We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Soho Playa Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,775)
Filter reviews
5,775 results
Traveller rating
4,708
697
250
76
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,708
697
250
76
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach butleroutdoor showercasitas sectionhealth barpersonal conciergesanta fe grillour honeymooncandlelight dinner on the beachwine pairingroom servicebeach bum vacationsgourmet inclusiveartificial reefpool bartendercasita suitebeach bedsswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 5,775 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to El Dorado Casitas Royale with two of our closest friends, had a amazing time with a swim up pool.Also a fabulous swim up bar spent most of our time there Johnathon who ran the bar was outstanding nothing was to much trouble for him. The restaurant we’re great so clean and good service. Would recommend it to anyone they couldn’t do enough for any one. All the pools were spotless and the garden area’s were kept very clean.

Room Tip: The rooms could do with better lighting.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lesleyh572018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hola!

Dear Lesleyh572018,


Thank you so much for rating us with the 5 stars award and for taking the time to write such a nice review of your experience at our premises.

It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home.

Sincerely,

Managment Response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our favorite resort. The food is great, the service is outstanding. We normally have the same Beach Butler or will go to his section during the day. This was about our 10th trip to the resort and have never had a bad experience. We had rain for 2 days, but that is unusual and did not really matter.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to stay in the Casitas section, the extra service is worth every dollar.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JoeSfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago



Dear JoeSfromTexas

Thank you for such a wonderful review and for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community. I’m sure your review will help many with future vacation choices.

It is a pleasure for us to know that your experience exceeded your expectations. Our number one priority is to make every guest experience exceptional and as special as it can be.

We hope that El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma will be your preferred resort for your next visit to the Riviera Maya and Mexico.

Sincerely,

JosSfrom Texas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed at other all-inclusive's in this area, I was EXTREMELY disappointed. We did not get any service from our "personal concierge" (we stated in 2517) and it ws clear that by not wanting to sit through a sales talk on our vacation caused us to be "black listed." For example, we were at the resort for 5 days (all rain no sun) and could not get an umbrella. Additi0onally, we could not get help with reservations and had to buy lunch from a convienence store on two of the days (could not get into restaurants. There is no alcohol in the room (READ THE FINE PRINT) and room service will NOT bring alcohol, The bar that was by our casita was closed all but one day of our vacation -0 they got us FOR SURE! We could not find a place to eat or drink. The food was bad at all but one restaurant, the one that you pay to have wine included. There are two sections of casitas and we were in the old part - DO NOT DO IT. Take your money elsewhere. Also, I had to buy new shoes upon returning because we could not get rides (the carts just zoomed by us) I cried one day as it was storming so bad and I tried the spa. I had to ask three times where to go because I was so confused because there was no guide (skip the hydrotherapy - not like other resorts, rip off!) - the spa was also a negative experience which was odd for an all-inclusive, but so was not having access to food and drink. Lesson learned AND I really hope they do not reply here now pretending to have customer service...We were told for three days someone would get us an umbrella, change the lightbulb, clean the outdoor shower etc...it did not happen and I do NOT want to be part of this resorts marketing (their members can do that for them...every "member" we spoke to had a VERY different experience than those of us that were not members- good for them!) We will choose another property where you do not have to buy into a timeshare to get what you pay for! HOWEVER, if you want a membership - I observed and heard stories...those experiences "10 years running" are great and they get more free stuff by getting "us" to just "sit through" the presentation. Too many choices where the resorts have staff to serve paying guests, pick one of those and maybe vacation wont be so much work!

Room Tip: Choose another property
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RhinoWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Hotel management team at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear RhinoWoman

On behalf of the all staff and the management team at El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma we would like to thank you for sharing your review detailing your most recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and kind words; with such comments help us to achieve your expectations.

We are truly very sorry for what seems to have been a disappointing stay. Your comments have been discussed in great detail in order to identify where immediate improvements can be made to perfect our experience.

We would like to continue our communication with you , Please do not hesitate to contact the customer service department at customercare@karismamexico.com so your comments and experiences can be personally attended.

Warmest regards,

Your hotel management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from the Casitas this week after three glorious weeks of holiday. The resort is just as amazing as our previous visits, the accommodation is great and the food and wine are exceptional. However what makes this holiday better than others are the most wonderful staff, I would personally like to thank our pool staff, Jorge our pool barman and Diego, Gabriel and Toni they were always happy helping us around the pool of 27. Edwardo for fabulous room service and Elisa the village manager for taking extra care of us on our wedding anniversary making us feel special on this important day. Breakfast each day was made so much fun in Cocotal as Flor always Had a smile and after a few days of remembering my food allergy declared I was nuts when she realised what she said none of us could stop laughing. Thank you everyone for being so attentive we will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet holiday go for the Casitas area
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Suzie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Suzie I ,


Thank you for your wonderful review of your experiences at El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma , it was a pleasure to host your vacation and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Karisma experience.

There is nothing more rewarding than to receive the praise from our valued guests and we will certainly share your experiences with our employees. We are very happy to hear that the staff mentioned had such a positive effect on your visit and they will be rewarded for their efforts.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma


Sincerely,

Managment Response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 5 nights in June. It rained the entire time. The only time we saw blue skies was the morning that we left. So we definitely did not get the full experience that this resort has to offer.

If the top attribute that you are looking for is a nice beach/water do not pick this resort. There is a beach erosion problem. Most of the areas where they have beach beds and lounge chairs set up drops off like a cliff and then the water is below. See picture. There is hardly even a spot to get into the ocean because of the eroding beach. The beach is also overrun with seaweed. They are constantly out there racking it up, but they seem unable to keep up with it. Lastly, the resort doesn't even offer a nice ocean view. You end up looking at ugly concrete erosion barriers sticking up out of the water.

Pros: excellent service, many restaurant options, good drinks, many pools, cool outdoor seating/lounging options, outdoor shower in casitas, and Jacuzzi tub in casitas. If you are staying to celebrate an anniversary be sure to email the concierge a picture of your marriage license. We got a romantic dinner on the beach, banner on our door, decorations in our room the night of our beach dinner, and a romantic room service breakfast the following morning. All at no extra charge.

Cons: beach, can't get in ocean, food (if you like simple food you'll have a hard time finding food you like. They try to make everything fancy and it just tastes weird), some outdoor walkway areas are very dark at night, and not a lot of resort activities (mostly physical activities)

Room Tip: casitas are quiet and spacious
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janedoetraveler2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Hotel management team at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear janedoetraveler2018

On behalf of the all staff and the management team at El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma we would like to thank you for sharing your review detailing your most recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and kind words; with such comments help us to achieve your expectations.

We are very sorry for what seems to have been a disappointing stay mentioning the disappointment in the weather during your stay, about the beach and if the food was different as expected.

The concrete blocks and sand bags are protecting the sand from getting washed away; we have noted that the beach has improved since previous years ago; we do believe that the beach restoration is working.

Your comments have been discussed in great detail in order to identify where immediate improvements can be made to perfect our experience.

We would like to continue our communication with you , Please do not hesitate to contact the customer service department at customercare@karismamexico.com so your comments and experiences can be personally attended.

Warmest regards,

Your hotel management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews