We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISE football stadium lack of service uncaring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOISE football stadium lack of service uncaring”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Sad I just hate complaints, this is justified.
I noticed that person on our own are looked over locals definately receive priority .
I asked for tea in the garden (around 11am) no did not receive.
Locals came along TEA for all .
I asked for TAXI no TAXI waited patiently 45 mins. saw a taxi asked if it was for me quickly got told NO NO . Waited another 20mins. Taxi arrived. Upon entering the taxi the Gate man slide the door closed along with my arm they could not have cared less I went back to my room and now I have terrible pain in my right arm. NOT EVEN THE MANAGER ASKED
SORRY NOR_KHIL BAD SERVICE

Room Tip: this hotel is situated right behind a football stadium so how could it be quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Owner at The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Madame !

Thank you very much for your feedback! We at the Elgin Nor-Khill do our utmost and best to meet guest expectations . It is management policy to treat all our guests local and foreignor equally.

Our inquiry into your stay reveals that the Hotel Manager was on leave during your stay and the Assitant Manager was on duty. We have taken necessary corrective action against the manager on duty during your stay.

The taxi car on hire in question was not a hotel car and it normally takes 20 to 25 minutes for a taxi to arrive from outside to the hotel gate . We have also taken necessary corrective action against the Gate man on duty during your stay and apologise for the accident involving your arm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    133
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
152
137
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Elgin NorKhill for New Years eve as a treat for ourselves. We arrived after a few days of rough travel in the north of Sikkim so it was heavenly considering what we had been in. This is a great heritage hotel, well maintained with pleasant staff. As we had also stayed in the Elgin Darjeeling and visited the Elgin in Pelling, it unfortunatley isn't comparable as it is in a larger town with a poorer location and views. This is no reflection of the staff or comfort of this hotel. We had a wonderful and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank i_wander6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt Britain
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I only ate i the restaurant of this magnificent property but it was one of the best meals of our trip.
Every tourist dreams of finding authentic tasty local cuisine beautifully cooked and perfectly served in a restaurant which is elegant comfortable and has all the trappings of luxury. Set such high standards and you will have difficulty meeting them unless you eat here.

Attentive smart interactive and well trained staff served us a wonderful meal starting with the traditional Tombo drink and then a delicious soup redolent with the flavours of the mountains. Then a selection of dishes including nettle and dried vegetables all equally delicious. We finished with Khir- a rice pudding with almonds and card omen and a very delicate cup of darjeeling tea.

This was top class in every way

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conferenceplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We ( 6 adults ) stayed in NOR KHILL from 20th Nov 2011 to 24th Nov 2011 and i consider this hotel as one of the most beautifully maintained old world heritage hotels. The Lounge is beautiful with antique furniture and sitting there transports you to a royal world so is the Regal dinning hall . Service is par excellent and food served is delicious . All employees of the hotel are ever ready to please you with a smile Rooms are beautiful with old world furniture also a rarity in todays times . The only suggestion to the management is to improve the entry and get rid of all the parked tourist vehicles, as it gives a feeling of staying in a taxi stand with all drivers cleaning their vehicles right in front of the lounge. Durgesh Nagarkar

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DurgeshThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I cannot describe in full the perfection of this place! Everything. The food, the service, the rooms, the sleep the view, the design, the ambience. All is just PERFECT! We slept in Dalai Lamas room (in his bed) and of course it was the best sleep of my life. And the service. Its personal, its just the very top top. I wont be able to come here again in many years but I will always dream about this hotel. The best place I stayed in the world.

Room Tip: Take the Dalai Lamas room. Its pure magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kamala11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.0 km away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
230 reviews
0.8 km away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 km away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
0.0 km away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#20 of 118 in Gangtok
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok

Property: The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Address: Paljore Stadium Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
#1 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#5 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price range (per night): RM772 - RM1,098
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Nor-Khill ("the house of jewels")is known for its tradition and ethnic Sikkimese ambiance. It is now a luxury heritage property. The Kanchan garden affords a rich view of the hills with the Mount Kanchenjungha in the background, which inspired the Chogyal (King) of Sikkim to paint for hours. The Elgin Nor-Khill was built by the King of Sikkim in 1932 and is the oldest heritage property in Gangtok, the property has played host to numerous celebrity guests such as his holiness The Dalai Lama, Hollywood stars Sir Richard Gere, Michael Douglas and Shirley Maclaine, the US Ambassador to India His Excellency John Galbraith and many more. The lobby is resplendent in the bright folk Sikkimese art with design motifs depicting dragons and flame symbols to thankas and ornate Sikkimese furniture (bachu, chocsue) and traditional jewelry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Nor-Khill Gangtok Hotel Gangtok
Nor Khill Gangtok
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing