We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$185
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SBH Monica Beach(Costa Calma)
US$246
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal Suite(Costa Calma)
US$119
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Calma(Costa Calma)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H10 Tindaya(Costa Calma)
US$236
US$224
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
337
209
71
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
209
71
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewlocal coffeeroom descriptionspectacular hoteltowelling robesluxury holidaylocal spar shopsun loungerslitre bottlecooler dayselderly germandinner sittingsprime positionfashion showhalf boardstaying at this hotelpiano bar
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

On Arrival we were greeted by the reception staff who were very friendly and spoke very good English, check in was easy and quite quick. The room was lovely we were on the 6th floor and had a lovely view of the beach. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful cannot fault the service at all, will definitely be returning in a couple of years time.
Had a fantastic and relaxing time, EXCELLENT!!!!!

Room Tip: Anything above the 3rd floor
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jillihen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Jillihen,

It has been great for us to read that you had such a fantastic time in our SBH Costa Calma Palace and we want to thank you for using Tripadvisor to share your holiday experience with us and others travellers.

Our client’s satisfaction is our biggest aim and it is a big proud for us receive review as yours! It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time with us and that we have been able to meet all your expectations.

Thank your one more time for your comment and we really hope to welcome you back again in our hotel!

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Fantastic holiday! Rooms very lovely. WIFI could be better as available only in lobby and slow. Location on the beach was amazing. Food was very good. Great for relaxation and unwinding. German clientele orientation but everyone was very friendly. Pools were a bit cold and unheated. Swimming in the ocean was fun.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Monipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Monipest,

We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time in our SBH Costa Calma Palace and want to thank you for using Tripadvisor to share your experience with us and others travellers.

We are very pleased to know that you have been impressed with our facilities and staff. Guest satisfaction is very important to us that is why we try every day to exceed their expectations and make your holiday an unforgettable one.

A lot of our clients comment very positive about the quality and variety about the hotel. We are glad you liked it too. Our goal is to reach the expectations of our clients in all aspects. Our chefs prepare a vast amount of foods freshly on a daily basis.

We take note of your comment concerning the Wifi and we will contact to our provider to improve the quality.

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Not all of the sand is hard, but there's plenty of it and I can walk on the beach without stumbling (which makes a change). You will come off the sand through a gate and onto the pool area and snack bar, which is spacious and professional managed. Entering the hotel (at the back) there's the restaurant to your left, a large bar and entertainment venue to your right, and a bar for evening drinks straight ahead. The reception area and front entrance are upstairs on the forth floor. There are more soft, comfortable chairs and sofas than I've seen at any other hotel.

I didn't see any of the usual entertainment folk wandering around, trying to get people involved, and that was a relief. Basically, SBH gives you a bright, spacious hotel and leaves you to get on with it, whatever your particular on with it might be.

Half board works well for me. Buffet foot is never top-drawer, and it gets repetitive. However, breakfast and dinner at the Palace were Better than at most (if not all) four star hotels I've stayed at. You will be assigned to a table, first or second sitting, which will be yours for the duration of your holiday. Naturally, some tables are better located than others. I was happy with mine. Had I been unhappy, I'd have asked for an alternative, and I'm sure the the restaurant manager would have done his best to accommodate me. Some people have said the Germans get preferential treatment; this is paranoia and nonsense.

You will pay a bit extra for the best views, which are on levels three (pool-front, low building) and level seven (building behind it with rooms starting on level four (worst view). I have a great view on seven. On level three, the tops of palm trees get in the way of some views. The balconies have sun-beds, which are great, although sunbathing on your balcony will make you very sweaty very quickly.

I holidayed in Costa Calma eight years ago. Little has changed. There are a couple of new shopping areas, but both are run-down and tatty: disappointing. Cheer yourself up by getting the local bus to Morro Jable for a few Euro. Morro Jable is a small town, but it's a lot bigger than Costa Calma. If, like me, you want to watch English football while on holiday, there's a sports bar at the entrance to the Faro hotel.

Room Tip: Level seven, or three but away from the palm trees.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DavidCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear DavidCarrickfergus,

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel SBH Costa Calma Palace. We are always very happy to receive confirmation our guests have enjoyed an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories.

We always have a wide range of nationalities in our hotel and we are really proud of it. We make every effort to deal with all our guests and can assure you that we treat everyone equally and do not prefer anyone.

Our hotel is located right at the lovely beach of Costa Calma which invites for long walks or relaxing on the beach. Also you can enjoy the wonderful view to the sea from many our rooms.

Our gastronomy is a high priority in our home and many clients comment it positively here on Tripadvisor. Our products are always fresh and varied prepared by our chefs.

It will be a big pleasure for us to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights.

Check-In
------------
Check-in at this hotel is 2pm but we arrived a little early, about 12pm. Made ourselves known to the reception staff who gave us a voucher to get a drink from the lobby bar. So far, so good. It was 2 hours before we were told our room was ready. Was not offered any assistance to take our luggage to the room or indeed show us the way, which in the absence of any proper signposting was not that easy to find.

Room
--------
We booked a Junior Suite, on the ground floor.. The room itself was quite large, sparsely furnished, not particularly attractive. The bed consisted of two single beds pushed together. When I asked at reception whether this could be exchanged for a proper double bed I was told that the single beds would either be replaced or that we would be moved to another room with a double bed. Neither of these things happened. Instead, a couple of maintenance guys turned up with some cable ties and tied the legs of the single beds together. So still two single beds, two mattresses and made up by housekeeping as two single beds. I found this response quite pathetic. "Direct access to the beach" claims the website in bold. When I read that, I expected I would only have to take a few steps out of the sliding doors before I felt the sand beneath my feet. Oh no. If you leave your room, walk down the corridor, across the entire pool area, find the sole exit in the wall that spans the width of the property and walk another 50 yards, THEN you are on the beach. Ok, it's not far at all but I think "direct access" is stretching the truth somewhat. No rooms in this hotel have direct access to the beach. There is no room service at this hotel. Even the ubiquitous "tea/coffee making facilities" are absent. The minibar is just an empty fridge which you can either fill yourself or the hotel will fill at a charge. To be fair to the hotel they don't say any different on their website but I would definitely expect these facilities in a 4 star hotel. Good bathroom with powerful shower. Sound insulation is rubbish. When the room upstairs used their bathroom the noise from the plumbing was VERY loud - sounded like the room was about to be flooded.

Spa
-----
Pretty good. Nice small indoor pool with powerful massage jets and jacuzzi functions. Sauna and steam room were working well and very quiet.

Wi-fi
------
You have a choice between free wi-fi, which is very bad and as far as I can tell only available in the main lobby area of the hotel, or you can pay 7 euros a day for incredibly bad wi-fi in your room. We got a deal for 3 days wi-fi for 15 euros. It is so bad I was soon back at reception asking for a refund. The receptionist admitted the wi-fi is terrible and returned my 15 euros. If they know it's so bad, why do they bother selling it to you in the first place?

Food
-------
Meals are your standard buffet affair. Absolutely nothing special about the food. We had breakfast in the hotel but ate out for lunch and dinner.

Clientele
------------
I would say 95% German - mostly middle-aged or elderly.

Service
----------
This was generally quite good especially in the Piano bar. Reception staff were friendly and as helpful as they could be. Service in the poolside bars was not great, surly and quite inattentive. Also seemed understaffed all the time. Not all staff spoke English, which was not really a problem.

Check-Out
---------------
Left early so was very quick. Weren't even asked if we enjoyed our stay, which is probably a good thing.

Location
-----------
Superb. Hotel is on a wonderful quiet beache with crystal clear water. Lots of even nicer beaches further down the coast with a couple of excellent beach bars. There is a superb pizzeria in the small shopping centre in front of the hotel, which also stocks everything you could ever need. Drove down to Morro Jable one night for a meal - very nice town. Note that a lot of the beaches round there cater for naturists. Whether you think getting your kit off in public is natural or a semi-perverted exhibitionist fetish, it's worth noting.

Summary
-------------
Given the expense of this hotel and the fact it is listed as a four star property, the whole hotel experience was thoroughly disappointing. Fuerteventura is a wonderful place to visit but I would probably look elsewhere for a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Michael L,

Thank you so much for having left your detailed review of your stay in our hotel SBH Costa Calma Palace. We are very sorry that you were not happy with all the aspects of the hotel.

Our hotel is located right at the lovely beach of Costa Calma which invites for long walks or relaxing on the beach. The location of our hotel is mentioned here on Tripadvisor very positively.

Our colleagues at the reception explain to each client due to the map where the room is located. Unfortunately it is impossible to show to each guest the whole hotel, as you can probably understand. Officially we have no baggage service, but if our guests need help to carry their bags to their room, we are happy to help. Almost in all hotels of the Canary Islands there are single beds in the rooms. Upon request we can tie the beds together.

We regret that we could not reach the expectations of our food. Every day we offer our guests a rich breakfast and dinner buffet with a great choice. Our gastronomy is a high priority in our home. Our products are always fresh and varied prepared by our chefs.

We are working to improve the quality of the Wifi in our hotel. At the moment our clients can use this service without supplement in the whole lobby and pool area.

It would be nice to have the opportunity to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews