We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regret becoming an Exotic Travel Club Member”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #27 of 388 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is a wonderful place to visit and stay, but you are better of not becoming a member of their Exotic Travel Club. One of the selling pointls for me was the ability to make very simple special requests such as staying in a certain building. After multiple attempts of just trying to get a very simple request to stay in a particular block, I am curtly told that it is impossible to give any special requests. It seems the club members have one area of the Casitas to stay in. I'm sorry, but after paying thousands of dollars for a membership, I'm very disappointed in not being able to just have a basic special request able to be accommodated. The Hotel absolutely will not bend. Save your money and do not join the Exotic Travel Club

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank seaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,823)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,439 - 4,443 of 4,828 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

It was such a shame as this was our Honeymoon and we had done alot of research on this Hotel. Yes !!! it was paradise but then any caribbean holiday is paradise. We had paid £5.500 for what we thought would be quite enough to get pure perfection.
We booked through First Choice Holidays 14 mths in advance so you would expect that was enough time for the hotel to get things correct. When you book a Casita that is classed as an upgrade so you get a private taxi instead of waiting for a coach, no problems there until we arrived at the Hotel !!! as we were staying in a Casita you should be taken straight to the sofa's sat down & given a glass of Champagne, this was not so as i had to tell the porter that we were in Casita. We were then taken to the sofa area & given the Champagne while our booking in was taken care of, all other guests not in Casita's have to queue to check in.
After about 5 mins we were taken to our indivisial Casita Conciege Reception , this is where it started to go very wrong!!! no one mentioned that it was our Honeymoon so we did , the conciege seemed stunned but asked for the marraige cert which we handed over to be photo copied.
When you book a honeymoon you should get your room decorated , turn down bed,etc plus Romantic Dinner on the Beach. Well forget all that we got none!!!
So off to the Conciege we went , again they looked stunned that none of this had been done and we where promised a special treat for the big mistake that they had made.
Well at the end of our 2 weeks we just laughed it all off because we just made the most of what they tried to do which was very hit & miss. The First Choice REP tried his best to put things right but we where told off by the Conciege for reporting our problems to our Rep.
On a plus the food was fantastic , the setting heaven, swimming pools great, staff very happy & ready to help, but don't expect 5 star treatment.!!!!!!!

Room Tip: No privacy with swim up room's,but cost more.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shellshock04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Just came back from this resort. We spent 3 nights and basically 3.5 days. The weather was NOT good at all, it rained everyday and for 2 of the days the sun didn't come out at all!! But we can't blame the resort for that but if you are spending that much money maybe wait until later in the year to go when the rainy season ends. So the service was pretty good. The personal concierge Ana was really nice, all the bellboys and cleaning girls were very nice, and same the bartenders. The service at the restaurants was never bad, but some servers were much more attentive, talkative and seemed generally happy to be there than others. However, we never had any bad service. The room was great, we had a second level infinity pool casita. The outdoor shower was the best, the infinity pool was cleaned regularly, the view of the Caribean sea was amazing. The bed was comfortable, we didnt use the jacuzzi but it seemed pretty nice. The location is kind of out of hte way from stuff, so if you want to go siteseeing you need to pay big money for it, apparently there aren't any buses off hte main road either (which i personally found a bit questionable). The restaurants are All good. We had D'Italia La Fondue and Cocotal for our dinners and I really enjoyed La Fondue. There could have been mroe variety in the food though considering this place is 5 star and eveyrthing is REALLY salted up. However, overall we had some good meals. Some of the smaller cafes and bars seem to open and close as they please which is a bit annoying but there is always food available. the morning wake up call with coffee is awesome!! The pools are great!! there are a lot of them so they never really seem packed. each casitas section has its own pool and bar! woohoo, we didn't really get to enjoy the beach much, we did take a nice walk, the beach is SMALL, between the sidewalk to the beach its maybe 50 ft at max! the sand is okay not as nice as id expected, the huge sandbags are not a big deal, we thought they were big rocks at first, its a great ocean view but not as great of a beach situation, we had a massage which was super expensive BUT not too bad and just a nice thing to do as we didnt' go on any excursions in such a short time. i would say save your money for something more fun if you have hte time! Overall, i dont know if i'd go back, i had an absolutely great time but i think they amount of money we spent is a bit ridiculous.

Room Tip: Go for Casitas for sure, and section 31 is good
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dynamiteroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Completely amazing! My husband and I stayed in a casita and had one of our best vacations. This property is beautiful. Not fighting for a room at the pool or beach. Plenty of chairs and beds. Food was good and property was very clean. Staff couldn't have been nicer. So glad I asked my travel agent where I should go. Olympus tours did our transfer and they were wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mangocatpurring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Me and my partner stopped here for 2 weeks and was bliss. We was waited on hand and foot. 24 hour room service being taken from door to door in a golf buggy and 8 different restyrants to choose from all al a carte what more could you ask for. I was had tonsilities while over there and couldn't fault the mini hospital at the hotel. The fact that there was 13 pools to choose from we was Spoilt for choice. We did spend a lot of money on the holiday but I feel it was worth every penny.

The only downside is tht the hotel was very isolated from things which ment u had to get a taxi. But the hotel was huge That there wasn't really any need to go out

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessstebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 km away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,051 reviews
8.9 km away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.4 km away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.3 km away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
1,180 reviews
4.8 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#17 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#26 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range: RM1,912 - RM4,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing