We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
26
12
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
12
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool games room bbq area penthouse suite the gold coast minute walk convenience store over christmas fantastic views great family leslie spa tv ball beach lap balconies
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

Great beach location but disappointing accommodation. We travel a lot for business and the Pelican Sands only ticked a few boxes and not the important ones for us. Location for proximity to the airport and right on the beach was excellent. Our apartment was older style, dirty and run down. The wind whistled all night through gaps in window seals and the beds were incredibly old and uncomfortable. Not sure if different ownership of the apartments would provide a different experience but 501 could do with some tlc. The view was spectacular and management friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank 401tracye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelicans2, Manager at Pelican Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

We would have appreciated your response come direct to management so that we may rectify any problems-we don't know if you don't tell us!
We feel you certainly get excellent 'Value for money" at The Absolute beachfront apartments. We don't claim to be a 5 star new resort-nor do we charge like them.
Enjoy your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

I found this a great place to relax, with all the facilities to keep kids happy, a quiet beach and roomy apartments at a great price. Great views , big balcony, huge lap pool and a very well maintained BBQ area almost on the beach. Little store just 100m away for take aways and groceries. B back.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank markusm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2015

One of the best positions on the Gold Coast. We stayed in unit 802 on the 8th floor in a two bedroom unit. The views from all rooms were to die for. The proximity to the beach, well it's almost on the beach!! The recently renovated unit was very comfortable with all the mod cons. The managers are very friendly and helpful. The pool and BBQ area was an extra bonus and always kept very clean. There is a bus directly outside the property that will take you north or south and it comes about every five minutes. The airport is a $10 cab ride away. The local shops are a ten minute walk and the best fish and chips/ hamburger cafe is next door. No need to hire a car! Am planning on coming back to have a front row seat to watch the whales swim by!

Room Tip: The middle units are very cool, quite and fantastic views from both bedrooms.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Reeffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We stayed in the resort for one week from just after Christmas 2014 until January the 3rd 2015. We were in unit 501 which is a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit situated on the 5th floor. The unit has expansive beautiful views North to Surfers Paradise and a partial view South to Coolangatta. From the back balconies the Gold Coast hinterland is visible. Two outdoor chairs and a coffee table are available on the front balcony and these are in average condition and offer average comfort. Complex is absolute beachfront so it is a five second walk and you are on the beach. Great public transport runs close by also with a brilliant local bus service.

The unit is spacious and in fairly good condition although the kitchen in the not to distant future may need a refurbish. The unit has one split system air conditioner which does a good job of cooling the living area but does not help you in either of the bedrooms so these can get quite hot and stuffy in summertime although there are some nice breezes that can at times come through the unit. Some corrosion on door locks made locking the doors a bit difficult but this is a problem caused by the salt air and spray. The unit is in close proximity to the Coolangatta airport and planes can be noisy although you tend to blank them out after a while. Between about 11pm and 6am there is hardly any aircraft noise. We found the unit to be unclean when we arrived. The dishwasher had pieces of fish caught in the filter and these were quite old and smelly so I cleaned it out and the problem was solved. Most of the crockery and cutlery in the unit had to be rewashed by us before using it as it was covered in a layer of oil or grease so I don't think it was washed up well by a previous user. When we sat on one of the lounges to watch TV there was a lump under the cushion and when we looked there was a broken kids plastic slinky under the cushion along with food crumbs etc so to us this would indicate that more care needs to be taken by the housekeeping staff when cleaning up between customers.

Patrolled high quality swimming beaches are about 500 metres away in both directions. The resort has great facilities with a great outdoor pool and BBQ area plus inside at basement level is a spa, plunge pool, sauna, games room and gym and you have secure undercover parking for one vehicle per unit. Each floor is serviced by a speedy lift. Good laundry facilities are in the second bathroom of the unit. There is a spa bath tub in the ensuite bathroom.

The managers are lovely folk who look after the place really well and they will go out of their way to help you out. I am sure on reading this that they will make note of the issues I have included.

Price is average for this area and a little bit cheaper than the local competition but this will vary depending on what season you are going to be staying there.

Shops are close by at Tugun itself and the larger stores like Kmart etc are close also at Ellanora and or Coolangatta/Tweed Heads.

So in conclusion this is a good review with a couple of areas that need some improvement, with the good outweighing the bad. That said I would not accept the cleanliness issues again so I would hope these are resolved for future visitors. This is a lovely section of the Gold Coast and one we have been staying at for over 30 years now. I am sure you will have a good holiday.

Room Tip: All units have great beach views but units on level 1 and 2 may receive a bit of noise from the ground level pool and BBQ area.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

These Apartments are fantastic views are to die for right on the beach , lovely quiet area set a couple of miles from the New South Wales border , there is an airport opposite so transport links are brilliant , the BBQ night was yummy "chuck another snag on the Barbie for me " Staff were really friendly and I can thoroughly recommend the place next door sells the most wonderful burgers with beetroot on them , Apartment is ideally placed for all the attractions that Queensland has to offer not to mention the weather . We will definitely return . Thanks Pelican Sands for a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: sea view apartments are fab
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KoolaHula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews