We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
125
27
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
27
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant steam room swim up suite sliding door margarita bar cold plunge pool long pool large balcony son bou pool sea view bus stop complimentary bottle kettle and tea coffee sir anthony morning sun cliff path shoulder height
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2018

We stayed at H55 for 10 days in mid September with my husbands elderly parents. The hotel being new is very well equipped to deal with less able guests and the staff went out of their way to make my in-laws feel comfortable and valued guests. They sourced a wheel chair for Mum so that we could get her down to the sea front which is only a short stroll down the hill. The hotel itself is beautifully finished with good sized rooms and nice balconies. We paid a reasonable amount for a seaview upgrade which was well worth it. The sun is on the balcony from mid day onwards. Facilities in the room were great. There was a proper hairdryer, one that you could plug in anywhere in the room that you didn't have to keep your finger on the button to make work! Also a really good magnifying mirror that again you could position anywhere in the room. It certainly made getting ready for dinner each evening much easier! The shower was so powerful you just wanted to stay under it forever! Restaurant staff were helpful and friendly, especially Ivan the grill Chef, Enrique his assistant and Victor our waiter. Food was good and plentiful, constantly being restocked. Flies were a bit of a nuisance but we were told they are always a problem in September - this was also evident when we went into Mahon and visited a fantasic Cafe (I think it was called Es Llongelli ? try it if you can). The Reception staff were knowledgable and we want to name check Yolande who was an absolute joy, a really good representative for the hotel. The gardens are not yet established but you can see that they will grow into pretty areas. Some more paths down to the pool would be a help. Evening entertainment was slightly poor but hopefully that will improve next year especially if they get a small stage and better lighting. Drinks at the bar are the same prices that we would pay in most resort hotels we have stayed in. Overall I would happily recommend this lovely hotel to adults looking for a relaxing Menorcan break.

Room tip: Pay a little bit extra for sea view rooms, they are lovely!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KANAGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Just back from a lovely week at this excellent hotel. The room was spacious and very well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Plenty of power sockets for charging devices, including a 24 hour one, free safe, fridge, kettle and tea/coffee supplies, large powerful shower, efficient A/C, comfortable bed, large balcony etc. We were allocated a bright room overlooking the pool and the sea. Thank you

The restaurant was very well designed and divided into sections so despite being large, it actually felt quite intimate. Well done for that! The food was excellent. The meats were lean and tender and there was a good array of salads and vegetable options. Desserts were wonderful too and we also enjoyed the local cheeses. The breakfast selection could not be faulted. On our second night we tried the restaurant at the Sant Tomas hotel but preferred the 55 in all respects.

The hotel was very quiet while we were there, which suited us, as was the whole island. Car hire at this time of year was very cheap too. We hired a car for the week from Avis at the airport and found it very easy to find our way around. The roads were quiet and there was ample free parking everywhere we went.

We came to Menorca for a hiking holiday and we weren't disappointed. The paths are excellently signposted and there are many scenic walks. There are good walks from Sant Tomas too, even if you don't hire a car.

Finally, I have to commend the staff. Everyone we came into contact with were professional yet friendly. We felt that we were looked after very well.

Congratulations to all the team at Hotel 55. I would say that I am sure the hotel will go from strength to strength but it is hard to improve on perfection!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel 55, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Lynne B,

Thank you so much for your lovely and detailed review. We are sure it is really helpful for other guests.

We are very glad you have enjoyed our hotel and Menorca.

Thanks for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Magali Rovira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

A lovely hotel with excellent staff. The buffet restaurant is really good. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. A short walk to the sea front. For a relaxing get-away, an ideal place.I would certainly return to this hotel.

Room tip: The room had everything that I required. The shower was well designed and spacious. The reception on the english TV channels was poor.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel 55, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Phil G,

Many thanks for sharing your experience and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.

We are glad to hear you have enjoyed during your stay and you would return.

We hope to see you again!!!

Best regards,
Magali Rovira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

My wife and I recently stayed at Hotel 55 for a two week, half board holiday and we had a fabulous time. We like "SET" hotels and stayed at Playa Azul, Cala 'n' Porter last year and Hotel 55 was recommended to us by one of our friends who stayed there in May shortly after it first opened. We liked everything about this hotel and most particularly, the extremely friendly, professional and very helpful staff who were always there to help or offer good, local advise. It is disappointing to read some negative reviews on Trip Advisor where people have mentioned trivial things. Our room was in a nice quiet location and was spotlessly cleaned everyday. The room furniture was very nice, the bedding and towels were regularly changed and in the wardrobes, there were plenty of coat-hangers provided. The safe was easy to use and was included in the overall price of the holiday. A very efficient hairdryer was also provided in the room and also a mini fridge. The food was out of this world, beautifully prepared, cooked and presented by Ivan, Pepe and Marie Jose and their team. The restaurant was supervised by Victor, Isaac, Julie, Fran and all the guests were very well looked after. When we first checked into the hotel, we were greeted by a fabulous receptionist called Tamara and the next day we met her colleagues Yolanda, Ampara, Patri and Magali who were also very friendly and helpful to us throughout our holiday. During the day at the Margarita bar, Anastasia and Borja served drinks and snacks always with a genuine smile and pleasant nature and in the evenings at Bar Pepe, Tati ran a brilliant bar mainly on his own. He poured me a few very nice Pomada's during our stay. The bus service in Santo Tomas is very good and you can easily visit Mahon in one direction and Ciutadella in another. Cala Gardana is also easy to get to by bus. The ladies on reception will even print you a bus time table and help you plan your journeys. Santo Tomas provides some nice local shops including a chemist, a Doctors , some supermarkets and many other eating places should you need any. You can take a challenging clifftop walk over to Son Bou (People told us it takes 25 mins but it actually took us 90 mins but, we are in our late 60's!) We got the bus back via Alaior as we had lunch in Son Bou and were tired. Overall we were very impressed with this hotel, the lovely staff who helped us have a very enjoyable holiday. Thank you "SET" hotels and everyone at Hotel 55, we have some lovely memories and hope to come back again next year for some more happy days with you.

Room tip: We opted for a South side room as it is quieter and we did not want to overlook the pool
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardson165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel 55, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Richardson165,

Many thanks for choosing SET Hotels again for your holidays in Menorca.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed and spent a great time with us. Many thanks for every single word you dedicate to the staff. It is a pleasure to work with guests like you.

We hope to see you next year!

Best regards,

Magali Rovira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We are currently staying at the 55 for a week on a package tour. Yes, this is a brand new design hotel, and yes, the pool is spectacular. The rooms are huge and well appointed. Free Wifi is stable. Buffet style dinner is quite good.
What could be improved? The foam mattresses are a bit soft (remember: the hotel is in its first season - how will they be in a few years? ). Apart from the sausage-shaped cushions that became unfashionable in France thirty years ago, the other pillows are ridiculously small (50 x 50 cm). No others are available.
The minibar is empty, amazing for a 4 star hotel. On the day of arrival, there was however a complimentary bottle of mineral water, but not on the following days, despite of the fact that I reminded the reception staff that in almost all top hotels it has become standard to provide a free bottle per room and day, nothing was done about it. I was rather told to buy water at the bar or in a shop.
Anything else? The TV comes with plenty of Spanish and international stations, but some channels are not working and the hotel’s choice is strange: no BBC World or CNN, no ARD.
could do better...

Room tip: the rooms with even numbers face a slope with some trees, the rooms with odd numbers have a limited view to the sea from a distance.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank YvesLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel 55, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear YvesLuxembourg,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us and letting us your comments about our hotel. Every suggestion helps us in order to keep improving.

The bottle of water is a hotel’s courtesy for the arrival day and, as you can read in the services directory, you can buy different packs of drinks for the minibar. We replace every day tea, coffee, milk and biscuits.

In total we have 43 channels of which 23 are international (English, German, French and Italian) and all of the TVs are smart TVs.

We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Menorca and we hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Magali Rovira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews