We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our honeymoon at the luxurious El Dorado Royale Casitas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #27 of 388 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was our first trip to the El Dorado Royale and also first time in Mexico. My husband I stayed here for our honeymoon (end March - April) and we were so impressed it was very hard leaving!

Location 10/10
It is a fantastic adults only resort, staff are v friendly and helpful, our beach butler Angel was amazing and brought us drinks hourly. We stayed in the swim -up casita section (28), we found it was a quieter part of the resort and only a 15 min walk to the lobby and entertainment stage ( or 2 min buggy ride). Each casita section has its own pool bar and so there are never too many people in it. The beach was only a 30 second walk from our casita suite and the beach palapas (4 poster beds) were v impressive. The resort also offers 24 hour room service, an excellent addition to the gourmet all inclusive.

Room 10/10
Our casita suite was immaculate and had everything you need. A huge jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor shower, a tv & dvd player (dvd's are available to borrow but most in spanish - you may want to bring your own if have multi-regional format) the maid did a wonderful job everyday cleaning our suite.We had a huge king size bed and a double bed outside on our decking that is hidden behind netting so no one can see in. There is also a table and chairs on the decking and the back leads to your own sun loungers that are submerged into the lazy river.

Restaurants 10/10
All of the restaurants were excellent, food wonderful. I am a vegetarian and the chefs were all v accommodating and would make up something special for me if there was nothing on the menu that I could eat. Santos was one of the many excellent chefs in La Fuentes! For breakfast there were many restaurants to choose from all table service however in Cocotal & La Fuentes there is the option of self service, my favourite for self service was Cocotal, they had everything from cereals, waffles, pastries, fruit, cooked breakfasts and a chocolate fountain!!! The Kampai was our closest restaurant and they did a fantastic menu for breakfast, lunch & dinner (tip - make sure you make a reservation for the kampai or get there early when it opens to get a table!) We found you dont need to make reservations in advance for the other restaurants, you can choose on the night where you fancy going, sometimes you may have to wait 20 mins for a table but there is always a bar within sight to have a drink while you wait. The health bar was a great place to go for smoothies, shakes and lunches. A favourite was the peanut butter & banana shake. The smoothies would be nicer if they took the seeds/pips out of the fruit.
Bars 10/10
All the bars were great, they have an extensive list of cocktails, some favourites were the drunken monkey (creamy) & sexy mama (fruity). The bar next to the entertainment stage has swings in it which are fab...also a challenge to stay on after a few cocktails...!

Entertainment 9/10
The entertainment crew were great, they worked hard day & night to provide lots of activities & fun for everyone. One of our favourite nights was the Jamaican night, a v good live band that will get you up dancing and wiggling until your hearts content! The jet ski's are excellent fun to take out, the sea can be a little choppy though so hold on tight!

Beach/Sea 8/10
The actual beach was lovely, they had comfy four poster beds called palapas and sun loungers. A beach butler (if in casita section) and there is always a bar within sight. The sea was warm and clear, however there are large sandbags that look like large whales and make the beach look unattractive, however the purpose for these is to create 'artifical reefs' to encourage marine life and protect the beach if there were to be a hurricane. The sea can be quite choppy and I would take caution swimming out of your depth. The best place to snorkel and the calmest & clearest part of the sea is opposite the health bar. There is a lovely little lagoon bit there.

Another note to add is the resort has buggys that can take you anywhere in the resort if you didnt fancy a walk. The resort is very safe and secure, a word of warning though, I would advise not walk down the road out of the resort to catch the local bus because there is jungle with snakes etc and can be v dangerous at night. Also there is no way the local bus will be able to see you in the dark by a v busy road. It is better to get a taxi or the free shutttle service the resort offers.

Honeymooners make sure you remember your wedding certificate for the lovely honeymoon package, the massage in the spa, candle lit dinner on beach & breakfast in bed :-)

Whether you are on your honeymoon, a special anniversary or a break with friends, this resort shall do more than impress, you will be so spoilt you will never want to leave!!

Thank you to all the staff for making our honeymoon so special :-)

Mr and Mrs James

Room Tip: Casita Suites are the other end of the resort from lobby and are a lot quieter. We had the sun on ou...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,823)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,265 - 4,269 of 4,823 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked this for our honeymoon and stayed in casitis 3027. The room was fabulous and we loved the outside shower. We could not fault the food and particularly liked the food at the asian resturant and the casitas italian. All the staff were very polite and helpful and the resort was very clean and well maintained. As this was our honeymoon we paid more than usual for this holiday but it was worth every penny and we would love to return .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunset03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked through a travel agent, ending up with Lomas Travel when we arrived. We were told the transfer from the airport was "nonstop" which it wasn't, but hey we were just in a good mood so we didn't care that we had to stop at one other resort on the way. The trip back to the airport was non-stop, didn't matter though b/c our flight was delayed.

We stayed in the swim-up casita 3130. Loved having our own pool with a bar and restaurant Las Olas (?) right there for quick snacks. We ended up walking down toward the Gaviotas Beach Bar every morning, claiming a beach bed, and relaxing most of the day. The bartender there would sometimes even walk over and bring us drinks (probably b/c we tipped each time).

We booked our trip for 5 nights, wished we would have had 1 or 2 more. It was fabulous. The concierges Jesus and Alan helped us out a lot and we felt take care of. We have a few very very ridiculous complaints:

1) mini-fridge in room= not cold just as many many others have written
2) the shuttles were difficult to find during the last part of our trip (Wed-Fri). It seemed like in the beginning of our trip (Sun-Tues), shuttles were everywhere- never 20 minutes apart as the resort indicates.
3) wi-fi= we tried to unplug the whole trip on purpose. However it would have been nice to access the internet when we were trying to find out about our return flight home. The casitas reception told us we had wi-fi in our room but that never worked. Not a big deal to us, but if you need that access I don't think this is the place for you. Not even phone calls worked from our casita.

Since it was our honeymoon, we had the honeymoon package with the beach massage, candlelight dinner, breakfast in the room and special decoration. It was all really nice. We did not pay the extra $40 for the lobster on the candlelight beach dinner, they were very up front with us about that cost. I never felt pressured to spend extra money or to tip the whole trip. We did have a strange experience in the main gift shop in which an item was mismarked. We were told that if we paid the lower price, a young pregnant staff member would have to pay the difference!! None of that ended up happening, and I was convinced it was all a ruse anyway to get us to pay full price for the item. Very uncomfortable but it was more laughable than upsetting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I spent several nights in the Casitas portion of the El Dorado Royale resort in late December 2011. First the good stuff. The casita was awesome and definitely worth the upgrade. The outdoor shower was neat, and its really nice that each set of casitas surround a private pool with a bar. Plus the beach is literally just steps away so that was great. The employees were helpful and friendly, although I did spend an entire afternoon on the beach without ever being approached once to see if we needed a drink or anything else. The food, however, was awful. I'm no foodie, but I do know the difference in good food and bad, and the food here definitely fits in the latter category. There were exceptions, such as the Italian restaurant (which was fantastic). And the Asian place was pretty good as well. But breakfast, lunch, and the other dinner restaurants were more along the lines of cafeteria food than fine dining. Don't get me wrong - - we had a great time and enjoyed the time away from the kids and the other hubbub of life for a few days - but expected a bit more from a place like this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed in the Royale section two years ago and loved every minute. We returned this year and booked a casita. We travelled with First Choice and the premium economy seats are worth every penny!
We were very lucky to be upgraded to an individual casita and were also given free WiFi. The casita was great and I can assure you that your privacy isn't compromised by being close to the pathway. Our maid did a good job but the little extras like towel animals and flowers tailed off after a few days although we left her a couple of dollars every day.
We loved the food on our first visit but the menu hadn't changed and we were disappointed by the quality and presentation of the food . I have photos from two years ago and the same dishes are not up to the high standard that we experienced then. We enjoyed breakfast at Cocotal, burgers from the cart that came to the pool area and lunch at La Isla. I particularly liked the seafood crepes. Many of the desserts seemed to have too much gelatine in them and the consistency was all wrong. The strangest dessert was at JoJo's and it was the banana tarte tatin. I ordered it and was looking forward to bubbling brown sugar on the banana and crisp pastry. The reality was a circle of cold pastry topped with large chunks of cold banana and no sauce! Very odd and certainly not worthy of being called gourmet.
The house wine really wasn't good and such a large organisation must be able to buy better quality wine. It would have been helpful if we could have bought wine by the glass and not have been obliged to buy a whole bottle.
I wish there were some benches dotted around the resort so that you could just sit and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Somewhere to get a good cup of coffee would also be appreciated.
The huge numbers of staff are always polite and helpful and they do a very good job of keeping the resort looking immaculate.
I doubt that we'll return to El Dorado.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 km away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,051 reviews
8.9 km away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.4 km away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.3 km away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
1,180 reviews
4.8 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#17 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#26 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range: RM1,912 - RM4,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing