We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
14
21
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
21
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroissantsbakerychurchvillagestopoverbedroombordeauxwifiwisteriaeuros
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Stopped off here on drive back from Spain. Nice village.

The hotel is quaint and fairly old. Bedroom was comfortable and clean. The highlight was the restaurant evening meal, which was very good and the breakfast also excellent with probably the best croissant's I have ever had. Light, fluffy and delicious.

I will definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We travel from our house in Brittany to our boat in A Coruna and this makes the perfect overnight stopping place to break what is a two day drive.

Clean and comfortable hotel that is gradually being upgraded - something has been decorated or improved each time we visit. Friendly and helpful staff and a very good restaurant - Michelin recommended - which serves generous portions of excellent food at reasonable prices. There is also a delightful terrace outside the restaurant where it is possible to eat when the weather is warm, shaded by a magnificent wisteria which must have been there for many, many years.

The village itself is also attractive with a very good bar adjoined to a stationers. There is a very pretty church that was once a main staging post on the pilgrims way to Santiago de Compostela and the point at which pilgrims decided if they wanted to continue by land or cut the corner by braving a sea trip across Bay of Biscay. There are also two shops in the village and a very good bakers.

All in all, we couldn't find a better place to stop.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SeaJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Arrived at a somewhat run down village with no apparent inhabitants at 5.00 pm. Hotel was in a similar state of disrepair. Having parked, our key was left in the entrance lobby. Unfortunately, our elderly dog was quite unable to climb the steep and polished steps. No staff available and several other potential guests wandering around looking for help. Kitchen staff arrived around 6.00 who advised that no reception available until after 7.30. This guest house was miles from anywhere and so we had no choice but to drive to find alternative accommodation. Phoned hotel at 7.30 and were charged for a no show.
This property is a somewhat shabby guest house and 3 star hotel is misleading in the extreme.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed for one night on the route from the south.
It is a nice rustique and charming hotel. Perhaps a bit too charming.
The doors of the rooms were making much noise as were the stears. Electricity was poorly done with loose sockets. The foodish smell in the corridor makes slowly its way into the bedroom and opening windows lets the barbecue smell from outside in.
The terrace is very nice under the green leaves and not too much dirt falls down into your drinks. Rooms are nicely redone but elementary. Nothing luxury but everything 'works'.
The daily menue at 20 Eu pp is not displayed and staff is not available during the day.
There is WiFi available but it is an open network so for security reasons not recommended.
What bothers me most is the 'chef' who comments to everything. As we did not intend to eat there, we went elsewhere and while coming back, I heard him say to another employee 'Ils sont top tard' (They are too late). Of course we were too late for supper as we went elsewhere to eat. Similar reactions can be read on other revews : it is not the fault of the hotel, it is the fault of the tourist.
Our keys were not available at arrival and the owner also acted as we did something wrong with our reservation. Eventually we got the keys without any apology.
There was a double extra blanket on top of the mattrass as if some wetness had to be covered. Price could be lower for a too old-style hotel : it actually is a budget hotel for a prime price.
Yes, if you want a Fauwlty-Towers-ish hotel, this probably is it !

Room Tip: All rooms are 'rustique' with an old style but are redecorated. Do not expect modernish stuff.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeyildie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed here en route to Spain and again on our way back. Excellent hotel for a stopover as it's so near the autoroute but in a very peaceful location. Lovely walks around the village and nearby, ideal for travelling with a dog. The bedrooms we stayed in were large and comfortable, decorated in shabby chic style, so maybe not suitable for those who prefer ultra modern hotels and facilities. Breakfast was good with plenty of fresh bread and croissants as well as some cold meats, cheese, fruit etc. Best of all was the evening meal we had on our return journey, which was of a very high standard. I think the menu was 29 euros for three courses - all excellent, delicious, professionally presented and served. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant wasn't open on our outward trip so we had to drive to a nearby village to find a restaurant, which was slightly inconvenient but not a major problem.
One minor complaint was that there was nobody at the hotel when we arrived, at about 5.00 pm, on both occasions. There was a notice on the door explaining where to find our key, but if we didn't speak any French we might have had difficulty understanding. The notice said there would be somebody around from 6.30 pm but on our first visit we didn't see any staff until breakfast the following morning, which we found rather strange.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews