We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
131
78
17
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
78
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con large glass of wine convenience store rooms are spacious and clean microwave and fridge great budget hotel mythos lager plenty of sunbeds cheap cocktails the main road easy reach good sized balcony safe box fresh sheets and towels washing line hotel is located free pool table
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely place staff were so nice great value for money on food and drinks will definitely be back next year there is also a pool table which is free certain times of the day and a happy hr between 6 and 9 at night the karaoke is good as well
Regards
Karen and Andy

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We popped in to meet some friends who were staying their. We had been their for a few hours kids swimming in the pool whilst we were having drinks and an old guy (maybe the owners father) went to the kids and asked them if they stayed at the hotel, they told him no and he said they had to go coz the pool was for customers only even though it said “open to all” outside. Really pissed me off, never going back!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank johnie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa Z, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Vanessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Three of the most important rules to use the swimming pool are:
1)The kids have to be accompanied from their parents, and not alone.
2)Parents have to control the kids not making extreme noises and play dangerous games.
3)To respect other kids and people that use the swimming pool or the area around.
At the beginning of August we had some groups of kids that they did all the above.
One of these groups was in the swimming pool without the parents.
Also the kids stepped on the lights of the pool to come out many times until 3 of them broke.
Anyway, if one or more of the above exist ( dangerous games, running around the pool, screaming, not respect for the other people and kids, or unaccompanied kids ),then we are sorry but we can warning first and if nothing will change then we will ask to leave the pool.

If somehow by mistake we asked you and your kids to leave without reason we would like with honesty to apologize.

kind regards
Vanessa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Situated close to beach and shops/restaurants/cafes/bars. Friendly service and owners assisted with all our queries. Lovely pool for kids and cooling off after the beach. We had the apartment with a view of only the carpark. There is not much room to move around but there is a balcony where you can sit and hang clothes. Furniture outdated and mattresses were not comfortable - you could feel the springs when lying down. Breakfast was great and staff were great. Kalamaki is mostly populated with people from the United Kingdom and surrounding restaurants cater for them. Overall, hotel is ok but for those of a Greek background, like myself, I would have preferred a different location to get the authentic Zakynthos experience.

Room tip: Select a room with a view of the pool.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ghata12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We booked to stay at Vanessa only 6 weeks in advance, the staff are very friendly and the rooms are basic but sufficient, although the kitchen could do with a toaster. The pool area was nice with always free sunloungers at any time of the day, however the pool wasn't properly cleaned often enough and turned my daughter's blonde hair green! Now to the pool bar, I cannot speak highly enough of Vasia the waitress during the day she is an absolute star, hardworking and always smiling, who I am now honoured to call a friend! and also Nikos the barman with amazing eyes and super friendly nature. The food is great and a pint of Mythos for €2.40 is a bargain. All in all we loved our week at Vanessa just wished we had booked 2!. Xx

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank MrandMrsSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Kalamaki strip, with all kinds of bars, restaurants, tourist shops etc etc. From the hotel, you cross the road and walk 5-10 minutes and your right on a beautiful sandy beach with clear water.

We got a decently sized 4-bed room with air conditioning and balcony. Cleaning every other day.

Normally we prefer to eat breakfast at home, the other meals are often eaten in restaurants. The kitchen was missing some basic equipment though. For example, there should a dish brush, soap and towels readily available.
Also, it wouldn't hurt to upgrade plates, cutlery etc to make it easier for the guest to prepare their own food.

The pool was easily accessible and clean. Nice selection of sunbeds right by. There is also a bar in conjunction with the pool. They have the same name ("Vanessa") but are not connected to the hotel. The bar has a pretty good selection of snacks and drinks.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Kalamaki should not be confused with Laganas, which is located further down the same strip. Laganas is for young people on a party trip, Kalamaki is for families.

Room tip: Balconies facing the pool are too hot to enjoy breakfast on.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 127vegardk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews