We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
US$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$252
US$204
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$419
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$406
US$287
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (5,851)
Filter reviews
5,851 results
Traveller rating
4,775
703
252
77
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,775
703
252
77
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach butleroutdoor showercasitas sectionhealth barpersonal conciergesanta fe grillcandlelight dinner on the beachour honeymoonroom servicegourmet inclusivebeach bum vacationsbellini barwine pairingartificial reefcasita suitepool bartenderbeach beds
Filter
Updating list...
5,427 - 5,432 of 5,851 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2011

It was such a shame as this was our Honeymoon and we had done alot of research on this Hotel. Yes !!! it was paradise but then any caribbean holiday is paradise. We had paid £5.500 for what we thought would be quite enough to get pure perfection.
We booked through First Choice Holidays 14 mths in advance so you would expect that was enough time for the hotel to get things correct. When you book a Casita that is classed as an upgrade so you get a private taxi instead of waiting for a coach, no problems there until we arrived at the Hotel !!! as we were staying in a Casita you should be taken straight to the sofa's sat down & given a glass of Champagne, this was not so as i had to tell the porter that we were in Casita. We were then taken to the sofa area & given the Champagne while our booking in was taken care of, all other guests not in Casita's have to queue to check in.
After about 5 mins we were taken to our indivisial Casita Conciege Reception , this is where it started to go very wrong!!! no one mentioned that it was our Honeymoon so we did , the conciege seemed stunned but asked for the marraige cert which we handed over to be photo copied.
When you book a honeymoon you should get your room decorated , turn down bed,etc plus Romantic Dinner on the Beach. Well forget all that we got none!!!
So off to the Conciege we went , again they looked stunned that none of this had been done and we where promised a special treat for the big mistake that they had made.
Well at the end of our 2 weeks we just laughed it all off because we just made the most of what they tried to do which was very hit & miss. The First Choice REP tried his best to put things right but we where told off by the Conciege for reporting our problems to our Rep.
On a plus the food was fantastic , the setting heaven, swimming pools great, staff very happy & ready to help, but don't expect 5 star treatment.!!!!!!!

Room Tip: No privacy with swim up room's,but cost more.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shellshock04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Just came back from this resort. We spent 3 nights and basically 3.5 days. The weather was NOT good at all, it rained everyday and for 2 of the days the sun didn't come out at all!! But we can't blame the resort for that but if you are spending that much money maybe wait until later in the year to go when the rainy season ends. So the service was pretty good. The personal concierge Ana was really nice, all the bellboys and cleaning girls were very nice, and same the bartenders. The service at the restaurants was never bad, but some servers were much more attentive, talkative and seemed generally happy to be there than others. However, we never had any bad service. The room was great, we had a second level infinity pool casita. The outdoor shower was the best, the infinity pool was cleaned regularly, the view of the Caribean sea was amazing. The bed was comfortable, we didnt use the jacuzzi but it seemed pretty nice. The location is kind of out of hte way from stuff, so if you want to go siteseeing you need to pay big money for it, apparently there aren't any buses off hte main road either (which i personally found a bit questionable). The restaurants are All good. We had D'Italia La Fondue and Cocotal for our dinners and I really enjoyed La Fondue. There could have been mroe variety in the food though considering this place is 5 star and eveyrthing is REALLY salted up. However, overall we had some good meals. Some of the smaller cafes and bars seem to open and close as they please which is a bit annoying but there is always food available. the morning wake up call with coffee is awesome!! The pools are great!! there are a lot of them so they never really seem packed. each casitas section has its own pool and bar! woohoo, we didn't really get to enjoy the beach much, we did take a nice walk, the beach is SMALL, between the sidewalk to the beach its maybe 50 ft at max! the sand is okay not as nice as id expected, the huge sandbags are not a big deal, we thought they were big rocks at first, its a great ocean view but not as great of a beach situation, we had a massage which was super expensive BUT not too bad and just a nice thing to do as we didnt' go on any excursions in such a short time. i would say save your money for something more fun if you have hte time! Overall, i dont know if i'd go back, i had an absolutely great time but i think they amount of money we spent is a bit ridiculous.

Room Tip: Go for Casitas for sure, and section 31 is good
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dynamiteroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Completely amazing! My husband and I stayed in a casita and had one of our best vacations. This property is beautiful. Not fighting for a room at the pool or beach. Plenty of chairs and beds. Food was good and property was very clean. Staff couldn't have been nicer. So glad I asked my travel agent where I should go. Olympus tours did our transfer and they were wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mangocatpurring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Me and my partner stopped here for 2 weeks and was bliss. We was waited on hand and foot. 24 hour room service being taken from door to door in a golf buggy and 8 different restyrants to choose from all al a carte what more could you ask for. I was had tonsilities while over there and couldn't fault the mini hospital at the hotel. The fact that there was 13 pools to choose from we was Spoilt for choice. We did spend a lot of money on the holiday but I feel it was worth every penny.

The only downside is tht the hotel was very isolated from things which ment u had to get a taxi. But the hotel was huge That there wasn't really any need to go out

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessstebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Made to feel very special as soon as we arrived, 2 glasses of champagne each within 10 minutes. The staff were very attentative and seem genuinely pleased to be there. We found the whole resort to be very clean and well managed. The consierge service was really good (cheers Allen) and our room was excellent. The evening entertainment was a bit cheesy, but isn't it everywhere, and the American's sometimes got a bit loud but hey they were enjoying themselves. Would definitely recommend this as a great resort for couples
Dave and Elaine.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for the Casita's Suites
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave1970martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews