We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas(Playa de Jandia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
XQ El Palacete(Playa de Jandia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Club Jandia Princess(Playa de Jandia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SBH Jandia Resort(Playa de Jandia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
150
79
24
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
79
24
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman guestsenglish repmorro jablegerman hotellounging chairsmeat and vegetarian optionslarge spar supermarketperfect positionevening entertainmenthotel runssea viewturtle sanctuarywaiters and bar staffpool arearestaurants and shopsspacious balconywalk in shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We stayed here for the last two weeks of June and can honestly say that we have stayed at five star hotels less impressive.
The location and sea views are fantastic with an almost 180 deg view of the Atlantic.
The hotel is literally situated on an amazing beach which goes on for miles with just the width of the promenade in between.
When you step on to the promenade you are just a couple of minutes walk away from some bars and restaurants that are just sitting on the waters edge with some other restaurants and shops located within the small and very local village.
The hotel is very well run and the staff here work hard to keep up a very high standard, especially the restaurant and cleaning staff.
The food here is very good with a large selection of meat and fish dishes being cooked in font of you, however, as one of us is vegetarian there was a little less emphasis on this, e.g. there were always a very good selection of vegetable dishes that looked amazing but were contaminated with meat or fish, and this was extremely frustrating.
As previously mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is predominantly of German guests and although there are some British people staying (easily identifiable by the bodily ink work) they are well in the minority.
The only negative from this memorable holiday was with the lifts, there are only two with only one of them able to take you from the top of the hotel to the bottom, this inevitably meant you were spending a lot of your time either in or at least waiting for it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David_ANeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

A beautiful resort & so relaxing!. The hotel runs like a well oiled machine, paying a great detail to attention. Pleased we paid for a sea view upgrade though, as I wouldn't have wanted to be on the lower ground floors. The staff are very friendly & effecient throughout & work extremely hard, including those behind the scenes. I have to say a special thanks to the following staff in particular; Marcos, Isabel, Pablo, Claudio & Lorenzo.
Although the entertainment was particularly geared towards the German guests, it was still enjoyable & quite funny at times. The food was 'outstanding' & there was plenty of choice for all tastes, although limited choices if you're a vegetarian.
Situated in a great location, right on the ocean & next to an old fishing village with plenty of bars to choose from, with no lager louts in sight.
One negative thing to say (not about the hotel) is if you expect to see a Thomson English rep, it won't happen. We were told at the airport if you have any problems, ring this number... that was the last we heard until the transfer at the end. If you do have any questions however, the German rep is extremely helpful & friendly.
Would definitely give this place a 10/10!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Debs1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Great resort exactly what We were looking for.. Total relax.. Great and very helpful staff.. Located in a prime position ocean front. Great pool area. The resort is right in front of the beach so all rooms get a sea view. Al staff speak fluent spanish german english and italian. Very efficient staff and very clean rooms. We liked the resort because We were not disturbed in any way by any of the staff in regards to animation. The food is fresh and you have a choice of à la carte (lunch) and buffet (dinner) which is well done. Breakfast starts from 8am and dinner starts from 6pm. Evening entertainment is mainly orientated towards a german audience But We had a great time any way.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ip74au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We have just come back from a most relaxing holiday. The Sensimar calypso is a very well organised hotel. We stayed on the 8th floor with magnificent views from our spacious balcony. Holiday makers were predominantly German and very friendly. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the hotel spotless. We would definitely recommend. Be aware that there are no English tv channels apart from the news.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 414michaelq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We were after a week away from everything to chill by a pool, eat and drink locally, with a beach to hand. This ticked all those boxes and more.
Peacefully set on the hills by the beach this resort has the sun all day, whether you lay by the pool or trot down the steps to the sandy beach on its doorstep.
The service is brilliant, never left waiting around for a drink or a bite to eat by the pool.
The Calypso seems to be a corner of Fueventura which the Germans love as it's swamped with them and is even the second language here. Being English made you feel surprisingly like the minority for once.
Thoroughly recommend if you want a relaxing break with no kids running free.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mpage23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews