We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Honeymoon short trip.”
Review of Horizons Motel

Horizons Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horizons Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

The place is near to sea world so very easy for us to travel up and down gold coast from there. The room condition is ok . Just the tea pot rusted. Hope next time replace a new one for our next visit.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Heng D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Was an amazing stay! Room was lovely and the owner was even lovelier! The pool was very nice and we Felt really welcome, it was so close to the beach and shops! Would defiantly stay again, for another occasion or even just for a little holiday.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Savannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

A clean tidy place, with friendly owners that will do anything for you! Tucked back in, it was relatively quiet and about 2 blocks from the beach. We rented bikes to get around to see the beaches. Excellent way to see the gold coast!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My partner and I stayed at Horizons for one night after booking through their website (which was cheaper than any other offers online).

The receptionist was incredibly friendly; the room was much, much larger than we expected. Recently renovated, modern and clean. It's a short walk to the beach and cafes, a 20 minute bus ride to Surfers Paradise.

We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

How we made our reservation:
We made our booking through the Wotif website.

On arrival at the motel reception:
When we arrived this motel in the mid afternoon we had trouble raising any reception staff to check us in. After some time we were met by the owners son who had no idea at all as to where our booking was, We told the son that we had pre-booked through Wotif and that we had paid for our one night stay. He finally had to call his mother (the owner, who was not on site but away at the rubbish dump) and asked about our booking. Apparently she also had no idea that we had booked in, her lack of knowledge about our booking was confirmed when we checked the Reservation book and noted that our name was not recorded in it. She eventually told her son to give us room # 6, which was a one bedroom family unit, with a small kitchen.

Our unit: was very tired in appearance.
Kitchen/lounge area:Two lights in this area did not work and the Futon sofa/bed, she (the owner) should have taken it with her to the rubbish dump. The windows in this area of the unit need a good clean. One insect screen had clear tape over a holed area. Clean kitchen but very old fashioned sink and cupboard area. The grouting is in need of cleaning cleaned.

Bedroom:
Water stained bedroom door. Dust between the door and the door's hinges. Quite a dark room, unless the light is turn on. One of the bedside light did not work. The grouting is in need of cleaning.
The bathroom/shower area, the grouting is in need of cleaning. The towels and not of a good quality and should be replaced.
The bed is not of a good quality.

Overall:
floors throughout the unit always felt sticky under foot. Unit needs a total repaint and overhaul including the replacing of all the roll down blinds and the futon. The grouting over the entire unit is in need of be thoroughly cleaned.Owner needs to have a reliable single booking system and she should not try to run a double system as this has proved that it does NOT work!.

We we recommend this motel to others? on our experience, No.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hinterlandboyz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
2.9 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
9.2 km away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
132 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,272 reviews
5.9 km away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,793 reviews
6.7 km away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizons Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizons Motel

Address: Van Dieman Motel 2267 Gold Coast Hwy, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: RM 247 - RM 631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horizons Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Horizons Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizons Motel Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing