We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Redgarlic Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Redgarlic Indian Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Discover the Indian Culinary Heritage
Reviewed 6 November 2016

First time here. What a pleasant surprise. Fabulous value. $30 meal deal. Even too much food for us. We received Onion Bahji. poppadoms, Naan bread, 2 curries and rice. Oh and then desert. Gorgeous staff and great service.
We will be back.
We did ask for 'hot' as on the Gold Coast when we usually order hot it is mild. BUt this time it was HOT HOT. So we will go with medium next time.
Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank didee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Came across this place while looking for somewhere casual. arrived at 6.20pm there were 2 other booths occupied. seated by a very friendly waitress and then it turned bad. We waited 10 mins for menus. 2 mins to look at them. I clarified if the dishes were nut free for obvious reasons as per the takeaway menu suggested. clarified which term defined as mild or medium...After ordering I was assured that medium was not hot..I probably need to wear that one shouldve known better,it's not my first meal out. Then we wait...
7.03pm not so much as a glass of water offered..Our drinks came out at about 7.20pm..Note by this stage we've been here for an hour..seriously contemplating leaving...
Finally dinner arrives. The waiter puts the dishes on 2 other tables and walks past us twice..finally sets them down and says "must be yours" and stands back..The waitress comes and ushers him away...she apologized for the wait ..we still don't have any rice..it comes 5 mins later..dish it up and my husband dishes his then he says to me be careful the rice has nuts in it!!..are you serious. Not only was my meal HOT and not mild I ended up having an allergic reaction which took me an hour to get under control. However the portion size was good and had flavor. The nan bread was nice..it's reasonably priced but doesn't counter the long wait when they weren't busy and the endless errors

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Krislatimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

we just wanted a quick meal .and this was great right on the marine parade . we had the special .wow it was tasty and plenty . we will be going back there for sure

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Firstly, I find it very hard to believe some reviews when a series of them are from one reviewer with one review giving a glowing review after a series of less than favourable reviews from some seasoned reviewers. Clearly trying to swamp the bad reviews with fake good ones.

We were staying at the Grand and wanted something different. So we went to Redgarlic at the food hall under Aqua building. There are seats inside or you can seat outside on the cheap plastic chairs where its fairly noisy. We had the butter chicken and rice with a Naan bread. The chicken was pretty bland with not much flavour yet portion size was ok to share and rice and bread tasty.

It was ok for something different but don't expect high end dining, its basically noisy food hall or cramped dark tables within.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We visited this restaurant, in Labrador, which is surrounded by other restaurants, all quite empty for a Saturday night. We had a table for five. We ordered three entrees to share, and two main meals and two steamed rice. (4 women, 1 man)
We were glad we held back. The serves were quite large for Indian food, which normally has smaller bowls. The entrees of fish pakoras and gigantic samosas were delicious, although we were a little disappointed they had run our of chicken samosas.
The mains were tasty, and as mentioned large serves.
Service was a little slow waiting for menus, and drinks, however, for the price for approximately $20 per person we were not complaining.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Phuketwergoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Redgarlic Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Runaway Bay, Gold Coast
 
Labrador, Gold Coast
Labrador, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing