We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely beach hotel”
Review of SBH Taro Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SBH Taro Beach
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here, the view from our beach front apartment was beautiful, the food was always excellent tasty and hot and a good selection.
The entertainment team were very good for the first week of our stay and tried to get every one included they had a couple of good acts on during our stay.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
would we go again? YES

Room Tip: beach front rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Graham p,

Thank you very much for your review of our SBH Taro Beach. We are always very happy to receive confirmation our guests have enjoyed an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories.

Such a friendly review our hotel is of course a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Had to stay here following cancelled flights. Supposed to be a 4 star, I would give it 2 stars maximum.

It would appear that this hotel is mainly arranged for German Visitors. I love German people but the hotel did not even have one TV channel in English.

Great location on the beach in Costa Calma.

Rooms - mine was disgustingly in bad decor so so bad. I have photo's to show later but horrid. The room smelt like someone had died in it

Food - Not bad but not good either.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Ppking,

Thank you for sharing your thought with us. Reviews like yours help us to improve our services and ensure customer satisfaction.

We can guarantee you a 4* Standard in all aspects of our hotel SBH Taro Beach and we are very sorry that you don’t see it that way. Hygiene and cleanliness are very important to us and through daily thorough cleaning we can maintain excellent customer satisfaction.

We would also like to point out our hotel is not only designed for German and we always had a wide range of nationalities in our hotel. So we cater for a variety of nationalities such as English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, etc therefore we offer a wide range of international delicacies with a lot of variety in our restaurant.

We take note of your comments and we are looking to install more English channels.
We still thank you for your holidays here and for your time leaving us your feedback. Critics are always welcome. We really hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

So far no particularly good at all.
We have a 3 yr old with us and to start with there is no food at all on the menu suitable for him at all.
Not ignorant but none of the hotel staff speak a word of English meaning communication is very difficult.
We do try by the way to speak their language as best we can.
Out little boy was not so good this evening and despite talking to reception and pleading if we can collect some dinner from the restaurant to enable us to eat in our room this was declined.
We had to struggle with our boy down to eat.
The hotel is quite clean but it appears not very helpful.
Beware if you have any intention of going for a wander there is next to nothing to do and you are a good distance from the next resort, some 25 mins away by taxi.
The resort has very minimal places to eat approximately 5 restaurants and nothing really special to eat and relax in.
I would not recommend anyone comes to this hotel or resort with children.
Will not visit again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Zak1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Zak1124,

Thank you very much for writing your comments about your stay in our SBH Taro Beach.

Our hotel is located just right in front of the beach and has a direct access. Near the hotel our clients can find bars, restaurants and a variety of shops and shopping centre as well as a pharmacy.

We are very happy to cater for different nationalities like Italians, Germans, English, Spanish etc. Normally our staff, started from the front desk to the house maid, is ready to help and solve any questions and most of our staff speaks different languages.

We offer a big variety of food on the normal buffet for our children, where the parents can select the food, like soup, pizza, chips, fish, nuggets, salad etc for their children. Our kitchen prepares a vast choice of international delicacies freshly on a daily basis.

It seems that we could not meet your expectations at all. Hopefully you will find better options in the future within our hotels of SBH.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

went on a family Holiday me with my 3 children ages 9, 9, and 7 with another family, the sfat are very friendly and make you feel welcome. kids loved the holiday but we don't go an many and give the kids a beach and a pool and they will love it.

my problem was it is not a 4 start hotel which Thomson admitted once we got there, and the facilities were very limited. Food is nice and a lot of variety but still not 4 star quality.

over all we did have a nice time but i would not rush to go back unless it was a lot cheaper because i know what to expect.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mr R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear R M,

Thank you so much for having left your detailed review of your stay in our hotel SBH Taro Beach. We appreciate reviews like yours as it helps us to improve our service. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to fulfil their expectations on a daily basis.

We would like to assure you that our hotel has 4* Standard. Our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the customers with anything they might need. This guarantees the upkeeping of our 4* Standart.

We would like to mention that our chefs prepare a variety of foods on a daily basis. As we cater for a wide range of nationalities, we offer an international menu as well as we offer to our clients a wide range of choice between fresh fish and meats, daily soups and vegetables. We also have themed nights in our restaurants such as a Spanish night.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions. It gives us the opportunity to improve and offer better service hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Well, it's our last night at the Taro Beah Hotel, WOW What a hotel!! Food-Amazing, great choice -something different each night -spoiled for choice!, Room - lovely and spacious -very very clean, superior double overlooking the beach, Staff - Fantastic, always pleasant, couldn't do enough for you!, Pool - very clean and large, Sunloungers -sturdy and comfortable and plenty of.
Only 2 negatives - no ball games in the pool and all-inclusive drinks finishes at 11pm, but we had a fridge in our room so we just purchased a few bottles of wine and some cans from the supermarket and had a drink on the patio over looking the sea after 11pm.
This has been one of the best holidays we've ever had!! The beach is stunning, clear water, clean beach, great sun beds (approx €18 per day for 3 with a brolly), there is a restaurant on the beach called Horizonte which serves lovely food if you want a break from the hotel.
Taro Beach Hotel also has a beach bar which is idyllic and has great views.
Please go all inclusive as virtually EVERY drink is included and the meals are amazing!
Costa Calma itself does not have much in ways of Cafes, restaurants etc, but a 10 min walk to Bahia Calma shopping area there are a few restaurants including an Italian which is called Mamma Mia's which serves delicious Pizza.
All in All, a fantastic hotel, Beach and resort (even though tailored more for the German visitors).
It's mostly German, French and Polish at the Hotel and Costa Calma but that didn't bother us as there were no lairy drunken Brits around to spoil it (Brits ourselves so we know!). The Germans can be a bit rude (they don't know what a queue is!) BUT at least they are well behaved.
WE WILL BE BACK WITHIN THE NEXT FEW YEARS!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank vfarmer2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Vfarmer2235,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to write a review about our SBH Taro Beach. We are very pleased you are happy with all aspects of the hotel and have made the decision to visit us again in the future.

We are delighted to read that you had enjoyed one of your best holidays here with us.
All our staff is very thankful you for your kind words as this confirms our well doing and pushes us to continue with our excellent service.

The high quality and variety of foods and drinks on offer are mentioned here on Tripadvisor very positively. Our chefs prepare a large choice of freshly prepared food on a daily basis. We offer food such as fresh fish, meats, etc.

We are greatly looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.9 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.4 km away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.6 km away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
SBH Crystal Beach Hotel & Suites
15.8 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.5 km away
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
#10 of 27 in Costa Calma
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Taro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Taro Beach

Address: De Ltu, s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Taro Beach)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: RM473 - RM855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH Taro Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Informal ambience in the accommodations with half board or all inclusive, relaxing entertainment and privileged location at Costa Calma, directly on the long white sand beach and only a few meters from the shopping center with various stores, restaurants, bars, banks, car rentals, drug stores etc. are some of the features that make SBH Taro Beach an ideal place to spend a pleasant vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your SBH Taro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Taro Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Taro Beach Costa Calma
SBH Taro Beach Costa Calma, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing