We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Surf Street Motel(Mermaid Beach)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spindrift On The Beach(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camden Motor Inn(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Beach Resort(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Sands Resort(Mermaid Beach)
US$120
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Blue Motel(Mermaid Beach)
US$86
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Classic Motel(Mermaid Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
25
20
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
20
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Was an amazing stay! Room was lovely and the owner was even lovelier! The pool was very nice and we Felt really welcome, it was so close to the beach and shops! Would defiantly stay again, for another occasion or even just for a little holiday.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Savannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

A clean tidy place, with friendly owners that will do anything for you! Tucked back in, it was relatively quiet and about 2 blocks from the beach. We rented bikes to get around to see the beaches. Excellent way to see the gold coast!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My partner and I stayed at Horizons for one night after booking through their website (which was cheaper than any other offers online).

The receptionist was incredibly friendly; the room was much, much larger than we expected. Recently renovated, modern and clean. It's a short walk to the beach and cafes, a 20 minute bus ride to Surfers Paradise.

We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

How we made our reservation:
We made our booking through the Wotif website.

On arrival at the motel reception:
When we arrived this motel in the mid afternoon we had trouble raising any reception staff to check us in. After some time we were met by the owners son who had no idea at all as to where our booking was, We told the son that we had pre-booked through Wotif and that we had paid for our one night stay. He finally had to call his mother (the owner, who was not on site but away at the rubbish dump) and asked about our booking. Apparently she also had no idea that we had booked in, her lack of knowledge about our booking was confirmed when we checked the Reservation book and noted that our name was not recorded in it. She eventually told her son to give us room # 6, which was a one bedroom family unit, with a small kitchen.

Our unit: was very tired in appearance.
Kitchen/lounge area:Two lights in this area did not work and the Futon sofa/bed, she (the owner) should have taken it with her to the rubbish dump. The windows in this area of the unit need a good clean. One insect screen had clear tape over a holed area. Clean kitchen but very old fashioned sink and cupboard area. The grouting is in need of cleaning cleaned.

Bedroom:
Water stained bedroom door. Dust between the door and the door's hinges. Quite a dark room, unless the light is turn on. One of the bedside light did not work. The grouting is in need of cleaning.
The bathroom/shower area, the grouting is in need of cleaning. The towels and not of a good quality and should be replaced.
The bed is not of a good quality.

Overall:
floors throughout the unit always felt sticky under foot. Unit needs a total repaint and overhaul including the replacing of all the roll down blinds and the futon. The grouting over the entire unit is in need of be thoroughly cleaned.Owner needs to have a reliable single booking system and she should not try to run a double system as this has proved that it does NOT work!.

We we recommend this motel to others? on our experience, No.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hinterlandboyz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The room is very basic but it not a problem if you only need a bed. The important factors are that the rooms are clean, comfortable bed, quiet and a good location. Within two blocks there are a number of restaurants, bars and a convenient store.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews