We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lakitira Suites(Kardamena)
US$271
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cleopatra Superior Hotel(Kardamena)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$471/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$312/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$164
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
422
262
82
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
262
82
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantshared poolmark warnerhilton doubletreesea viewbreakfast and dinnermain poolreception managernisyros islandkos townprivate beachsnack barrestaurant staffrelaxing stayrented a carbeach towelslovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

All is not as it appears. This hotel as a structure/ building is wonderful. I believe it was built by Hilton Group in 2009. The fabric of the buildings and rooms are good quality. On arrival it is possible to believe it was a 5 star hotel, however, on first introduction to the dining room or "cocktail" lounges the illusion would disappear.

The hotel lacked atmosphere and had no charisma. Most guests looked slightly dazed. It had a good position right next to the sea, slightly scruffy beach area but loungers and sun shades were provided; as were towels. Not far from the airport but that meant planes coming in over head. Lots of swimming pools but only 1 main and 1 child's outdoors. 1 indoor at the spa that was adults only. You would have to book a "shared pool" room to get your own pool. This is a good idea but be aware they are not very private.

Cleaning staff were efficient and the grounds were kept well. Apart from the bowls of food scraps left out for the stray cats.

This brings me to the dining areas. I know Greece is in a financial crisis but I have never come across a "5" star hotel that serves food like it is a soup kitchen. The re-use of left-overs was appalling. The bread was stale. The fruit and vegetables curling at the edges. The "sea food salad" consisted of messed up green leaves and unidentifiable stuff with flaked, smoked mackerel. Cheap. This hotel is definitely on a cutting costs exercise.

As my stay progressed my plates of food got smaller as the choice became restricted and the sight of, for instance poached eggs from breakfast being put out on top of salad for dinner, just became nauseating. Roast pork one evening kept reappearing for three days and the profiteroles just kept coming back with a new dollop of goo on the top! I did try the à la carte restaurant. Very poor choice and the food was worse.

The "cocktail" lounge was beautiful, but go at cocktail hour( pre dinner, sundowners) and its change of shift. There also seemed to be a suspicious lack of strength to these "alcoholic" beverages.

Restaurant staff were chatty and generally helpful but be aware the same jovial conversation is repeated with every new guest, its very insincere.

One final point is that if you have late check out. This "5" star hotel does not have a room or any facility for guests to shower and change after normal check out. You may be lucky and be given a free room but they always state "we are full".

One positive note is the fact that I came home a few pounds lighter in weight, that may be due to the tummy bug that came with me though!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Sunrayshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at Helona Resort in such a detail. We value all our guests comments in order to improve our services and achieve our Guests’ satisfaction.
Just for the sake of good order I would like to mention the following points:
All our pools that have room access are labeled as shared pools between 3-6 guests rooms spread all around the resort. The only ones labeled as private are the ones of the Suites and the Villas.
We provide daily enriched buffets to cater for the needs and desires of all our guests. We are offering fresh agricultural ingredients, in most cases locally produced. Under no circumstances we follow cost cutting practices as described which could lead in food safety hazards. Having such a wide variety of choices results in some items frequently used, but always freshly prepared. As for the cocktails, we use standard international recipes.
Lastly we wish to inform you that for departures leaving the hotel later than the standard check out time; courtesy rooms are available according to the hotel’s occupancy.
I also wish to express our appreciation for the positive comments you have made.

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is lovely , the staff are very pleasant and the porter john was so nice ! We had a superior shared pool room (room 501) which was amazing !! Would highly recommend this room , has the biggest pool and an extra terrace to sunbathe . Only downside of this room is people walk by all day peering in , taking pictures of the pool and dipping their hands in it on the way by . Inside of room was a large king bed and bathroom with shower cubicle and bath . Decor was ok bit drab I thought with all the dark wood furniture and TV sitting on top of drawers for £1400 for the week b&b I would have expected better decor , but spacious room . Food was plentiful and desserts amazing but €3.50 for a can of juice from the pool bar is ridiculous and they don't sell any in the small shop on site so you need to buy it !! Kardamena town was disappointing beyond belief it was like a ghost town . The pubs had nobody in them atall and there was no atmosphere anywhere . Don't know if this was due to the earthquake that had happened previously , but even eating wise there's not much there . Hotel is not within walking distance to town €10 euros each way in taxi or €1.80 on bus (bus stop at bottom of hotel ) . No entertainment in hotel really so we were quite bored at night with the town being so quiet also . Overall lovely hotel , lovely weather , lovely staff . Def book a shared pool room worth the money !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindyloo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Helona Resort. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Well located.
Great beach. We didn't try the pool though looks good.
Very freindly staff.
Veriable food for different poeple.
Special lane for sitting outside,in the terrace for dining.
Small lovely spa.
Got a birthsday cake for my wife,nice jesture.
Recomended.
Thak u for lovely staying.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank menasheIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Helona Resort. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and rewarding experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

5 star rating from me. It's my 4 time back this year, you can't find anywhere better than here I can't get enough of it here, weather and the people. Booking next year to come back. The food is freshly made and outstanding taste, I can't think off anything they don't have here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Allan,

Thank you for your positive feedback and, above all, thank you for your loyalty. We are very pleased to read that your recent stay with us was a pleasant experience. We were delighted to have you with us again and we look forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Our stay at the Helona Resort in Kos, Greece was magical. From the second we arrived at the resort, we were treated like family. In addition to the breathtaking views and carefully decorated common areas, the accommodations were spectacular. Daily fruit plates, nightly turn down service, a private pool and terrace were only a few of the spoils we enjoyed during our stay. Mealtime offered foods for every palate and had a different theme each night. After dinner, it was nightly drinks on the main terrace, complete with live music. The staff were very welcoming and always available to answer any questions we had about planning trips off the resort. We felt very safe and well-taken care of during our entire stay at the Helona Resort. We had a wonderful time and can't wait until we can return!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RRTRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Helona Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews