We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2015

This is our second visit to the Rio Calma Hotel and Spa - we love this hotel and the area and had a fantastic time. The hotel is just beautiful and we love everything about it. Our room was spacious and clean - even the bed was comfortable! Our balcony overlooked the pool and sea - so it was perfect. The pools are amazing and we also loved the man made beach on the lower level below the pool. We ate in the outdoor section of the restaurant every evening and the food was good. The menu was more geared towards the Germans but there was a huge choice of foods so I can't complain. The entertainment is like most hotels - not the best but we did attend 2 pretty good shows during the week. Drinks are expensive so we bought our own at the supermarket near by. We were very pleased to find they had listened to feedback on Wifi - they used to charge you for this - but now you can have free Wifi in the lobby for 30 minutes each day or go into their indoor garden (really lovely and peaceful) and use Wifi in there for free anytime. Thank you! The hotel is up on a hill and about a 10-15 minute walk to shops and the beach. We didn't mind this walk as it was great exercise and the beach is amazing - it goes on forever and has really lovely white sand. Worth the walk. The hotel gives every couple a certificate to visit their spa 4 times during their stay. We loved the spa and went every single day - I recommend it! The only complaint I have is the people on reception - and it was the same way last time. They are not overly friendly and there was one especially unfriendly, unhelpful person named Rosi - avoid her! She was a real misery and I hate to say it but why is she in a customer service job?

We would definitely return to this hotel again!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels and for your comments.We have noted everything and help us to improve our quality and service.
We are pleased that your stay was nice and we hope see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2015

For us this island is too desert like, we much prefer the more lush Canary islands, La Palma and La Gomera, but we went with our son his wife and two sons in half term, so enjoyed our holiday because of that.
Our room on the 5th floor was the least I would expect in a four star hotel, the sea view from the balcony was nice also over looking the gardens. The bed could be more comfortable too hard for us, bedding not top quality, top cover a bit grubby and skimpy pillows. Plenty of tea and coffee but the only electric socket suitable for the kettle was in the bathroom , would not meet UK standards.
Only one other socket in the bedroom was for the iron and not in a position suitable for charging cameras, iPods etc. Needs an additional socket by the writing desk !!
Good sized bathroom but great care needed when getting in and out of the bath / shower. Addition hand rail needed !!
Toiletries could be a lot better not up to four star standard, the towels were small, old and harsh.
Noise can be a problem withpeople walking above or moving chairs or talking in adjacent rooms.
Our son stayed in a family room 2137 the room itself was ok but the outlook dismal, just two metres from a tall stone wall, no sun all day. Didn't ask for a change of room after unpacking, just couldn't face all the hassle with two boys who wanted to explore the beautiful grounds! So unless you enjoy staying in a basement avoid that room and the ones either side.
The rooms on the ground floor have patio doors opening onto an open space where people walk so no privacy but nice for sitting outside your room on a lounger.
The breakfast and dinner was not what I call memorable, can't say I enjoyed the food overall, some aspects were quite good ... Nice bread, soup, freshly fried eggs, cold buffet, but some of the cooked meat and vegetables not great. Deserts very repetitive. Didn't go hungry but no wow factor. Dinner started at 6.30 by about 7.30 People were having to wait for a spare table.
The design of the grounds, swimming pools, gardens and walkways is excellent, the lower pool has a man made sandy beach around with a waterfall and steps down to the sea with a pebble beach not suitable for swimming. Nice for children to explore but be warned the wet boulders are treacherous. The nearest sandy beach is out side the hotel complex a 20 minute walk in either direction, North to a very quite bay or South to Costa Calma bay with water sport facilities outside other hotels.
Tennis in the hotel is 14 Euros an hour, there's a charge for mini golf, two tables for ping pong free, well equipped gym we didn't use. The outside pools are very cold in Feb. there is a heated indoor pool in the spa area available for two hours twice a week for children despite being described as a family hotel.
Not much for older children to do ... Too old for kids club .. Not old enough for adults sports like archery and shooting.

Room Tip: Choose floor three or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PERCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Thank you for your comments. We have noted of everything, which will help us to improve our service and quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We had two weeks here in January. The grounds are absolutely delightful - lovely gardens, a magnificent fountain, a huge free-form infinity pool and a lagoon with a sandy beach - and much more, but the room itself (5th floor) was a little disappointing. Nowhere comfortable to sit, pillows very thin and towels skimpy, and the sea view was rather limited - only from the side. Facing north, we were quite exposed to the wind which always blows on the island.

The staff were very friendly and helpful including the maids. There could have been more information about what was going on and what was available to see and do locally, but we hired a car and found our own way about. We loved the island. The scenery is wonderful. It was a pleasant walk from the hotel along the coast into Costa Calma. Sotavento beach south of the town is spectacular. However I agree with those who have said that Costa Calma is a bit run down in places. We were there 8 years ago and it looked much more upmarket then.

With a Thomas Cook package the hotel's buffet breakfast and buffet dinner were included. (A la Carte dinner was available in another restaurant at extra cost). The evening buffet provided an excellent choice of dishes, but of mixed quality. There was a wonderful variety of salads and the freshly cooked fish was excellent, but desserts were monotonously similar for the whole two weeks. The main hot dishes were average. On the last night we had to leave the pork (served in a sauce) on our plates. It was totally pink and undercooked, with the outside merely seared. Very dangerous (a neighbour of ours got hepatitis and a tapeworm this way in Portugal!). On another night the "veal" was so tough we couldn't even cut through it, never mind chew it. Stews and casseroles were much better, but everything could have been much hotter. Many of the main courses, especially the pasta dishes were tepid. The breakfasts were pretty good with plenty of choice, though again sometimes a bit too tepid, and not very imaginative.

Whether it was due to the tepid food or the salads I don't know, but I got the runs a couple of times a few hours after the evening buffet. My husband was fine though. Maybe I was unlucky in what I chose. By the end of our stay I was very wary what I ate. We probably won't go back.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels.We have noted your comment which will help us to improve our quality and service and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

My Wife and I regularly travel to the Canary Islands to good quality hotels. We chose this one for our January break after looking it up on a previous visit to Costa Calma and by the quality of reviews seen on various review sites. I have to say that our opinion having now stayed at this hotel is that it is well over rated at 4 star Superior. We have also decided this is the last time we will stay in Costa Calma as it seems to get more and more run down and there is very little to do. This was more noticeable on this trip as the weather was very poor after the first day - cloudy cool and rain.
I messaged the hotel to make some personal requests before we visited and eventually got a reply from Guest Relations and our requests had been arranged when we arrived.
Our immediate opinion of the hotel was what we expected and reception area is very comfortable and welcoming. The grounds are very well maintained and inviting and as good as any hotel we have stayed in.
The reception staff checked us in efficiently but they and all staff in the hotel seemed distant and disinterested with the dining room staff being far the worst.
The room we were allocated on the 6th floor met our requests and was very well appointed. We quickly unpacked and by late afternoon were sat on the balcony in the late afternoon sun thinking that this was going to be the start of a very good week.
We noted that the shower door had a no trim onto the bath and when we showered water poured onto the floor. The patio door did not lock so both were reported to reception when we went for evening meal. The door lock was fixed but the shower remained the same all week. The maid who visited the next day left us a floor mat to fold under the door to catch the water. This continued for the duration of our stay. The maid service was generally good but always seemed to be very late often 3pm or later. The room towels were very poor quality very thin and like sandpaper and are well past their best. I would also advise guests to take extra care when flushing the toilet if anyone is in the shower as the water immediately turns to a scalding temperature.
Our first impression of the restaurant was not good. It is very un welcoming with no atmosphere and tables set out more suitable for a café than a 4 star restaurant. We only eat white meat or fish and although this is sometimes restrictive we generally don't find a problem. The food choice on the first night reduced us to pizza and chips after a pleasant bowl of soup. The sweets were very un exciting so we were less than impressed.
Unfortunately breakfast the next morning was no better. Albeit we did not go for breakfast until 10 we were very disappointed with the general quality of the dining room and food, no tables set and many not cleared. Eggs dried up on the grill and a congealed pan of what were beans. Our experience never went really beyond this even though our visits were limited because after day 2 I developed a severe stomach infection and was unable to eat anything substantial for the remainder of the holiday. My Wife also lost confidence so for the remainder of the holiday we only eat bread and marmalade and bananas at breakfast and soup and bread at evening meal.
We had little choice but to spend much of the day in our room or in reception. My Wife also became ill on day 6 and was ill on the plane on the way home.
In the evening the reception bar area is very uninviting with very poor lighting. On one night when we sat there we had to move as did other guests as the main roof tower leaks when it rains which it did on a number of nights. The bar staff put towels down but this basically shuts off a large part of the bar area. Not something you would expect in any hotel let alone 4 star superior.
The internet service which is something of a selling point at many hotels these days is only available in reception and was often very slow when many guests were online.
The pool area is pleasant but the beds are not particularly comfortable and there may be a shortage if the hotel was full. With the weather and our health as it was during our stay it meant we only used this area on 2 occasions.
Although we didn't use it the private beach looked inviting. Thomas Cook guests get free use of the sunbeds. We also had a number of free entries to the Spa but we were not able to use them. A big downside we felt was that it did not open in the afternoon until 4 pm.
So in summary we definitely will not be adding this hotel to our list of recommended Canary Island hotels and will not be returning. As I have already stated some aspects of the hotel meet the standards of a 4 star hotel however many other aspects particularly the dining area and food quality, which is very poor, are about 2 star.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank chrisrosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels.We are sorry for the inconveniences. We have noted your comment which will help us to improve our quality and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

This was our second stay at Rio Calma in October. The hotel has a fantastic atrium with a stained glass window and extensive, well kept grounds and pool areas. Again, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. We were given a room on the 6th floor with a lovely view along the coast. Our room was kept spotless by our very friendly maid, Virginia. The man-made lagoon pool has such a lovely setting with palm trees and the sand is raked every morning. For cocktails the Piano Bar is perfect and we had excellent service. We enjoyed the food, especially the great choice of salads and fresh fruit. It was lovely to be able to have breakfast and dinner outside on the patio. Overall, we felt we had a relaxing and wonderful holiday, thanks to the care of the staff. We enjoyed our holiday so much we will be returning in February.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views. Rooms near the disco are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Gina874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels and for your words.We are pleased that you had a nice stay and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
4.9 km away
Melia Fuerteventura
Melia Fuerteventura
#22 of 73 in Pajara
3,342 reviews
1.9 km away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
592 reviews
16.9 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.9 km away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
71.8 km away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.7 km away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: RM607 - RM839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Costa Calma, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing