We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright. Good enough if you don't expect much. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Slam's Garden Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was alright. Good enough if you don't expect much. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Place was ok. Room was average.
We requested for a double room but instead got 2 singles pushed together. I specifically mentioned thrice - in capital letters - that we need a double and not two single beds pushed together.

Nevertheless, the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Found a better accommodation with a cheaper price the next day.

Stayed one night.

Stayed March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello,

Thank you for you review.
We are happy that you fine our staff friendly and accommodating.
For the double bed you write in Capital letters and we understand but you certainly Not read in any booking agency or in our own website is write: UPON AVAILABILITY....All our deluxe rooms have 2 queen beds (but you don't book this room). Our 6 Superior rooms are all 2 single beds,our 6 Standard premier rooms we have only 2 rooms with double bed, and standard are also single beds.
So it's Upon availability when u arrive...
Now you fine our place just ok and our rooms average. So we are happy if you fine the next day cheaper room somewhere else and better.

Again thank you.

Slam's Garden Resort Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    77
    38
    4
    6
See reviews for
22
67
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banda Aceh, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is too expensive for what you are getting at this resort.

The showerhead was not manageable as there was no attachment to "hold" the shower at the place.

The pillows were old and smelly as they just covered it with the pillow case but the smell was Moulded.

Overall breakfast was good.

The Internet is the worst I ever experienced at this Island. 1 box ( router) for all the rooms is simply not enough. Also, the internet is not available in the rooms. You need to go to the communal area
Add more routers if you have so many rooms.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceKruytzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello,
Thank you for you review,

Yes we understand that maybe is to expensive for you budget but certainly not for what you get in an isolated island.
You are very good in seing the bad points you express. But maybe you don't see at all the higth cost of maintenance in an island like ours.
I go around myself on the island. And i know very well how wifi work somewhere esle... The same as ours in the resort. After depend how many people will be connected at the same time on that box (router).
Now we have internet as service for our guests. But as i write in over reviews. We are not responsable for the loosy internet in Philippines. Also is more for checking email and doing small things. Certainly not for uploading or downloading big data's.....
Now the one who like to have internet everywhere, buy 1 sim card globe or smart. Load you phone with 1000 pesos and you will get internet for 1 months. It work ok,even like that you can not compere it with other countries......
For the pillow i surprise.... but we will check it.... and the best thing is when you are in the resort is just ask to change the pillow, we have many in extra.... like this this will have been treated straigth away in state of just writing this here.... and we are sure that you will have get new one who smeal good....
Same for the shower. I don't know what exactly happen but we check the room always.... and as i said we have higth cost in maintenance. But if we see someting broaken or missing like here the "holder of the shower" as you said, so we will change it.
We always try to maintain our resort as best as we can.

For the breakfast we are happy that you like it. At list you appreaciate something. Thank you.

Again thank you. Sorry that you find us to expensive and we hope that if you come back to the island you find better place than ours for cheaper and with good working wifi...

Slam's Garden Resort Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room is clean, swimming pool is good enough, breakfast is delicious and the place is good to go to the shop, restaurants or port. But there is no wifi in the room and little bit isolated from main beach.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jungah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello,

Thank you for you review.
Thanks for liking our swimming pool, breakfasts.
For the rest i can not agree with you. We are just in logon beach. Just 1 house in front of the entrance. Only 20 meters to walk from the main entrance.
And only 100 metters from Bounty beach... so.... i don't know why you said we are little beat isolated????
You can view the drone pic from our resort in our website.

Thank you for saying also not bad but little bit expensive with this facility.
We have very competitive prices with what we offer. A lot of over resort realy more expensive coz they are front beach and many with no pool.

Again thank you for you review

Slam's Garden Resort Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roissy-en-France, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located nearby the "city" and close to the 3 best restaurants of the island - good location as there is a pool to chill out and very calm.
Staff is nice and friendly
Negative points : Wifi is very poor
Breakfast really needs to be improved - even if its include in the room price, you don't have much to eat, no fruits or only bananas, no juice (only ice tea)
Compare to other hotels around, price is very high even though the pool does not worth the shot to pay that much.
I would recommend only for the peaceful area.

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Djou2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello,

Thank you for you review.

First of all, as what i write ma.y times here, we are not responsable for the wifi. We have the best we can get from the compagnie. Sorry if the internet is so loosy in Philippines but we can not do anything about it. So rating us always coz our wifi is completly ridiculous.

Thank you for liking our nice and friendly staff.

For the breakfast we have more than 11 different breakfasts. You have tea or coffe, ice tea or Juice, and a complet meal (ex: egs,bacon, 2 slices bread with butter and marmelade)... sorry if you don't like it.

For the prices, we know very well whats the prices beside us. And we are fare more low than in front beach. Sure you can fine Cheaper always but it will be at the back fare from the beach and certenly without pool and not the same facilities....

Again thank you for you review

Slam's Garden Resort Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff was kind and left our party alone. We weren't bothered during our stay. The only issue is that upon check-in, they gave us a hard time about a paid reservation we had done via a third party website. Even if we booked outside of the hotel, the fact that we didn't pay for more than "one person per room" was not our issue. However, they made it ours by not letting us in our already booked and paid for room upon arrival. After traveling from America, flying from Manila to Cebu at 5am and then taking a car ride for 3 hours and a boat bumpy ride for another hour.....please welcome me with kindness and some compassion. Consider that people came from far away to be here on vacation.

Again, I'm grateful that they just didn't give us any more issues once we got our rooms, but it's a little disappointing to arrive in a resort in the Philippines, where I know it has a reputation for its awesome hospitality....and it felt less than that expectation.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank missdeezon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slamsgarden_resort, Propriétaire at Slam's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello,

Thank you for you review. We are glade that you enjoy our resort once you check in.
We understand that you coming from far and that you travel a lot. (That's mostly the case from all our guests). And we try to treat every one nicely when they arrive.
But first you have to understand that before check in we have to check you have a booking with us. And that the rigth number of people who are coming are book and included in the booking. As well as checking id's or passports. That was not the case. You book 3 rooms for 2 persons. So 6 persons and you arrive at 9 persons as what you said. But have another 2 persons with you. So total 11 persons. So 2 persons stay there without checking,without registering any id's. The staff realize in morning but don't said anything. So we have been more than nice with you....
Also we remind that checking time is 2h00 pm and we allow early checking only upon availability.

Again thank you for you review.

Slam's Garden Resort Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.2 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.5 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 km away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.4 km away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slam's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slam's Garden Resort

Property: Slam's Garden Resort
Address: Malapascua Island Barangay Logon | 6013 Daan Bantayan Cebu, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Price range (per night): RM114 - RM276
Hotel Class:3 star — Slam's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slam's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing