We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$196
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
H10 Tindaya(Costa Calma)
US$243
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Suite(Costa Calma)
US$119
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Calma(Costa Calma)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SBH Monica Beach(Costa Calma)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
86
157
85
23
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
157
85
23
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh wallsfishgerman visitorshotel roompastafamily holidayevery eveningbeach barsea viewmin walksun loungershorizontereceptionistpolishcostafuerteventuragermans
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

So far no particularly good at all.
We have a 3 yr old with us and to start with there is no food at all on the menu suitable for him at all.
Not ignorant but none of the hotel staff speak a word of English meaning communication is very difficult.
We do try by the way to speak their language as best we can.
Out little boy was not so good this evening and despite talking to reception and pleading if we can collect some dinner from the restaurant to enable us to eat in our room this was declined.
We had to struggle with our boy down to eat.
The hotel is quite clean but it appears not very helpful.
Beware if you have any intention of going for a wander there is next to nothing to do and you are a good distance from the next resort, some 25 mins away by taxi.
The resort has very minimal places to eat approximately 5 restaurants and nothing really special to eat and relax in.
I would not recommend anyone comes to this hotel or resort with children.
Will not visit again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Zak1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Zak1124,

Thank you very much for writing your comments about your stay in our SBH Taro Beach.

Our hotel is located just right in front of the beach and has a direct access. Near the hotel our clients can find bars, restaurants and a variety of shops and shopping centre as well as a pharmacy.

We are very happy to cater for different nationalities like Italians, Germans, English, Spanish etc. Normally our staff, started from the front desk to the house maid, is ready to help and solve any questions and most of our staff speaks different languages.

We offer a big variety of food on the normal buffet for our children, where the parents can select the food, like soup, pizza, chips, fish, nuggets, salad etc for their children. Our kitchen prepares a vast choice of international delicacies freshly on a daily basis.

It seems that we could not meet your expectations at all. Hopefully you will find better options in the future within our hotels of SBH.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

went on a family Holiday me with my 3 children ages 9, 9, and 7 with another family, the sfat are very friendly and make you feel welcome. kids loved the holiday but we don't go an many and give the kids a beach and a pool and they will love it.

my problem was it is not a 4 start hotel which Thomson admitted once we got there, and the facilities were very limited. Food is nice and a lot of variety but still not 4 star quality.

over all we did have a nice time but i would not rush to go back unless it was a lot cheaper because i know what to expect.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mr R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear R M,

Thank you so much for having left your detailed review of your stay in our hotel SBH Taro Beach. We appreciate reviews like yours as it helps us to improve our service. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to fulfil their expectations on a daily basis.

We would like to assure you that our hotel has 4* Standard. Our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the customers with anything they might need. This guarantees the upkeeping of our 4* Standart.

We would like to mention that our chefs prepare a variety of foods on a daily basis. As we cater for a wide range of nationalities, we offer an international menu as well as we offer to our clients a wide range of choice between fresh fish and meats, daily soups and vegetables. We also have themed nights in our restaurants such as a Spanish night.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions. It gives us the opportunity to improve and offer better service hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Well, it's our last night at the Taro Beah Hotel, WOW What a hotel!! Food-Amazing, great choice -something different each night -spoiled for choice!, Room - lovely and spacious -very very clean, superior double overlooking the beach, Staff - Fantastic, always pleasant, couldn't do enough for you!, Pool - very clean and large, Sunloungers -sturdy and comfortable and plenty of.
Only 2 negatives - no ball games in the pool and all-inclusive drinks finishes at 11pm, but we had a fridge in our room so we just purchased a few bottles of wine and some cans from the supermarket and had a drink on the patio over looking the sea after 11pm.
This has been one of the best holidays we've ever had!! The beach is stunning, clear water, clean beach, great sun beds (approx €18 per day for 3 with a brolly), there is a restaurant on the beach called Horizonte which serves lovely food if you want a break from the hotel.
Taro Beach Hotel also has a beach bar which is idyllic and has great views.
Please go all inclusive as virtually EVERY drink is included and the meals are amazing!
Costa Calma itself does not have much in ways of Cafes, restaurants etc, but a 10 min walk to Bahia Calma shopping area there are a few restaurants including an Italian which is called Mamma Mia's which serves delicious Pizza.
All in All, a fantastic hotel, Beach and resort (even though tailored more for the German visitors).
It's mostly German, French and Polish at the Hotel and Costa Calma but that didn't bother us as there were no lairy drunken Brits around to spoil it (Brits ourselves so we know!). The Germans can be a bit rude (they don't know what a queue is!) BUT at least they are well behaved.
WE WILL BE BACK WITHIN THE NEXT FEW YEARS!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank vfarmer2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Vfarmer2235,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to write a review about our SBH Taro Beach. We are very pleased you are happy with all aspects of the hotel and have made the decision to visit us again in the future.

We are delighted to read that you had enjoyed one of your best holidays here with us.
All our staff is very thankful you for your kind words as this confirms our well doing and pushes us to continue with our excellent service.

The high quality and variety of foods and drinks on offer are mentioned here on Tripadvisor very positively. Our chefs prepare a large choice of freshly prepared food on a daily basis. We offer food such as fresh fish, meats, etc.

We are greatly looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We stayed in SBH Taro Beach for 10 days in June 2017.

First of all, a few negatives: our room was rather small - we had booked a studio apartment, and it really was just too small for us.
The television service was rather poor: Fuerteventura is on the edge of many European services, but satellite coverage should not be impaired. We had only two English language channels: CNN and MTV - not much of a choice.

However in spite of these details, it was a lovely holiday. For a start, we arrived quite late in the evening, and when we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist told us that a plate of food had been put aside for us in the restaurant - this kind of thoughtful attention to detail meant a lot to us, and was borne out throughout our stay.
The daily maid service was very good - the beds were made and the towels changed every day, including Sunday.The receptionists were friendly, cooperative, and well-informed. There seemed to be plenty of staff to do the various maintenance jobs that need to be seen to, and they certainly appeared to be proud of their work.
The entertainment team was just two - Johnny and Johanna. They were pretty overworked, between doing various poolside games by day, followed by their multilingual cabaret shows in the evening.
The half-board option proved fine for us. Breakfast tended to reflect German taste, with plenty of meat and cheese, and ther ewas always fruit, muesli and various cereals. There was boiled, fried and scrambled egg every morning, and pancakes.
Evening meals were always high quality, with abundant salads of various kinds, roast pork / chicken/ beef / duck, fish, pizza and pasta meals each day and plenty of vegetables made in various ways. It would be quite OK to eat vegetarian every day if we wished.
Most of all, though, we loved the position of the hotel. It faces directly on the beach of beautiful golden sand, so it was just 100 yards from our hotel room to the sand. Costa Calma is quite a quiet resort, there was not much in the way of commercial activity or nightlife anywhere nearby apart from the cabaret in the hotel itself. This did suit us just fine though.

We are hoping to come back again next year.

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle and iron
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Stephen R,

Thank you so much for having left your detailed review of your stay in our hotel SBH Crystal Beach. We appreciate reviews like yours as it helps us to improve our service. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to fulfil their expectations on a daily basis.

We are glad to read that you spend a lovely holiday here with us that we have met your expectations of our facilities and services.

Sorry, if you have received the impression that we are more oriented to the German taste. We cater for a lot of different nationalities among them English, German, French, Italians, Spanish, Polish, etc. hence we offer international food. Our clients can enjoy fish, meat, veg, salads, soup, pasta, etc. and live cooking every day.

We will also look to installing more English channels for our English speaking guests.

We still hope that you were able to bring back some positive experience and memories and we would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Sbh Taro beach, Costa Calma, Fuerteventura

Good - Food was good, room fine - did not find mattress hard. Pool was lovely and comfy sunbeds. Staff nice and drinks were okay.

Bad - We were the only Brits there apart from one elderly lady and a couple we only met at the end of their holiday. Key cards for entry into your room don't seem to work well - we had 3, had to have them re-set and finally insisted maintenance look at door mechanism. They did this within 20 minutes of asking and managed to fix it, pity we were going home next day.

Ugly - Hotel is like a concrete maze, very ugly beige high walls everywhere on way to room and restaurant. Wall outside one set of rooms was sellotaped!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Liz L,

We appreciate your valuable feedback and taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry to see that not all aspects of your stay were up to your expectation. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Fulfil their expectations is our highest goal.

We would like to point out our hotel is not only designed for one market and we always had a wide range of nationalities like German, British, Spanish, Polish etc. in our hotel.

Our kitchen staff and chef prepare a variety of good quality food on a daily basis. That way we can guarantee a big choice and freshness in our meals.

Our technicians are resolving each defects or repairs. Our entrance doors are delicate, and so we always suggest to our guests to keep away the key card especially from mobile phones, as this can lead to the blocking of the door.

Once again we thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we would be happy to welcome you again in our SBH Taro Beach.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews