We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Helona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helona Resort
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in a Shared Pool Room. The room itself was large, clean and tidy.

The pool was shared between around 6 rooms, however the pool never had any more than 2/3 people in it at any one time, so while 6 rooms sounds a lot, the pool is large enough to comfortably accommodate all rooms. I agree that the shared pool is not particularly private, personally this didn’t bother me as i enjoyed people watching, but if you want a private pool then you probably need to book a different hotel.

There is one main pool and one children’s pool but we didn’t bother with these.

There is a mini bar in room but the items are, as you would expect for a mini bar, inflated. €6 for a Toblerone for example. The restocking of the mini bar is hit and miss.

Tea and coffee making facilities are provided in the room free of charge.

The bathroom is modern and spacious. I had lukewarm showers the first few days, but discovered that the temperature needs to be adjusted prior to turning on the shower.

Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh pool towels were provided daily along with the regular towel change.

The hotel is beautiful, it is set in gardens that are well maintained.

As others have mentioned it is close to the airport and seemingly on the final approach. Planes fly low over the hotel all day, everyday. If this bothers you, don’t stay here. Again, this isn’t something that bothered us. The flights do seem to stop around 11pm and start again around 7am.

The complex is large and spread out over multi levels, but getting around isn’t an issue.

There are two restaurants, one buffet and one with a limited menu. I am a fussy eater and was worried that i would not find anything to eat. I ate well every night. There is a wide choice so if you are picky like me, you will find something.

I would disagree that leftovers are provided night after night. The food is fresh.

There are a couple of bars at the hotel, i personally preferred the bar close to reception over the pool bar but only for its location and comfortable seating.

Cocktails can be a little hit and miss, some loaded with alcohol, others with hardily any alcohol. I found the best cocktails to be from the lobby bar.

There is limited entertainment available in the evening, fine for us, but if you bore easily then this hotel probably isn’t suitable.

Its located just outside of Kardenmena. Its €10 each way in a taxi into the town. Kardenmena was a bit disappointing, rundown and deserted. I think the earthquake and the events of the past few years have really had an impact on the island.

Overall, if you want a week away to relax and unwind this is the hotel to choose.

I would not hesitate to book the hotel again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Helona Resort. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

All is not as it appears. This hotel as a structure/ building is wonderful. I believe it was built by Hilton Group in 2009. The fabric of the buildings and rooms are good quality. On arrival it is possible to believe it was a 5 star hotel, however, on first introduction to the dining room or "cocktail" lounges the illusion would disappear.

The hotel lacked atmosphere and had no charisma. Most guests looked slightly dazed. It had a good position right next to the sea, slightly scruffy beach area but loungers and sun shades were provided; as were towels. Not far from the airport but that meant planes coming in over head. Lots of swimming pools but only 1 main and 1 child's outdoors. 1 indoor at the spa that was adults only. You would have to book a "shared pool" room to get your own pool. This is a good idea but be aware they are not very private.

Cleaning staff were efficient and the grounds were kept well. Apart from the bowls of food scraps left out for the stray cats.

This brings me to the dining areas. I know Greece is in a financial crisis but I have never come across a "5" star hotel that serves food like it is a soup kitchen. The re-use of left-overs was appalling. The bread was stale. The fruit and vegetables curling at the edges. The "sea food salad" consisted of messed up green leaves and unidentifiable stuff with flaked, smoked mackerel. Cheap. This hotel is definitely on a cutting costs exercise.

As my stay progressed my plates of food got smaller as the choice became restricted and the sight of, for instance poached eggs from breakfast being put out on top of salad for dinner, just became nauseating. Roast pork one evening kept reappearing for three days and the profiteroles just kept coming back with a new dollop of goo on the top! I did try the à la carte restaurant. Very poor choice and the food was worse.

The "cocktail" lounge was beautiful, but go at cocktail hour( pre dinner, sundowners) and its change of shift. There also seemed to be a suspicious lack of strength to these "alcoholic" beverages.

Restaurant staff were chatty and generally helpful but be aware the same jovial conversation is repeated with every new guest, its very insincere.

One final point is that if you have late check out. This "5" star hotel does not have a room or any facility for guests to shower and change after normal check out. You may be lucky and be given a free room but they always state "we are full".

One positive note is the fact that I came home a few pounds lighter in weight, that may be due to the tummy bug that came with me though!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sunrayshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at Helona Resort in such a detail. We value all our guests comments in order to improve our services and achieve our Guests’ satisfaction.
Just for the sake of good order I would like to mention the following points:
All our pools that have room access are labeled as shared pools between 3-6 guests rooms spread all around the resort. The only ones labeled as private are the ones of the Suites and the Villas.
We provide daily enriched buffets to cater for the needs and desires of all our guests. We are offering fresh agricultural ingredients, in most cases locally produced. Under no circumstances we follow cost cutting practices as described which could lead in food safety hazards. Having such a wide variety of choices results in some items frequently used, but always freshly prepared. As for the cocktails, we use standard international recipes.
Lastly we wish to inform you that for departures leaving the hotel later than the standard check out time; courtesy rooms are available according to the hotel’s occupancy.
I also wish to express our appreciation for the positive comments you have made.

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is lovely , the staff are very pleasant and the porter john was so nice ! We had a superior shared pool room (room 501) which was amazing !! Would highly recommend this room , has the biggest pool and an extra terrace to sunbathe . Only downside of this room is people walk by all day peering in , taking pictures of the pool and dipping their hands in it on the way by . Inside of room was a large king bed and bathroom with shower cubicle and bath . Decor was ok bit drab I thought with all the dark wood furniture and TV sitting on top of drawers for £1400 for the week b&b I would have expected better decor , but spacious room . Food was plentiful and desserts amazing but €3.50 for a can of juice from the pool bar is ridiculous and they don't sell any in the small shop on site so you need to buy it !! Kardamena town was disappointing beyond belief it was like a ghost town . The pubs had nobody in them atall and there was no atmosphere anywhere . Don't know if this was due to the earthquake that had happened previously , but even eating wise there's not much there . Hotel is not within walking distance to town €10 euros each way in taxi or €1.80 on bus (bus stop at bottom of hotel ) . No entertainment in hotel really so we were quite bored at night with the town being so quiet also . Overall lovely hotel , lovely weather , lovely staff . Def book a shared pool room worth the money !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindyloo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Helona Resort. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Well located.
Great beach. We didn't try the pool though looks good.
Very freindly staff.
Veriable food for different poeple.
Special lane for sitting outside,in the terrace for dining.
Small lovely spa.
Got a birthsday cake for my wife,nice jesture.
Recomended.
Thak u for lovely staying.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank menasheIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Helona Resort. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and rewarding experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

5 star rating from me. It's my 4 time back this year, you can't find anywhere better than here I can't get enough of it here, weather and the people. Booking next year to come back. The food is freshly made and outstanding taste, I can't think off anything they don't have here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Allan,

Thank you for your positive feedback and, above all, thank you for your loyalty. We are very pleased to read that your recent stay with us was a pleasant experience. We were delighted to have you with us again and we look forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.5 km away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#11 of 39 in Kardamena
287 reviews
18.5 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
8.7 km away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
25.0 km away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
22.9 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helona Resort

Address: Akti Helona S.A | Gourniatis, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#7 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: RM514 - RM2,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Helona Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helona Resort is a beautiful establishment with an impressive architecture. Small buildings scattered in beautiful gardens, elegant domes, cobbled alleys and natural materials such as stone, wood and marble, allow the entire complex to blend harmoniously with the surrounding, peaceful landscape. Large windows and openings offer a fantastic view to the sunny Aegean Sea and lighten up all interior spaces. Twenty-one infinity pools enable water to flow from one to the other, inviting guests to dive into summer happiness. The resort sits on a gentle hill that overlooks the beautiful Helona beach, on the southern coast of Kos island, at a peaceful area called Gourniatis, only 11 km from Kos international airport (KGS) and 4 km off the lively village Kardamena. Kos town is about 35 km away.Helona Resort has a delightful collection of spacious guest rooms, cosy family rooms, luxurious suites and private villas. Many of the rooms enjoy the extra privilege of a shared swimming pool in front of their terrace whilst others have lovely gardens spreading in front of them. Each one of the suites and villas has its own private pool. The resort has two restaurants, three bars, a spa and a conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helona Resort (Aka Doubletree By Hilton Resort Kos-Helona) Hotel Kardamena
Helona Hotel Kardamena
Helona Resort Kos/Kardamena, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing