit bland and the selection is not very large so it's easy to spot food items from previous day recycled into the next day's 'culinary creations'.
On the positive side, this hotel has nicely renovated bathrooms though the rooms are a bit bare and the cleaning staff does a fantastic job keeping your room clean daily. Pool is also larger than most hotel pools I've seen on the island.
As someone who spent in the hospitality industry nearly a decade, I can appreciate how hard it is to deal with hoards of tourists day in and day out during the season. I can get over the bland food and arbitrary rules, but I can't get over the rude attitude. Needless to say: I do not recommend you stay in this hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Klara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.3 km away
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
4.3 km away
Maistros Village
Maistros Village
#11 of 15 in Karteradhos
120 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Zephyros
Hotel Zephyros
#30 of 75 in Kamari
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Anemos Beach Lounge Hotel
Anemos Beach Lounge Hotel
#10 of 11 in Perivolos
258 reviews
0.3 km away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.4 km away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kamari
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Makarios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Makarios

Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range: RM462 - RM949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Makarios 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing the east and hardly 150 meters from the sea at the village Kamari, hotel Makarios welcomes you with all the modern comforts. Enjoy moments of relaxation drinking cocktails in our comfortable swimming-pool or Jacuzzi and have fun playing tennis or Ping-Pong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Makarios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makarios Hotel Kamari
Hotel Makarios Kamari, Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing