We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind the old school QLD roadsite motel exterior are well-maintained, clean, modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2017

I stayed here for one night when a work project ran over time.

The good things other reviewers have said about this property are true - the rooms are super clean, well maintained and fresh, the southern-most terminus of the light rail and a major city bus stop is a block away, and it's walking distance to the beach, the convention centre, and Gold Coast's best shopping mall, Pacific Fair.

This hotel is of the old-school roadside motel variety that was the standard accommodation for road trips when I was growing up 40 years ago. You know the type - where you pull up in your car directly outside your ground floor room, or near the stairway to your second floor room, with the room door opening to the outside.

But open the door, and you are greeted not by furniture and fittings from the 1970's as so often found in similar-looking facilities even today, but by furniture manufactured in the 21st century, accented by white sheets on the bed, a dark maroon (it IS QLD after all!) bed spread or perhaps just an accent piece at the foot of the bed (I didn't have a need for it, so I didn't look too closely) that didn't say "I've been here since 2007", and tasteful neutral-coloured towels. The bathroom was pristinely clean and of modern design as well.

Be aware, however, that the rooms are smaller than most motel type rooms. The room I was in, with one queen bed, would suit solo travellers or a couple. There are apparently other rooms with 2 singles, and possibly other rooms with a connecting door between rooms.

I have allergies, and I did not wake up in the morning with a sore throat or runny nose, which tells me that the room was as clean as it looked. They obviously enforce their no smoking policy, and keep up with dusting. Because I explained I'm allergic to tobacco smoke and I'd seen a review saying that some people had been affected by people smoking outside their window (there are tables and ashcups outside every room as there often are at motel properties), the manager put me above the ground floor where there were fewer people staying, to minimise the likelihood of any issues. My only suggestion for improvement might be to make the ashcups optional, and to hand them out on check-in to those who wish to use them, so that there isn't an invitation to smoke outside the rooms of non-smokers.

The manager on duty was pleasant and professional, and offered to hold my luggage in the morning until I left for the airport. As it turned out, I left early due to the rain and didn't not need to avail myself of this service.

There were spare power points that didn't require a scavenger hunt to locate, and all lighting fixtures and the TV/Foxtel worked fine.

A reliably good Thai restaurant is across the street (Bangkok Thai), there are other restaurants in the area and at Pacific Fair, and the hustle and bustle of the Surfers scene a tram ride away.

The location is a good 15-minute walk to the convention centre, or a 1-stop journey on the light rail.

As with any similar motel on the Gold Coast Highway, which is the main north/south road near the coast, there is road noise. However, since I live on the main road of my suburb, I tuned it out and slept just fine. if you are very sensitive to road noise, you might look for a property that is not directly on the Gold Coast Highway.

If you're in the area for just a couple days and will primarily be out and about at the beach or a conference, and want a no-nonsense place to sleep and watch a bit of tele in the evening, that is a bit removed from the most touristy part of Surfers, this motel is a solid value option due to convenience to the beach and the convention centre, and the high standards for upkeep set by management. I would not hesitate to book here in the future.

Room Tip: As always with motels with outside entry, the upstairs rooms are quieter and less subject to headlig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacNWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicana m, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tropicana Motel.
We are so pleased that you joyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely comments
Hope to see you in the future.
Hope it is not raining on your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights while attending Blues on Broadbeach. The motel is in a great location - directly opposite Pacific Fair shopping center and just on a kilometer from central Broadbeach. The rooms are spotlessly clean with a lovely modern bathroom. Also has all usual motel appliances - microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge etc not to mention a very large wall mounted TV and free WIFI. Our only problem was the bed - big cavity on one side and overall kind of hard. Our mistake was not to bring it to the owners attention till we were leaving - they would have changed rooms for us after the first night! Would also add that the owners are very friendly and welcoming

Room Tip: We weren't aware of any road noise whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zannagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicana m, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for reviewing tropicana motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We only had one night at the Tropicana but the whole experience was positive. The owners were very lovely, approachable people who were happy to answer any questions. Check in is at 12pm which was suitable for us and they even let us keep our car in the car park well after check out time to allow us to explore the area on foot. Great location, a very short walk to Pacific Fair.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katestanfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicana m, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us , and thank you for your comments
see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

As always clean comfortable close to entertainment shopping food outlets etc. Aleays stay here. Very friendly. Good value for.money. Has large television, Foxtel, microwave, toaster, cutlery and crockery.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FREDOCAZZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us , so pleased you enjoy stay with us at the Tropicana Motel
See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Looking to get away from the crowds, Mermaid Beach is the place. Briefly, it is still part of the Gold Coast, just farther south. The skyscrapers of Surfers Paridise are visible, but barely in walking distance. Pros: Not as many people, small town feel and more "laid back".  Cons: A bit harder to get to if your using Public transportation. Not as many dining options in one place, nor as much nite life.  Now for the hotel. Location is great. You can walk to Grocery store, mall, a few great dining places, and a fun  Mini Golf place. Looks a bit dated on the outside but is clean and tidy inside. Certainly not big, but for the price it can't be beat. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool is small but clean, though not very private. Maybe not the place for a weeks stay, because of the lack of facilities on site, no breakfast or free laundry, limited vending options.......But great for a few nites if it doesn't have to be fancy. We had absolutlely no complaints. There is a large bus station/transfer across the street if you need it. We caught a bus here to connect with the Airtrain, which takes you to the Brisbane Airport. Very possible, only one bus, (no transfer) to the nearest Airtrain, then take train to correct terminal. total trip time around 2 hours to international terminal, Brisbane Airport

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 km away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
258 reviews
0.7 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.6 km away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#5 of 7 in Broadbeach
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,909 reviews
2.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,722 reviews
0.7 km away
The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach

Address: 2595 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: RM306 - RM523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Motel is Completely Refurbished,All rooms have a Microwave,Toaster,Tea,Coffee facilities,Reverse Cycle Air-con.Across the Highway from Pacific Fair Shopping Centre,Short walk to Jupiters Casino,Dracula`s,Convention Centre,Light Rail and Bus terminal, Broadbeach Shopping and Dining Centre. FOXTEL available FREE in all rooms with a wide screen TV. Beach is 200metres walk away. WIFI free for first 300mb. Laundry service available - pls check with Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing