We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$187
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$205
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SBH Monica Beach(Costa Calma)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$252
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$173
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
H10 Tindaya(Costa Calma)
US$294
US$279
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Suite(Costa Calma)
US$160
US$148
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$185
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,724)
Filter reviews
1,724 results
Traveller rating
414
679
344
176
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
679
344
176
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishplenty of sunbedsprivate beachbeach barsaladcosta calma beachanimation teamgreat holidaythe main hotelevening entertainmentafrican marketgarden viewsmall supermarketthe thomas cook repoasis parkenjoyable holidaymini disco
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,724 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely young man (didn’t catch his name)
We were given two keys, and the 3 of us all had wrist bands. He gave us a map and circled our room...Which was a fair walk we had room 525 which was meant to be a sea view room, could hardly see any of the sea mainly the palm trees.

The rooms were standard, comfy bed the 3rd bed was just a sofa which turned into a bed. Tv only had 2 English channels the rest was mainly German. Safe was in the wardrobe which we never used.
Not many plug sockets just one each side on the bed.
We had a small balcony however if you wanted to sit outside at night time and have a quiet read this was impossible as none of the lights worked. We had to clean the two chairs outside before we sat on them as there were very grubby.
Bathroom was nice and clean and spacious, we had a shower and bath both worked well. We was provided with a hairdryer and some toiletries upon arrival.

Cleaners did a lovely job everyday, clean towels if you wanted and bed sheets. Also left my daughter some sweets on the towels which I thought was lovely, always used there imagination with the clean towels creating dogs, swans and elephants for my daughter to walk into once the room was cleaned. I thank them a lot!

Food was poor did not cater for children, or take into peoples diet requirements example if you were diabetic you had no chance.
They had pasta on everyday lunch and evening meals same for the pizza chips and rice. Only done chicken once the rest was goat or beef which was dry and didn’t provide anymore once it was gone.
Desserts were nice but got very samey after a while always had ice cream chocolate fountains marshmallows and fruit.
Breakfast was the same everyday pancakes, bread, cereals, fruit and fried breakfast but was enjoyable.
However shout out to the the waiters ect as they were very welcoming and always cleared your space once you finished your meal, there was a young man who made flowers/shoes out of the napkins for my daughter which she loved.

Entertainment was next to nothing unless German. Couldn’t take daughter to the mini disco as 9/10 kids were German, this started at 8:30pm which is far to late in my opinion. She couldn’t attend the kids club as it was 4-8 years she was 3 at the time of going however even if she was 4 would of been pointless as again we didn’t see one English child whilst we were there.

Bar was ok however it seemed if you were anything other than English you bet they were served before you. Drinks were very watery, didn’t have a proper menu explaining what was in the cocktails either didn’t bother to decorate them and make them look nice either which is a shame considering it’s meant to be 4 star.

Things to do were very limited, we went on a bus to a shopping centre took 40 minutes was a waste of time as the place look neglected, however we did find a lovely beach which was a nice change from the hotel. Busses were unreliable didn’t come the time they said either and was full of anyone other than English.

Hotel beach was lovely however the signs to reserve sun beds are ignored by the Germans, and also the signs saying NO SMOKING as the Germans sat there happily smoking away. Didn’t like the fact they fed the cats normally hotels I’ve been to get them off the hotels as it’s not hygienic.

All in all the worst holiday I’ve ever booked through jet 2. Shouldn’t be a 4 star should be 2 star 3 at a push and that’s being kind.
Would only visit if I was German as that’s all they seem to cater for. Definitely wouldn’t recommend to families or couples or the elderly especially not the English.

Very dissatisfied with majority of the staff they were rude and don’t want to help at all if English, if I could have my money back today I definitely would and would not feel at all guilty!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank E-J-C-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear E-J-C-19,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to review our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with some aspects of our hotel.

Firstly we would like to say that we do not differentiate between nationalities of our clients. We are very proud to host a mix of English, French, Italian, Spanish, German, Dutch, Swedish, Finish, etc.

We regret that we have not met the expectation of your room. If our guests are not satisfied with the allocated room, we always try to offer alternatives which correspond more to the expectations of the client, but it always depends of the availability of the hotel.

Sorry, if our staff made you an unfriendly impression. We can assure you that our staff has always a smile, because our goal is to ensure that all our guests will spend a wonderful holidays with us and many of our clients are happy with the friendliness of our staff which you can see here on Tripadvisor.

Unfortunately you find our food repetitive but we offer a large variety of food for our clients, which is prepared freshly on a daily basis by our chefs. Many of our clients are satisfied with our variety and quality of our food which you can see in our valuation. There is always something for our children like pizza, pasta, chips, meat, ice-cream, etc. We also offer food for vegetarian or without gluten etc. and on request we are more then happy to organise special food for our clients.

We are sorry to read that you would not like to return to our hotel. If you change your mind, we will be happy to welcome you here again.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

In our view the hotel is too big, no where to get away from noise especially on an evening, no quiet lounge bar. The mid day activity in the pool was so loud that it could be heard well beyond the boundary of the site. After an interesting first meal there the food became uninteresting and very boring. We had a leak from the ceiling in our bathroom repported it, maintenance came within 10 minutes but the leak was still there when we left 7 days later. We had to have the key card reproggrammed every day and when it did work it took up to 10 goes reception staff not really interested. Wi Fi was not included and cost £25 per week and we were told that it was not very good at all. There were rooms in the hotel where you would struggle to see beyond the balcony due to the presence of trees and this was over the first three floors - all in all not very good at all

Room Tip: Try to get 5th or 6th floor and with a so called sea view
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Michael E,

Thank you for leave us your comments and we regret so much that we could not satisfy all your expectations about our hotel SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort.

We are a family hotel and we are very proud to welcome guests of different ages in our hotel. Our resort is very spacious and has enough retreat opportunities to spend a quiet holiday.

We would like to assure you that our hotel has a 4* Standard. At the same time we would like to mention that a modernisation is planned. Furthermore our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the guests with anything they might need. This guarantees the upkeeping of our 4* standard.

We regret that we could not reach the expectation of our food. We would like to mention our chefs prepare a variety of foods on a daily basis. As we cater for a wide range of nationalities we offer an international menu, we offer our clients a wide range of choice between fresh fish and meats, daily soups and vegetables. We also have themed nights in our restaurants such as a Spanish night. Furthermore we give our customers the option to make a reservation once a week in our themed restaurant “Asiatico” located in the SBH Monica Beach Resort. There our customers can indulge in foods from China, Vietnam and Japan. The reservations can be made via our friendly reception staff.

Extras like Wifi are charges for the guarantee a very good basic rate. We are very sorry that you were not informed about it prior to your stay even though it is explained in all travel catalogues.

We still thank you for your holidays here and for your time leaving us your feedback. Critics are always welcome. We really hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Have just returned from a very relaxing week spent at the Costa Calma beach resort. If you are looking for a party and a rave this is not the place for you. We were in the minority as there was a lot of Scandinavians, Germans, Dutch and Russians in the hotel. Good to see so many nations getting along.
Our room was clean and we had a nice view of the beach and pool area. It was in a quite part of the hotel. It was a bit tired in areas mainly the bathroom could have been finished a bit better. There was air conditioning and it did not disturb me through the night.
The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We enjoyed the food. It did get a bit samie as the week went on but was plentiful and fresh.
We had to pay for the use of the safe in our room 25 euros and also paid for the wifi again 25 euros. The wifi only worked near the Reception desk so this was a downside of the hotel but did mean you were not checking your phone every 5 minutes!
The pools were clean but a bit cold to spend a lot of time in. The beach by the hotel was a pepple beach and again the water was cold and on 2 days we were unable to swim as the red flag was flying.
We went to Moro Jable for the day on public transport this was a busier resort and had long sandy beaches.
Also had a day out booked through The Thomas Cook rep ' A Taste of fuerteventura' which was a trip to an Alovera plantation, Goat farm and Olive oil farm. The day included a meal in a village. Enjoyed the day and the tour guide was knowledgable about the island. Other tours were on offer.
There was evening entertainment in the hotel but we did not go so cannot comment also a kids club again cannot comment.
We enjoyed walking along the beaches and feeding a colony of Chipmonks.
Word of warning there were a fair few nudists on the beaches!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kimquinn592016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Kimquinn592016,

Thank you very much for your review about our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort! We are so delighted and happy that you had such a good time and shared your thoughts and experience with us and future guests.

Reviews like yours confirm that we are doing everything correct and are able to transmit happiness and the holiday feeling to our guests. We always try to fulfil the expectations in all aspects of the hotel to make your holiday a perfect one.

We are sorry if you have not been informed about additional costs. However, we would like to explain to you that there are these additional costs, just because we try to meet all special requirements. We would like to give our guests the opportunity to book a basic holiday and make their stay according to their own preferences. We will contact our telephone company to improve this in the future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Hotel and facilities look good - but, Cockroaches in bedroom and ladies toilet. Sofa in room torn and stained. Meat dishes of beef chicken and Goat had more bones than meat. I submitted a 16 point complaint letter to Jet2.

Room Tip: Don't unpack your case until you have thoroughly inspected the room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank alanjamesfoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Alanjamesfoggin,

Thank you for taking a moment to write your review regarding your holidays in our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort and we are deeply disappointed to read that your experience here with us has been negative.

We have our maintenance team which works daily to maintain our 4* standards. They repair minor faults and help customers whenever they need a hand. For example this year we have also changed the mattresses, new chairs in the Snack Bar and Bar Salon.

We also regret that you did not appreciate our gastronomy that is always satisfying the majority of our guests. Our professional kitchen staff prepares a variety of fresh and high quality foods on a daily basis to ensure our clients have a lot to choose from. On different nights we have special themes like Spanish Night, Italian night, etc. Furthermore we prepare fish or meats on our live cooking stations.

Concerning the point referred to insects, we are in an island and in there for the climatic conditions we suffer of this, but our hotel every week is doing the specific controls that are required for try to maintain them away from our facilities.

We will have in mind all your kind comments for a further improvement day by day.
We hope to have the chance to receive you here again and hoping to have the opportunity to let you change your mind.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Good Day from Andrey,Nona and Jessica




Dear readers and future tourists,
After an interesting adventure in Costa Calma, Fuerteventura, I have decided to share my percentage of satisfaction during the whole of the 11 days I've spent over there with my mum and dad.
I'd say the place is amazingly beautiful, that's a 100%. Lovely weather even during a month like mid-November.
Thomson's have been great to fly and enjoy my transport with, here comes the big BUT though!
The hotel "Costa Calma Beach" ****
We were of course expecting a 4 star service, I would strongly disagree with the ACTUAL service we have been treated to. Starting from DAY 1 - As I said it was me(female,25) my mum and dad sharing a room with me which would mean a double bed and a single on the side. Well, the room we'be been shown to was missing a single bed and the view included the back of the hotel with some cut out trees etc, depressing to look at.
Going forward, after my dad has acknolwedged them and got us a proper bedroom with a terrace and an ocean view, great, right!? Well the single bed was not even made up for me(no pillows, no sheets, no towels) It's like we never paid for a third person, eh?!
Anyway, this got sorted too, quite a waste of time on our first day, because of the annoying and poor service of the Hotel Management we also missed out on our lunch as we were starving after the long journey.
We noticed the majority of the hotel guests were german and they were being treated with way more respect and loyalty from the staff, which was completely out of order as we all pay the same and should get treated equally especially in the century we live in I believe correctly! Why I am saying this, the food has gotten way poorer and less entertaining after the hotel has been emptied out by the germans, fair enough they probably run the business the most ;)
Leave that aside I will tell you about the SPA and their ignorant and rude ladies that have no manners whatsover.
The gym hasn't got the right and accurate and stable if you want - equpment.
Bikes don't work and have no levels, everything just seems to be old and in need of a renovation. There is no music, and you're not aloud to bring music either, or talk loudly for that matter, so forget about any "personal trainer time"
Same rule for the jacuzzi, quiet as a fish please! If you dare to raise your voice even for a second one of the two spanish ladies in their 50's will storm in and give you a right howler.
We've been screamed at, not been politely asked or told that we should be keeping quite as there is a MASSAGE session next door that's paid for and not included in the all inclusive deal for the hotel.
Our time at the sauna was brilliant until that lady came in and left the door wide open( we could have been showering, it's a private place and she started washing the floor and cleaning the place, when she was meant to wait for us to go first after our time was UP!!!
My dad asked her to go, she started screaming at us and made us feel absolutely unwelcome.
Fuming from the whole experience we left.
Long story short - our last week in the hotel, the other SPA lady deleted our room number from the bookings without telling us at all, and what makes worse is that we are using the gym on a daily basis in the mornings and she could have told us many times but her UNPROFFESIONAL nature hasn't bothered to.
My parents have been very, very upset and when they went to speak with her, luckily the owner(female in her 30's) was there to listen to everything that has happened so far and she then smiled and has given us new timings and sorted us out, which was great of her to do.
After we left we could hear them screaming one to another in spanish, the next day both ladies were brand new to us and have been smiling and keeping us happy.
And last but not least, the MAIN restaurant and its service.
Waiters shouting in Spanish to each other from one section to other while guests are dining, how "gypsy - like" behavior !!!
Some of the male waiters have been so rude to me when I have asked them to set our table for three, once one of them has actually dropped his cutlery tray on another table out of anger that I have asked him to do that for us, and two other tabels have looked at him in shocked surprise and have also complained to reception about it.
The only male waiter we have loved having around is Luca, he was brilliant and never complained about the busy environment and late comers for that matter as long as it wasn't later than the specific timings, this should be everyone else's behavior, after all this is your job role and your duty is a must do attitude towards all guests!
Show original message

So my overall experience has been 100% lovely as for the private hotel beach and the sunny weather and beautiful place, but poor service can screw this 100 up easily, as it feels way nicer when the atmosphere is POSITIVE!!!


Kind Regard

Andrey, Nona, Jessica

Room Tip: You must call in the Hotel for asking , to show you the cheapest room in the Place...
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nemo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Nemo R,

Thank you very much for leaving a review about your stay in our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort here on Tripadvisor. We are disappointed to see that not all aspects of the hotel were up to your expectation.

We are very proud to host a mix of English, French, Italian, Spanish, German, Dutch, Swedish, Finish, etc. We make every effort to deal with all our guests and can assure you that we treat everyone equally and do not prefer anyone.

We regret to read that you did not like your assigned room. Our receptionist organizes the room according to the booked category. Should our guests be dissatisfied with this, so we can - as far as the occupancy permits - to offer alternatives. We apologize for the missing equipment of the additional person like pillow, towels etc. We have informed our governess to avoid this mistake in the future.

We also regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding friendliness of our staff. We take your comment very seriously, because we service orientation and friendliness is very important for us. Our staff knows that this is an important factor to reach the maximum customer satisfaction.

We cater for an international market and offer international delicacies as well as themed nights. To guarantee customer satisfaction our kitchen prepares a large choice of foods freshly on a daily basis, e.g. meats, fish, veg, pasta, salat, etc. Furthermore our clients can enjoy a dinner in our themed restaurants. Our “Asiatico” is located in our SBH Monica Beach Resort and offers foods from China, Vietnam and Japan. Our “Mare Nostrum” is an a-la-carte restaurant located in our SBH Crystal Beach Adults Only hotel offering vast choice of Mediterranean foods. Reservations can be made via your reception. Both hotels are no more then 10 min walking away from our hotel.

The equipment of our gym is regularly maintained. Should we or our guests discover a defective one so we inform our technician to repair it immediately. We just want to mention that massages are generally not included in the AI-program.

However we would love to gain back your trust and welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews