We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We visited R2 on september. The place looks awesome. Realny spacy and cosy reception, labirynth of corridors to get lost in on first (or even second) day. The room was really nice, clean, bathroom also. Room service was a great +, really nice maids. Dont get fooled by some room with see view. I dont know what you have to do to get one. Ours was at ground level, but close to the pool and shortcut to the beach, so quite ok in the end.
I cant complain on food, really good choise and plenty at that.
Lots of animations throughout the day. Best thing though came at night. Listening to maestro playing piano while enjoying well made martini was maybe the best event in the hotel.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kamil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels and your words.We are glad to know that you had a nice stay.Hope see you soon.R2 Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

The hotel and surrounding pool areas and gardens are very nice. However, we felt like it was an all-inclusive that really isnt ! The area around is full of all-inclusive resorts which seems to have made it difficult for any local bars and restuarants to sustain any business - so there really isnt much to do outside of the hotel. Most things are pretty pricey (wine etc) so it meant many trips down the hill to the nearest supermarket for supplies in our room. We were dissapointed that the 34 euros that was charged was not refundable at the end of our stay. The wifi is 1 euro per day but we were unable to use it as it seemed to be just the standard wifi for the whole hotel and therefore very slow and sporadic. The food was terrific but as we were staying for 2 weeks it did become a bit samey. The animators are a great bunch but the evening entertainment is really dire. Nice stay but has just substantiated our thoughts of never staying at a hotel for this type of holiday - private villas again for us now !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels and your comment.We are sorry to know that your stay was not as you expected.We have noted everything which help ua to improve our service and quality.R2 Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Visited here a few times now and have never been disappointed. Some of the furniture looks a little weary, but that is hardly a problem. The choice of food at all the meals is excellent, the service provided in all areas also excellent. The English correspondents always bring up the fact that the hotel caters mainly for Germans as though that is a bad thing. My wife and I have met many interesting folk from that country (from Hamburg in the North to Munich in the South) and you can have a much more interesting conversation with them rather than with someone from Surrey or Essex! Our high room overlooking Costa Calma was first class - afternoon sunshine and peace and quiet. Two concerts in the cathedral-like lobby were very enjoyable - one of Russian music and dancing and the other a local choir singing traditional Christmas music. A huge change from the normal hotel entertainment. We'll be back again in April 2018.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the "village" offer afternoon sunshine and very little noise from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Crompy1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels and your words.We are glad to know that you had a nice stay and hope see you soon.R2 Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Do No Stay Here!!...Glass in children's pool, my sea view room facing a wall on bottom wall, staff rude and told me off for helping them, Gym equipment all broken, smokers in food areas.

This place is so bad you have to laugh!!!...Reception rolled their eyes at me when I said my sea view room was facing a wall!!....My wife and boy cried when they saw the room and we hardly slept due to paper thin walls listening to couples getting jiggy and scraping chairs....

Soooooooo bad......Either Im very unlucky or this place is the worst hotel in the world!!...

Room Tip: Just stay at another hotel, Rio Calma is really good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels and your comment.We are sorry to know that your stay was not as you expected.We have noted everything which help us to improve our service and quality.Hope see you again.R2 Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This holiday was meant to replace the Cruise of a lifetime, which we had to cancel. We looked forward to this trip as the hotel and resort was sold to us on the understanding that we both had special needs and we went into our requirements in great depth with the trave agent.
I have covered the flight on a different posting, however it could only be described as the flight from hell.
The transfer from the airport took over an hour, so after an exhausting flight we were really wanting just to relax and unwind for a day or two.
The hotel reception was very efficient and we were helped to our room with our luggage, having paid the extra charge for the use of the safe and pool towels. The room was very clean and well presented and even had tea and coffee making facilities. The balcony was fairly substantial with a sea view and overlooked the outdoors restaurant and the pool. So far it lived up to expectations.
The evening meal was served in the restaurant which is the usual buffet you find in most hotels. This was now the start of our problems. My wife is both deaf and blind so needs to have her meal brought to her and a certain amount of help whilst eating. The buffet is very poorly organised and this is not helped by the conduct of certain European cousins that don't understand how to conduct themselves in such situations and go out to get as much food they can possibly get on a plate without a care for people around them. Children were left to run around the restaurant causing mayhem without any parental control. This meant whilst I managed to serve my wife with food I had to make do with a bowl of soup.
The next morning we thought that we would just relax around the pool, no chance, no sun beds left again our European cousins had shown their colours and even at 8 .30 they had bagged them all. When you think this hotel has over 400 bedrooms there only appears to be in the region of 150 sun beds so availability is limited. The hotel rules are displayed all over the pool area and clearly states that you are not allowed to reserve sun beds, but no one seems to enforce it. We looked to go down to the lagoon until we saw the steps that we would need to negotiate. We were later given directions to get down there avoiding the steps, but the hill is very difficult and once there you find that this area is open to the public so you need to get down there quickly to get a sun bed. There was meant to be a charge for none hotel guests but again there was no one enforcing this. The logo on is beautiful and the salt water very clean.
Having been unable to use the hotel facilities we decided to venture out. Beware this hote is on a very steep hill surrounded by abandoned building sites. The roads only have the first level surface so curb heights are exceptional. The pavement is in a state of half finished and difficult to negotiate if you have any disability. It took us almost 30 minutes to walk to the nearest shops and bus stop once there there is nothing, the shops resembled an indoor market in a cow shed.. so day one in the hotel was a right off. The following day we decided to visit Moro Jable. Back to the thirty minute trek to the bus stop. Queuing for the bus is another experience, basically to the Germans there is no such thing. This place is worth a visit and a much better place to stay.
The problems with the restaurant and pool continued for almost a week, we had complained to reception and asked for help, but none was forthcoming, we brought this to the reps attention, which was not much of a help.
The hotel manager came to our rescue and arranged for assistance in the restaurant evening . Without his intervention I believe we would have been on a flight home early. He couldn't change the position of the hotel but he did make our stay much better so a grateful thanks is sent to him.
To some it up, this hotel is absolutely stunning, geared mainly for the Germans. It is very clean and the staff friendly and happy to talk with you. The location is a challenge and should be taken into account, and I would suggest this hotel and resort is not suitable for disabled people. If.you are looking for a hotel that caters for children and you are prepared to spend your time in the hotel and perhaps go out on arranged trips this hotel would be great.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, comercial at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for choosing R2 Hotels and your comment.We are sorry to know that your stay was not as you expected,we have noted everything which help us to improve our service and quality.Hope see you again.R2 Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
4.9 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.9 km away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
603 reviews
16.9 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.9 km away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
71.8 km away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.7 km away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: RM 569 - RM 893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Costa Calma, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing