We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort and great location on Malapascua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slam's Garden Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great resort and great location on Malapascua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016

I have stayed at Slams twice now. It's clean and perfectly placed to be near to a lot of the other restaurants, bars and dive shops on Malapascua and its easy to get to from the beach drop off from the public boat from Cebu.

It feels safe and has 24 hour security although I didn't feel I was unsafe any time on the island.

It now has a great new swimming pool which is a luxury on the island and makes for a welcome break from the beach or post dive chill out. It's much needed in the heat and a perfect place to relax, read and play. The pool is well managed has several sun beds, chairs and umbrellas around the edge.

The people staying at Slams are a mix of travellers and tourists from around the world. Mostly divers but some not. I traveled alone to Malapsacus and was made to feel very welcome and at home by the staff who mostly speak good English.

I was in a fan room this year and last time I had an air con room with a fridge and hot shower. My fan room was cool enough for me to get a good nights sleep with the window open for ventilation. Although I would have still liked a hot shower. I didn't notice when I booked that I only had cold water. It was adequate.
There is an insect net on the window which is useful as there are a lot of flies and other bugs.
Both my rooms were a good size and really clean/new. The staff changed my towels and cleaned my room every day. My beds were big and comfortable.

The best thing about Slams is the staff who are all really helpful and friendly.
They can book you a taxi to Cebu and take your bags to the boat for you when you leave which is really nice at the end of a trip in the heat.

You can pay for transport, drinks and food at Slams with Visa card which is useful as there is no ATM on the island.

Slams is perfectly placed for walking to bars and all the beaches. You can get a motorbike taxi close to the entrance, or walk and explore the north of the island by going along the sandy tracks (not roads) right of the entrance or go left for bounty beach.

Slams is also close to a few stalls selling beach clothes and drinks and anything you may need like shampoo, beer and cigarettes.

Malapascua is not a party island, but there are enough bars open late-ish when you want some fun and booze. Slams is very close to all the best bars, but despite this it is extremely quiet.

Slams is good value for money in my opinion. If you are on a budget and can share a room it can be very cheap still and from the back entrance the path leads to a few budget restaurants like Gina Gine's and La Isla Bonita, both better value than places on the beach.

If you are not on a tight budget it feels luxurious and it is near both great Italian restaurants and Oscars above Thresher Shark Dive school on Bounty beach. All good places to go and eat.

Finally Malapascua has some amazing sunsets depending on the time of year try and be at the beach by 5:20 - 6:30 in the evening .

Room Tip: There are 2 floors of rooms in he 3 blocks. If you have any mobility issues ask for the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kohtaocarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2016
Hello,
Thank you so much for you long and very nice review.
We are happy that you like our resort, it's location on the island close to the 2 main beaches, the Logon village with its small stores, bars and restaurants close by.
We are happy that you like our staff and their kindness.
Yes we can always arrange transport to come or to leave our island. We try to do the best we can to help our guests.
Yes you can always pay in our place with all major credit cards.
Also we have our new building with fan rooms where you stay. And it's true that if have 2 persons on budget this can be as cheap as another budget places but with good amenities. (Like our pool). And guests can get good price specially booking directly to us.

Again thank you so much for you very nice review.

Slam's Garden Resort Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    78
    38
    4
    6
See reviews for
22
68
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

Very clean rooms and grounds. Breakfast is quick very convenient at resort before heading off for diving. Staff is really friendly and always willing to accommodate. Cindy at front desk is great as is all staff!

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marks6749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2016
Hello,
Thank you so much for you nice review.
Thanks for liking our place, our breakfast, and our friendly staff.
Again thank you so much.

Slam's Garden Resort Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

We unfortunately had medical issues while here and the staff took the time to recommend Dr. Dublin on the mainland and make sure we knew how to get there. They were very helpful with our troubles in each and everyway! Dive shops right beside hotel, easy access to ferry services and some good restaurants - Italian, and Tai. This is in a small village where many of the people are very poor. The diving was quite poor due to hurricane Yolanda in 2013, grenade fishing, Thresher sharks and white tip sharks most interesting, but not much else.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with balconies are nicest 2nd floor facing pool is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Hello,
Thank you so much for you nice review.
We are happy that you feel our staff take care of you. We always try to take care as much as we can for our guests.
For the island, yes this is small community in different villages (most fisherman's) yes people are very poor but always very nice.
For the diving, yes we have whitetips and treasher sharks.
Some dive sites can be damaged du to past dynamite fishing but is not du to the typhon Yolanda. Typhon don't damage much down...
Also i don't know with wich diveshop you dive. They are many many nice dives in Malapascua. But some diveshops never go there du to not enough experience of the guests or them self as teaching and diving there.... or coz is little fare away.
Most places in Monad Shoal starting 30 meters bellow are wonderful. Full of corals and not damage at all. Unfortunately that will involve decompression diving and most diveshops have no dive masters train properly for taking guests (who have license for diving there, deep diving,or license for practicing decompression diving, like Cmass, or some others) And also no instructor teaching decompression diving in this dive shops. You have nice pioneer wreck just off in north Of the island. Full of life and beautiful. But it's at 55 meters. Not many dive shops also organise dives to Maripipi in leyte. (3h00 boat) except French kiss divers . But there is full of life everywhere since you go down. Corals everywhere and have so many fish, turtles, sharks etc.... starting 3 meters...

Again thank you for you nice review.

Slam's Garden owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

My 2D1N stay in Slam's Garden Resort was really good. My friend and I arrived in the resort around 8 am we knew that the check in time is 12 noon but we tried to ask the receptionist if it is possible to check in early and with luck she told us it's okay we just have to wait for few minutes because another staff was cleaning and preparing the room after another guests just checked out. So we decided to have breakfast in their restaurant and waited for not a long time until room was ready.

What I like about Slam's is the place is clean, our room was good for a fan room, bathroom was clean with hot and cold shower though the water is salty which we do understand because it's an island and even other restaurants we've tried they don't have service water but it wasn't a problem at all. Moreover, the staffs are accommodating and always greeted us with nice smiles. Furthermore, I'm really fond of swimming in the pool, so I really enjoyed plunging in their clean pool. Overall, our whole stay was nice. I will surely come back at Slam's next time I will visit Malapascua and definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Convenient and very accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elusivedreamer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
Hello,
Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for liking our place, the fan room, the cleanliness, our friendly staff, and our pool.
Yes it's always possible to check up earlier if the rooms are available.
We try to do our best for our guests to have a pleasant stay.
Again thank you so much for you nice review.

Slam's Garden Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyarn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel close to the sea - great pool, friendly and helpful stuff and cozy rooms, even without air condition. Will come back in January. Hope hotel keeps on going this way. Good prices and good service

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank royaltswy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2016
Thank you so much for you nice review.
We are please that you like our place and our staff and there service.
Yes we will try to keep it this way.
Again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.2 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cocobana Beach Resort
Cocobana Beach Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.5 km away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 km away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slam's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slam's Garden Resort

Property: Slam's Garden Resort
Address: Malapascua Island Barangay Logon | 6013 Daan Bantayan Cebu, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Price range (per night): RM113 - RM274
Hotel Class:3 star — Slam's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Slam's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing