We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad treatment”
Review of Escalandes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escalandes
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lesperon
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We received a bad treatment, the staff was not friendly at all. During the day, the rain entered the room, it was flooded when we arrived, because the staff left it open after cleaning. No electricity because of the storm. They charged us 10 € for checking out half an hour late (11 h 35). I would not recommend this place to anybody

Room Tip: this hotel is to be avoided
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcpettena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escalandes, Propriétaire at Escalandes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Clientes allant à un mariage, état de la chambre déplorable (bande de cuirs partout, Cheveux et poils partout !!!! On ne pouvait pas faire le tour du lit tellement il y en avait partout .... aucun respect pour les femmes de chambres, vous devez libérer les deux chambres pour 11 heures seulement vous l'avez libérer a 13heures !!!!vous mentez sur l'horaire et au vu de la remise en état des deux chambres , les femmes de chambres ont fait des heures supplémentaires !!!! On ne souhaite pas au futurs hôteliers de retrouver les chambres comme nous les avons trouvé après seulement deux jours chez nous.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Escalandes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

Stopped off here on drive back from Spain. Nice village.

The hotel is quaint and fairly old. Bedroom was comfortable and clean. The highlight was the restaurant evening meal, which was very good and the breakfast also excellent with probably the best croissant's I have ever had. Light, fluffy and delicious.

I will definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We travel from our house in Brittany to our boat in A Coruna and this makes the perfect overnight stopping place to break what is a two day drive.

Clean and comfortable hotel that is gradually being upgraded - something has been decorated or improved each time we visit. Friendly and helpful staff and a very good restaurant - Michelin recommended - which serves generous portions of excellent food at reasonable prices. There is also a delightful terrace outside the restaurant where it is possible to eat when the weather is warm, shaded by a magnificent wisteria which must have been there for many, many years.

The village itself is also attractive with a very good bar adjoined to a stationers. There is a very pretty church that was once a main staging post on the pilgrims way to Santiago de Compostela and the point at which pilgrims decided if they wanted to continue by land or cut the corner by braving a sea trip across Bay of Biscay. There are also two shops in the village and a very good bakers.

All in all, we couldn't find a better place to stop.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SeaJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Arrived at a somewhat run down village with no apparent inhabitants at 5.00 pm. Hotel was in a similar state of disrepair. Having parked, our key was left in the entrance lobby. Unfortunately, our elderly dog was quite unable to climb the steep and polished steps. No staff available and several other potential guests wandering around looking for help. Kitchen staff arrived around 6.00 who advised that no reception available until after 7.30. This guest house was miles from anywhere and so we had no choice but to drive to find alternative accommodation. Phoned hotel at 7.30 and were charged for a no show.
This property is a somewhat shabby guest house and 3 star hotel is misleading in the extreme.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed for one night on the route from the south.
It is a nice rustique and charming hotel. Perhaps a bit too charming.
The doors of the rooms were making much noise as were the stears. Electricity was poorly done with loose sockets. The foodish smell in the corridor makes slowly its way into the bedroom and opening windows lets the barbecue smell from outside in.
The terrace is very nice under the green leaves and not too much dirt falls down into your drinks. Rooms are nicely redone but elementary. Nothing luxury but everything 'works'.
The daily menue at 20 Eu pp is not displayed and staff is not available during the day.
There is WiFi available but it is an open network so for security reasons not recommended.
What bothers me most is the 'chef' who comments to everything. As we did not intend to eat there, we went elsewhere and while coming back, I heard him say to another employee 'Ils sont top tard' (They are too late). Of course we were too late for supper as we went elsewhere to eat. Similar reactions can be read on other revews : it is not the fault of the hotel, it is the fault of the tourist.
Our keys were not available at arrival and the owner also acted as we did something wrong with our reservation. Eventually we got the keys without any apology.
There was a double extra blanket on top of the mattrass as if some wetness had to be covered. Price could be lower for a too old-style hotel : it actually is a budget hotel for a prime price.
Yes, if you want a Fauwlty-Towers-ish hotel, this probably is it !

Room Tip: All rooms are 'rustique' with an old style but are redecorated. Do not expect modernish stu...
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeyildie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lesperon
11.7 km away
Inter-Hotel Les Bruyeres Hotel
27.0 km away
Best Western Sourceo
Best Western Sourceo
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-Les-Dax
368 reviews
25.4 km away
Les Ecureuils
Les Ecureuils
#3 of 7 in Moliets et Maa
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Relais de la Poste
Relais de la Poste
#1 of 1 in Magescq
155 reviews
29.0 km away
Ibis Styles Dax Miradour
26.9 km away
Brit Hotel du Lac
Brit Hotel du Lac
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-Les-Dax
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escalandes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escalandes

Address: 35 rue du Commerce, 40260 Lesperon, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Lesperon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lesperon
Price Range: RM270 - RM361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escalandes 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Escalandes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing