We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! Casitas infinity pool room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #25 of 390 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We read many reviews when trying to book a hotel for our 10 year anniversary and decided to book with the El Dorado Casitas Royale. Picking a room was a little more difficult, but we went with the infinite pool at the casitas section, one of the rooms on the bottom floor with your own pool. It was so worth it and I can't imagine staying in any other room (well maybe the Presidential Casitas! Ha!).

We booked our room through Costco which included round-trip transportation from the airport to the hotel. Everything about our trip was so easy and relaxing. We had a little wait for the shuttle at the hotel, but grabbed a couple of beers and made do. Our driver was friendly and even though we booked a shared shuttle, we were the only ones on it. Upon arrival at the main entrance at the hotel, we were quickly whisked away by golf cart to the Casitas check-in area where cool towels and champagne awaited us.

The room was beautiful and the inifinity pool on the patio was the perfect touch. It was so nice to be able to decide if we wanted to stay at our own pool, or hop over the wall into the lazy river and head down to the main pool and bar. The bartender at the pool bar could see our pool from the bar, and occasionally would come over and refill our drinks right on our patio!

The resort is beautiful and the food was amazing. Every restaurant we tried was very good and we quickly learned that the portions are small and not to be shy about ordering a few things off the menu each time. This was great so that we could taste more of the menu!

Relaxation was what this vacation was all about for us, a chance to get away from real life for a few days and spend some quality time together and the El Dorado Casitas offered just that. Staying at the Casitas gives you the option of being in the more quiet and private Casitas area, or choosing to go over and spend sometime at the main resort area which is a little more loud and lively. I would stay here again in a heart beat and would recommend it to friends looking for a truly special place to visit.

Room Tip: Casitas Infinity pool on the ground floor, by far the best! Section 31, amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jno391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hola Dear jno391
Thank you for your fantastic review, it is very special when receive such comments like yours.
I am happy to hear that your experience with our resort was in line with our reputation for upscale and quality service, which is all a part of our unique gourmet inclusive concept.
I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep working for all future travelers when trying our destination.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home.
Sincerely,

Mariana Montes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 152 of 4,890 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

This resort is a MUST for anyone looking for relaxation or a romantic getaway. The food is good and service is superb. This is a large resort with several "private" casita pools with bars and many other amenities that appeal to large groups. We stayed in a "swim-up" casita, which I think is the only way to go. The only negative for this trip was the limited shuttle service around the resort. Be prepared to walk (or wait for shuttle) a lot. If you have bad knees, think twice. This is an all-adult resort, but we went with families that stayed at the sister resort next door - Generations.

Room Tip: Swim-up casitas are the best & have the most access to the entire resort (restaurants, beach bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marilynh130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hola Dear marilynh130,

Thank you so much for rating us with the 5 stars award and for taking the time to write such a nice review of your experience at our premises.
I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep working for all future travelers when trying our destination.
We are excited to welcome you back next year at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican home in the Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,

Mariana Montes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This resort is a quiet, relaxing place for a vacation and anniversary. Despite being there during Tropical Storm Franklin we had a marvelous vacation. The staff was very friendly and kept us apprised of any changes in the services/dinning venues due to the storm. Even with the storm we had regular room cleaning and turn down service. As the storm was approaching and during the storm we noticed a few bugs coming in to our room. This was a little concerning to my wife however this is the 6th storm or hurricane I have been in in the area. I've always noticed extra bugs right before and during the storm at every hotel I have been in. I've never noticed bugs other times I have stayed at this resort or it's sister properties. The food at this resort is excellent. I also love the fact that you can use all the services and restaurants at the El Dorado Royal and the adjacent Generations Resort. I love the tacos at the pool for lunch at Generations. We purchased an infinity pool room. I would recommend this upgrade. It is nice to take a dip in your own private plunge pool. My only complaint about this hotel is it is a little spread out. They do have shuttles that run every few minutes, but at peak times many run full. The grounds are nice to walk, but you do have to plan for time if your walking across the resort. I would defiantly put this in my top recommended resorts.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Infinity pool or swim up pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGetawayGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hola Dear TheGetawayGuru,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and lovely comments on TripAdvisor.
It is interesting to read that you enjoyed every detail of the Karisma Gourmet Inclusive Experience.
I am so happy to hear that your experience with our resort was in line with our reputation for upscale and quality service.
We will address your kindly comments with all our staff.
Hoping to welcome you once again at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
Sincerely,

Mariana Montes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the ECR and it was AMAZING. The entire experience = A+++ Jorge Sanchez (beach butler) and Alfredo Medina (bartender) at Casitas 30 were PHENOMENAL. We will return!

Room Tip: There are many different types of casitas ranging from swim up, infinity pool, private stand alone a...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hola Dear Nich L,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a wonderful review from our property.
I am so happy to hear that your experience with our resort was in line with our reputation for upscale and quality service.
We will wait for you next year!
Sincerely,

Mariana Montes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This was the most incredible resort. The grounds were immaculate. The staff was super especially our swim up bartender
Rubin and Porter Ivan in the 3100
series casitas. Also our waiter Sami at cocotals and Jo Jo's. Our concierges Carlos and Ruth were a tremendous asset. The Spa staff were very professional. The dinning experience was 5 star through out the entire resort. Room service was quick and delicious. Our best experience was watching the giant green turtles come on the beach and lay eggs. The resort actual takes the eggs and raises the babies until they can be released back to the ocean. The biologists/conservationists were more than willing to educate us on the whole turtle egg laying process. We will be back! Casitas 3100's

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dwinger001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hola Dear dwinger001,

It has been a great pleasure to receive your warm review regarding your most recent vacation at our premises.
We are sure your description of our site´s atmosphere will be a great help for future travelers when choosing their next destination.
We will address your kindly comments with all our staff.
Looking forward to receive you once again, at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma for another memorable vacation.
Sincerely,

Mariana Montes
Hotel Manager
El Dorado Casitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviera Maya hotels
0.0 km away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,158 reviews
8.9 km away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
0.4 km away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.3 km away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
1,187 reviews
17.4 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#17 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
#26 Green Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range: RM1,820 - RM4,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing