We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room was small although balcony was a good size. Pool and beach facilities were excellent, plenty of room on beach if you get up too late for a sun bed by the pool.

Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable however my main concern was the food. Choice was poor and lacked rotation, I am admittedly a fussy eater but could not find anything to eat most days and ended up having to walk to the nearest restaurant for evening meals. Evening entertainment was limited but drinks were ok. Also could only get water in very small cups which made it difficult as had to make several trips.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Cowanl26,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and opinions about our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort with us. We are very sorry that you were not happy with some aspects of the hotel. However we can assure you that customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to fulfil their expectations on a daily basis.

We offer a large variety of food for our clients, which is prepared freshly on a daily basis by our chefs. Many of our clients are satisfied with our variety and quality of our food which you can see in our valuation. On different nights we also have special themes like Spanish Night, Italian Night, etc.

However we would love to gain back your trust and welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely young man (didn’t catch his name)
We were given two keys, and the 3 of us all had wrist bands. He gave us a map and circled our room...Which was a fair walk we had room 525 which was meant to be a sea view room, could hardly see any of the sea mainly the palm trees.

The rooms were standard, comfy bed the 3rd bed was just a sofa which turned into a bed. Tv only had 2 English channels the rest was mainly German. Safe was in the wardrobe which we never used.
Not many plug sockets just one each side on the bed.
We had a small balcony however if you wanted to sit outside at night time and have a quiet read this was impossible as none of the lights worked. We had to clean the two chairs outside before we sat on them as there were very grubby.
Bathroom was nice and clean and spacious, we had a shower and bath both worked well. We was provided with a hairdryer and some toiletries upon arrival.

Cleaners did a lovely job everyday, clean towels if you wanted and bed sheets. Also left my daughter some sweets on the towels which I thought was lovely, always used there imagination with the clean towels creating dogs, swans and elephants for my daughter to walk into once the room was cleaned. I thank them a lot!

Food was poor did not cater for children, or take into peoples diet requirements example if you were diabetic you had no chance.
They had pasta on everyday lunch and evening meals same for the pizza chips and rice. Only done chicken once the rest was goat or beef which was dry and didn’t provide anymore once it was gone.
Desserts were nice but got very samey after a while always had ice cream chocolate fountains marshmallows and fruit.
Breakfast was the same everyday pancakes, bread, cereals, fruit and fried breakfast but was enjoyable.
However shout out to the the waiters ect as they were very welcoming and always cleared your space once you finished your meal, there was a young man who made flowers/shoes out of the napkins for my daughter which she loved.

Entertainment was next to nothing unless German. Couldn’t take daughter to the mini disco as 9/10 kids were German, this started at 8:30pm which is far to late in my opinion. She couldn’t attend the kids club as it was 4-8 years she was 3 at the time of going however even if she was 4 would of been pointless as again we didn’t see one English child whilst we were there.

Bar was ok however it seemed if you were anything other than English you bet they were served before you. Drinks were very watery, didn’t have a proper menu explaining what was in the cocktails either didn’t bother to decorate them and make them look nice either which is a shame considering it’s meant to be 4 star.

Things to do were very limited, we went on a bus to a shopping centre took 40 minutes was a waste of time as the place look neglected, however we did find a lovely beach which was a nice change from the hotel. Busses were unreliable didn’t come the time they said either and was full of anyone other than English.

Hotel beach was lovely however the signs to reserve sun beds are ignored by the Germans, and also the signs saying NO SMOKING as the Germans sat there happily smoking away. Didn’t like the fact they fed the cats normally hotels I’ve been to get them off the hotels as it’s not hygienic.

All in all the worst holiday I’ve ever booked through jet 2. Shouldn’t be a 4 star should be 2 star 3 at a push and that’s being kind.
Would only visit if I was German as that’s all they seem to cater for. Definitely wouldn’t recommend to families or couples or the elderly especially not the English.

Very dissatisfied with majority of the staff they were rude and don’t want to help at all if English, if I could have my money back today I definitely would and would not feel at all guilty!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank E-J-C-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear E-J-C-19,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to review our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with some aspects of our hotel.

Firstly we would like to say that we do not differentiate between nationalities of our clients. We are very proud to host a mix of English, French, Italian, Spanish, German, Dutch, Swedish, Finish, etc.

We regret that we have not met the expectation of your room. If our guests are not satisfied with the allocated room, we always try to offer alternatives which correspond more to the expectations of the client, but it always depends of the availability of the hotel.

Sorry, if our staff made you an unfriendly impression. We can assure you that our staff has always a smile, because our goal is to ensure that all our guests will spend a wonderful holidays with us and many of our clients are happy with the friendliness of our staff which you can see here on Tripadvisor.

Unfortunately you find our food repetitive but we offer a large variety of food for our clients, which is prepared freshly on a daily basis by our chefs. Many of our clients are satisfied with our variety and quality of our food which you can see in our valuation. There is always something for our children like pizza, pasta, chips, meat, ice-cream, etc. We also offer food for vegetarian or without gluten etc. and on request we are more then happy to organise special food for our clients.

We are sorry to read that you would not like to return to our hotel. If you change your mind, we will be happy to welcome you here again.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

In our view the hotel is too big, no where to get away from noise especially on an evening, no quiet lounge bar. The mid day activity in the pool was so loud that it could be heard well beyond the boundary of the site. After an interesting first meal there the food became uninteresting and very boring. We had a leak from the ceiling in our bathroom repported it, maintenance came within 10 minutes but the leak was still there when we left 7 days later. We had to have the key card reproggrammed every day and when it did work it took up to 10 goes reception staff not really interested. Wi Fi was not included and cost £25 per week and we were told that it was not very good at all. There were rooms in the hotel where you would struggle to see beyond the balcony due to the presence of trees and this was over the first three floors - all in all not very good at all

Room Tip: Try to get 5th or 6th floor and with a so called sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Michael E,

Thank you for leave us your comments and we regret so much that we could not satisfy all your expectations about our hotel SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort.

We are a family hotel and we are very proud to welcome guests of different ages in our hotel. Our resort is very spacious and has enough retreat opportunities to spend a quiet holiday.

We would like to assure you that our hotel has a 4* Standard. At the same time we would like to mention that a modernisation is planned. Furthermore our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the guests with anything they might need. This guarantees the upkeeping of our 4* standard.

We regret that we could not reach the expectation of our food. We would like to mention our chefs prepare a variety of foods on a daily basis. As we cater for a wide range of nationalities we offer an international menu, we offer our clients a wide range of choice between fresh fish and meats, daily soups and vegetables. We also have themed nights in our restaurants such as a Spanish night. Furthermore we give our customers the option to make a reservation once a week in our themed restaurant “Asiatico” located in the SBH Monica Beach Resort. There our customers can indulge in foods from China, Vietnam and Japan. The reservations can be made via our friendly reception staff.

Extras like Wifi are charges for the guarantee a very good basic rate. We are very sorry that you were not informed about it prior to your stay even though it is explained in all travel catalogues.

We still thank you for your holidays here and for your time leaving us your feedback. Critics are always welcome. We really hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Have just returned from a very relaxing week spent at the Costa Calma beach resort. If you are looking for a party and a rave this is not the place for you. We were in the minority as there was a lot of Scandinavians, Germans, Dutch and Russians in the hotel. Good to see so many nations getting along.
Our room was clean and we had a nice view of the beach and pool area. It was in a quite part of the hotel. It was a bit tired in areas mainly the bathroom could have been finished a bit better. There was air conditioning and it did not disturb me through the night.
The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We enjoyed the food. It did get a bit samie as the week went on but was plentiful and fresh.
We had to pay for the use of the safe in our room 25 euros and also paid for the wifi again 25 euros. The wifi only worked near the Reception desk so this was a downside of the hotel but did mean you were not checking your phone every 5 minutes!
The pools were clean but a bit cold to spend a lot of time in. The beach by the hotel was a pepple beach and again the water was cold and on 2 days we were unable to swim as the red flag was flying.
We went to Moro Jable for the day on public transport this was a busier resort and had long sandy beaches.
Also had a day out booked through The Thomas Cook rep ' A Taste of fuerteventura' which was a trip to an Alovera plantation, Goat farm and Olive oil farm. The day included a meal in a village. Enjoyed the day and the tour guide was knowledgable about the island. Other tours were on offer.
There was evening entertainment in the hotel but we did not go so cannot comment also a kids club again cannot comment.
We enjoyed walking along the beaches and feeding a colony of Chipmonks.
Word of warning there were a fair few nudists on the beaches!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kimquinn592016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Kimquinn592016,

Thank you very much for your review about our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort! We are so delighted and happy that you had such a good time and shared your thoughts and experience with us and future guests.

Reviews like yours confirm that we are doing everything correct and are able to transmit happiness and the holiday feeling to our guests. We always try to fulfil the expectations in all aspects of the hotel to make your holiday a perfect one.

We are sorry if you have not been informed about additional costs. However, we would like to explain to you that there are these additional costs, just because we try to meet all special requirements. We would like to give our guests the opportunity to book a basic holiday and make their stay according to their own preferences. We will contact our telephone company to improve this in the future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Hotel and facilities look good - but, Cockroaches in bedroom and ladies toilet. Sofa in room torn and stained. Meat dishes of beef chicken and Goat had more bones than meat. I submitted a 16 point complaint letter to Jet2.

Room Tip: Don't unpack your case until you have thoroughly inspected the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank alanjamesfoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Alanjamesfoggin,

Thank you for taking a moment to write your review regarding your holidays in our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort and we are deeply disappointed to read that your experience here with us has been negative.

We have our maintenance team which works daily to maintain our 4* standards. They repair minor faults and help customers whenever they need a hand. For example this year we have also changed the mattresses, new chairs in the Snack Bar and Bar Salon.

We also regret that you did not appreciate our gastronomy that is always satisfying the majority of our guests. Our professional kitchen staff prepares a variety of fresh and high quality foods on a daily basis to ensure our clients have a lot to choose from. On different nights we have special themes like Spanish Night, Italian night, etc. Furthermore we prepare fish or meats on our live cooking stations.

Concerning the point referred to insects, we are in an island and in there for the climatic conditions we suffer of this, but our hotel every week is doing the specific controls that are required for try to maintain them away from our facilities.

We will have in mind all your kind comments for a further improvement day by day.
We hope to have the chance to receive you here again and hoping to have the opportunity to let you change your mind.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.1 km away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
591 reviews
0.8 km away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
4.3 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
SBH Monica Beach
SBH Monica Beach
#7 of 27 in Costa Calma
1,094 reviews
2 km away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,910 reviews
16.2 km away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#18 of 73 in Pajara
5,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort

Address: Avda. Augustin Millares, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: RM556 - RM910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort is a 4-star rated modern complex, active and with a lot of space. If you do not want to care about food an drinks, sorts and entertainment: selct our "all inclusive" program. Beach, sunshine and our excellent service brings you your well-deserved recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort
Hotel Costa Calma
Costa Calma Beach Resort
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing