We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lakitira Suites(Kardamena)
US$137
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleopatra Superior Hotel(Kardamena)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Origin Hotel Apartments(Kardamena)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nikos II Apartments(Kardamena)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
US$97
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$270
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
268
347
171
65
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
347
171
65
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian guestsanimation teambar staffgrill houserestaurant manager was lovelypastalimited snacksquad bike hiremet lovely peoplestar standardsevening entertainmentsomething nice to eatmorning and eveningstaff were fabenglish familiespool barprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 11pm to be told they were overbooked. Along with another couple we were shipped off in a shuttle bus to a hotel on the other side of the island which we were assured was the same standard. However the beds were rock hard and the bathroom stank of sewage plus it was not in the location I had spent a long time researching and choosing. Thankfully I hadn't booked any day trips for the first few days. Two days later a bus arrived to take us back to the Sovereign and from there I have no complaints. There was a whole shuttle bus full of people being collected to come back to the hotel so it seems to be rather a common issue and really not acceptable.
However the sovereign is a lovely hotel. Food was great. Brilliant choice and I am super fussy but always found something to eat. Great location with a pleasant 20min walk into Kardemena town. Reception were always helpful and friendly. We negotiated free WiFi, safe, a massage and a days quad bike hire in return for the inconvenience of losing 2days of our holiday. We also hired a buggy for the day to get out and explore the rest of the island. There is a nasty stink of sewage around the turn off the road into the hotel but I never once smelt it within the hotel complex. The hotel bar served great cocktails and there was wine and beer available all day. Can't speak for the beer but everything else was very drinkable. Taverna serves hotdogs, pizza, burgers, fruit etc from 10am to 5pm as well as breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main restaurant so never short of food or drink.
Recommend a boat trip with Zeus from Kardemena to visit bubble beach and kefalos bay. Highlight of our trip for sure.
I would love to return to Kos and this hotel although the overbooking problem makes me nervous of booking again as I would really want to stay here not at some other hotel!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nikkivet2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

The Sovereign Team expresses its deeply gratitued for your evaluation.
We apologize for the inconvenience.
We wish to give us the chance to accomondate you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Eirini Fragkos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel- very clean and modern. The cleaning staff were working all day cleaning multiple times throughout the day.

Room- plenty of room, nice and clean and modern. We had a lovely view onto the pool and beach. Only thing was when we turned the shower on it smelt of rotten egg for a minute or so. We could only find one channel that was in English but when we spoke to reception they said there should be more and a technical guy would have a look but this didn’t happen.

Bars- Karen the bartender at the poolside bar was very good. The area was always kept clean and tidy. The main bar, again kept very clean and didn’t wait too long for drinks. The beach bar had a limited amount of drinks, only soft drinks and beer available. The drinks were the usual local produce that you would expect from an all inclusive. The cocktails were very sweet but tasty.

Food- huge let down for the hotel! If you like sage and oregano with cheap meat you’ll be okay. This is the 3rd all inclusive holiday we have been on this year and this is by far the worst food we have had! We don’t class ourselves as fussy eaters but there were certain items of food, mainly meat, that we couldn’t eat. The salad and cheese were nice. The puddings were the usual cakes that taste of nothing but sweet sugaryness. The burgers and Bolognese sauces etc, were made from really low quality meat which meant the texture and the taste were poor. There were some nights with joints of meat like a carvery which were better but often over cooked and dry. There was a big selection of fish but when you don’t eat fish like ourselves it massively reduces your selection. The pasta was always over cooked and cooked in butter. Everything, no matter what they were cooking was seasoned with sage and oregano. Breakfast was the usual European selection expected at an all inclusive. There was a selection of fruit which was good. On a positive, there was a pizza station which produced thin pizzas which were really good along with some garlic bread.
The restaurant was nice with plenty of seating options. The staff worked hard to keep it clean and tidy too.

Entertainment- we weren’t expecting the west end, but we were very disappointed again. The activities throughout the day were very basic, including walks on the beach. We don’t understand why you needed an animation team to walk along the beach. The evening entertainment was geared to entertain the Russians and Germans, often leaving us wondering what was happening when everyone else was laughing. There was a couple of occasions were shows and activities were advertised throughout the day and days ahead but then animation team didn’t show up, leaving guests stood around not knowing what was going on.

Location- the hotel is very close to the beach with a 5 minute walk through the hotel complex and then you’re on the beach. Kardamena is about 20 minutes walk away but the hotel offer a free bus in the morning and evening which takes you into the centre.

There is a lovely little ginger stray dog that we called Betty. She gave birth whilst we were there! If anyone goes please make sure you feed her! She takes food very gently out of your hand and loves and stroke!

Overall, the hotel and the facilities were good. The food and entertainment let it down but we still entertained ourselves and had a good holiday!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beckyemwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, but we would like to point out the following:

Regarding your issues with the bad smell in the shower, it is the first time that we receive suchlike complaints. However, if you sensed a bad smell, you should inform the reception desk so the maintenance department would check the shower. Unfortunately, without any information, it is impossible for us to act accordingly.

About the TV programs, we have a specific number of channels. The receptionist informed the technician to add more channels, according to the ones that we can provide, as he did. Unfortunately, if the TV didn’t have the channel that you asked for, the reason would be we can’t provide it and not because the technician never came.

According to the food surveys of our hotel, we receive great reviews about the quality and the variety of our buffet. We also follow the ISO & HACCP standards. This guarantees high quality food at the restaurant, as our hotel is carefully examined once a year from HACCP & ISO.

Moreover, we feel sorry to hear that you felt that our animation team pleased only the Russian and German clients, as our animation team has a great knowledge of the English language and therefore the shows are always carried out in English. In case there is a cancelation of an animation event, you may always find an announcement at the reception. If you realized that the animation team didn’t show up at a show that was advertised, you could ask the reception.

Last but not least, we would like to mention once again that our hotel keeps the ISO & HACCP standards. ISO & HACCP guarantees high quality and excellent hygiene in the entire hotel.
Thank you for your evaluation. We hope to see you again next year. We wish you a wonderful winter.

Best Regards,
Irini Fragkou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed for two weeks with. my daughter and her husband, we particularly enjoyed relaxing in the pool area and on the beach, taking advantage of the perfect weather.
The bedrooms were very comfortable and clean, however, we would have appreciated tes/coffee making facilities.
The buffet meals were good although we felt that some meat, particularly lamb were, in our opinion, grossly over cooked.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful, especially the lady maitre d.
Unfortunately, the one Al a carte meal we had was disappointing, the food being fairly cold being served from chafing dishes which, it would seem their heaters had expired.
Kardamena was within a reasonable walking distance from where boat trips to a Nisyros and other interesting excursiond were readily available.
Over all we thoughy enjoyed our stay and would return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Mr Peter,

The Sovereign Team expresses its deeply gratitued for your evaluation.
We wish to give us the chance to accomondate you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Eirini Fragkos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival to the hotel there was quite a rank smell of drainage, which didn't bother us too much as it's often expected in hot countries, however it did sometimes creep into our bathroom.

Checking in was pleasant enough, although we weren't advised where the restaurant was, eating times, where any of the bars were, where the pool/beach was or any other amenities - we were left to find out for ourselves.

The room itself was ok, basic and a little bit tatty but does the job. All rooms have a nice sized balcony with sea views. We did however find hair everywhere (that was not ours as we're both blonde and the hair we found was black). The floors were the worst and mainly in the bathroom. The hairdryer was decent, however it would have been nice to have some tea/coffee facilities in the room.

The main bar (which doesn't open until 6pm) wasn't really sectioned off and it felt like sitting in the lobby which wasn't very relaxing. The outdoor seating was pleasant however.

We felt most of the time that because we visited out of season, everything was half hearted. The beach bar was shut everyday which meant walking all the way back to the pool bar for a drink. There was no entertainment what so ever and the SAME food EVERY night which was really, really boring and unappetising.

Staff in reception were lovely, bar/restaurant staff seemed miserable. It really annoyed me how much they lacked any dining etiquette often clearing our table before we'd finished eating just to get their job done quicker. One evening I almost spoke up to a waiter chucking cutlery in a bucket while we were trying to have a nice meal.

After reading other reviews it appears it's a totally different ball game in peak season and probably a lot more effort is applied.

The location of the hotel was nice, just a 20 minute walk to Kardamena town (where we dined out twice!).

The pool and beach area were pleasant, I would suggest the hotel replace broken/old sunbeds as they look tatty and ugly.

All in all, a lovely holiday in Kos which could have been better at a better kept hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jva90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, but we are obliged to point out the following:

First of all, no one has ever complained to us about any unpleasant smell. If there was a problem, you should immediately address it to the reception.

During the arrival we always mention all the important information relating to our hotel. We also point out that there is an orange folder in the room that contains more detailed information about our hotel.

Also we would like to inform you that our hotel keeps the ISO & HACCP standards. ISO & HACCP guarantees the high quality and hygiene of the entire hotel, which means that we clean every part of our hotel every day (that, of course, includes the bedroom and the bathroom). Our hotel doesn’t provide room service, because we have the all-inclusive program. However if someone asks for room service, we are always willing to bring you some tea or coffee to your room.

Concerning the general management of the hotel, the Main Bar isn’t open before 18:00, because we include a Pool Bar and a Beach Bar till 18:00. Moreover A la Carte Taverna is open and included in the all-Inclusive program. We also have daily animation shows that change every day. Furthermore, there is a 14-day menu with lots food variety each and every day. Responsible for the operation of the restaurant is the Maitre, whom coordinates the waiters to never take plates from the table without asking the client first.

Thank you very much for notifying us that there is a need to change some sunbeds. Before the start of every season, we renovate and replace all the broken sunbeds.

We wish you a nice winter and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed in hotel 25.9-3.10.Hotel surroundings is nice and clean. Food was very good and varied. We had a bungalow with nice seeview. In room had very uncomfortable misshaped mattresses (on photo). Beds were still moving from each other, luckyli a wasn´t on holiday with my husband. Bathroom was outdated, partly moldy, with broken shower and no flowing out bath tube. First day I asked delegate to arrange repair but nothing happend, So I have taped it, because water splashed around whole bathroom. We supposed, that get shampoo in 4 star in automatic. We were wrong, you can beg for shampoo on reception...Not a single time our bath tube was cleaned. Especially because my every day backpain from mattrasse i must give average rating

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirini F, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sovereign Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, but we are obliged to point out the following:

Regarding your issues with the mattresses, we have to inform you that during the arrival of the clients in our hotel, we provide high quality mattresses. However if you feel any discomfort or have any preferences on the types of the mattresses, then you should immediately inform the reception so we are able to provide better services according to what is more suitable for you. Unfortunately, without any information, it is impossible for us to act accordingly.

When damages occur and also the client has informed us about the problem, we instantly report it to our damage book. Thereupon we proceed to notify the maintenance department to further investigate and solve any issues. Afterwards, the Housekeeping Manager evaluates the work done.

We always provide shampoo and shower gel when you first arrive at our hotel, in accordance with our policies. More shampoo and shower gel is given to you upon request. We also wish to mention that there is always a general maintenance before any arrival.

Last but not least, we would like to inform you that our hotel keeps the ISO & HACCP standards. ISO & HACCP guarantees the high quality and hygiene of the entire hotel, which means that we clean every part of our hotel every day (that, of course, includes the bedroom and the bathroom).

We wish you nice winter and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Irini Fragkou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews