We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark Warner holiday learning to sail and windsurf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakitira Resort & Village
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Travel company questionnaires never seem to ask the right questions so hopefully this is more meaningful and useful.

2 adults and 2 teenagers (14 & 17) stayed at Lakitiri Resort & Village in August 2017 booked with Mark Warner. Busy and enjoyable week learning to sail and no complaints. No sign of July’s earthquake or migrants despite Turkey looming on the horizon but we stayed in Kardamenia area and things may be different in Kos town. Suggestions for improvement included at the end of this piece.

The Lakititri complex is an easy 15-minute transfer from Kos airport. It is under the flightpath so you will have planes passing about 300m overhead. However, this is Kos not Heathrow so after a handful of planes (B737, A320 or smaller) there could be a break of an hour. They didn’t bother us at night with windows closed and aircon on.

Lakitiri Resort has hotel rooms on the southern side (handiest for cycling, tennis and the southern beach) and suites on the northern side (handiest for kids clubs and the eastern beach). The suites are in groups giving them the ‘Village’ name. Inland is Lakitiri Suites and along the coast is Helona Resort which seem self-sufficient in pools and dining and not as handy for water sports or children’s activities – maybe why they are adult only. Clientele were mainly British with Mark Warner or Italian with Veratour.

We stayed in the village area in a duplex Village Suite. Ground floor was double ensuite including patio and small fridge. Upstairs was twin ensuite and balcony. Upstairs had its own room number and key but is only accessible from the staircase within the suite. Accommodation was spacious, contemporary and well maintained. Double and twin had separately controlled and effective aircon but both stop when you remove the room key from its holder. We got a spare key for €20 deposit.

The hotel has a reasonable sized main pool varying from 1 to 3m deep and a smaller paddling pool. I couldn’t tell if the pools were heated but the temperature was comfortable except on the last day when it was windy. Presumably de-salinated water given the slightly salty taste. The pool was also used for try dives and water polo and there was always a lifeguard during the day.

Mark Warner ran adult (14+) water sports from the southern beach and children’s water sports from the eastern beach. Seemed to have enough equipment including Pico, Quba, Laser, Argo and some cats. Beach is sandy turning to shingle at the shoreline and stony in the sea. Lots of grazes after a week so water boots to protect feet and legs is a good idea. We had offshore breeze (green flag) first thing, switching to steadier cross shore breeze (Blue flag) mid-morning and stronger offshore in the afternoon (red/blue flag). We took RYA level 1 over four mornings under green and blue flags but strong wind at the end of our stay (enough to blow your drink over at the pool bar) stopped our practice.

The main restaurant provides breakfast, lunch (included in full board) and dinner. Buffet style and good choice although repetitive. Lots of different salads, pasta option, vegetarian option, a roast or grill and a special, e.g. Asian, Mexican, fish. The Trattoria (pasta and pizza) is an option for lunch and dinner but have to book for dinner. The Taverna in the village area is a quieter option for breakfast and dinner but additional cost for dinner. Apart from water and juice at breakfast all drinks are extra: beer €4/pint, wine around €19/bottle, soft drinks €2/glass.

There is a little shop on site selling swimwear, flip flops, sweets, tourist stuff, etc. It also sold 6x1.5 litre packs of water for €1.9 to replace the two free bottles in the fridge at the start of the week. There are no other shops, restaurants or bars within walking distance. Kardemena is 15-20 minute cycle away. Mark Warner had 28 bikes but only had 6 small enough for my 14 year old daughter and they don’t provide bikes to younger children. There is an hourly bus in the morning and late afternoon (€1.8 each way) or taxis (€10 each way).

Some niggles for Mark Warner to improve its otherwise good service:
Germania - The A319 from Gatwick was 10 years old and operated by Germania’s Bulgarian Eagle subsidiary - budget Bulgarian charter. Choice of hot food for lunchtime outbound flight was limited and the pasta dish I had was overcooked and dried out. The plane smelt of fumes and I had a headache by the time we got to Kos despite drinking a bottle of water and no alcohol. Neither outbound or inbound crew could get the video safety briefing to work. The outbound crew resorted to a manual demonstration which is fine but the inbound crew left it running with no sound and German subtitles.

Room servicing - Five out of six days so we had to make our own beds the penultimate day. Took two days to get fresh coffee cups and the water glasses which were used regularly in high 30’s temperatures were never cleaned or replaced.

Sailing courses: With more than one course marked out the many yellow buoys became confusing. Could we have some other colours please?

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Familymania044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We're just returning from a week's holiday in this resort. Any fears I had about whether this type of holiday would suit us (we are sporty, but tend to travel independently as a family) soon faded - we soon found ourselves packing our week with windsurfing, mountain biking, snorkelling trips, vollleyball, cardio tennis, but were left with plenty of time for sunbathing and messing around in the pool.

While the rooms aren't ultra modern, ours were in a great location and we found this to be a very well run resort. All staff, whether Mark Warner or Lakitira, were extremely professional and helpful. We didn't have any issues or concerns during our stay - other than to request feather pillows.

The buffet selection in the evening was a really pleasant surprise, great variety throughout the week - particularly the salads. Breakfast was more than adequate but a greater selection of chopped fruit and danishes and the ability to order a cappuccino or latte would enhance it even further. The kids were also after maple syrup with their pancakes - but seemed happy to settle for a honey!

Our boys haven't done kids clubs before and weren't down for them on this trip. However, their 3 morning windsurfing course provided the perfect balance for us as a family, enabling my husband and I time to try out a couple of activities the kids couldn't do with us like mountain biking. The remainder of the time we were able to paddle board etc together.

We got to try so many sports in the week, yet are returning home relaxed, refreshed, and ready to book our next MW hols as this formula really works for us. Many thanks to the excellent waterfront team in particular!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Harperslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We had a great time at Lakitira Resort, we're a family of 5 and were staying in one of the villlage suites. We used many of the facilities at the resort including the sailing at the beach, scuba diving, cycling, fitness and the Indy and Mavericks club. The sailing instruction was superb, me (14) and my 16 year old brother completed level 2 and we had lots of fun. I completed my PADI open water course with the diving team, the whole course was professional and very well taught and the whole experience of learning something completely new was great. The fact that there was only me and another boy made the course more intimate and special. The cycling was always well attended and you got to see some beautiful sights around Kardamena and beyond as well. The fitness was instructed very well and it included a range of challenging exercises with easier and harder options so everyone could get involved. The Mavericks club was attended by my 11 year old brother, there was great range of activities in and out of the water and he made loads of friends. I went to the Indy club with my 16 year old brother for a few days. The activities were scarce compared to the younger groups and a lot of time was spent sitting by the pool or at the breeze bar which was kind of disappointing. All the staff as a whole were very supportive and helpful and the accommodation was pretty good, however if you have a sofa bed, ask reception for the extra sponge mattress as otherwise they are rather uncomfortable. Kardamena was a really nice town, lovely view of the sea we recommend the "Pelagos" restaurant and the "Avli" for some great tasting food and charismatic staff. The evening activities varied in enjoyment, and there were many evenings where there wasn't much to do which was why being able to go into town was such a bonus.We did have an enjoyable holiday overall and were glad of all the courses and classes on offer as an alternative to the kids clubs.

Room Tip: We were in the village suites which were nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophierollason2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Sophie,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about our Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Lakitira Resort & Village with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Fantastic atmosphere with all the staff clearly focussed on making your stay as comfortable and fun as possible. The Mark Warner staff were as fantastic as elsewhere, and the local entertainment worked really hard to ensure everyone had fun. There was an Italian tour operator using the hotel also, and their staff also involved everyone in their activities. Take wet shoes to go in the water. There are sandbags forming a path into the sea, but it's very rocky in the sea if you venture off that path. Food was ok, restaurant staff good throughout. BBQ facilities on the beach that you can pre-book is a nice touch. Rooms are cleaned thoroughly although tea and coffee isn't replenished by default. We asked at reception and this was sorted out immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017


Dear Lynda,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Resort. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

YOU CAN'T SWIM IN THEW SEA !!!
You really can't The beach looks great in the pictures - even when you get down to it but then as you step in it's all stones and as you venture gingerly out it's big sharp rocks - check the pictures again - no one in the sea! There's even a sign with a crossed out foot on it that says "ROCKY SURFACE". So if this is important to you (or your kids) give this place a miss.
Other points - be aware that this is not an exclusive Mark Warner resort. The hotel has a deal with another Italian company called Veroclub who share the whole place - doesn't really make any difference just means half the guests are Italian.
Everything under the direct control of Mark Warner was done brilliantly. Kids club / child care first class. Sailing very good, lots of kit on two beaches. Reps brilliant, Mark Warner manager really nice bloke. Everything else distinctly average. Food was an unremarkable buffet, no specialist Greek night, nothing other than lots of Greek salad to let you know where you were. Rooms pretty good, we had a family room (a double and two singles ) which had two loos and two showers, two TVs and a big walk in wardrobe. One big plus is that Kos is small enough to drive around in a day and car hire 9am to 9pm is just forty euros.
In short, if you've been to other Mark Warner resort and been impressed this place will let you down. And remember - YOU CAN'T SWIM IN THE SEA !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Tony,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at Lakitira Resort & Village, in such detail. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you describe.

We will address all the points of your dissatisfaction with our hotel team. Just for the sake of good order, I would like to mention that one out of three beaches we have is certified with blue flag (Helona Beach).

I also wish to express our appreciation for the positive comments you have made.

With kind regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 km away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#10 of 39 in Kardamena
287 reviews
8.5 km away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
23.6 km away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
23.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
5.7 km away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakitira Resort & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakitira Resort & Village

Address: Gourniati, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: RM356 - RM1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakitira Resort & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakitira Resort & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakitira Beach Resort Mark Warner Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Hotel Mark Warner
Lakitira Hotel Kardamena
Lakitira Resort & Village Kos/Kardamena, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing